Memes and Tags, Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday: Books for My Future Child

I read with my nephew who has aphasia about 4 times a week… he can only really comprehend picture books so I’m always finding gems for him… This makes me think about the books I want to share with my child (when I have one)… hopefully he or she will feel the power in these stories like I did!

What books do I want my child to read?Top 10 Tuesday Banner

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and Bookish asks us to share our top ten books I want my future children to read (or nieces and nephews, godchildren, etc.)

Click the book images for my review on goodreads!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Age 1-3

17846011 197512

The Pigeon Book Series
by Mo Willems

Why? My nephew and I have only read 3 of the 8 books but I HIGHLY suggest them for young readers. The words are the right balance to the simple illustrations… which are exaggerated in such a funny way they set you both to giggling! This series is etiquette for the modern day and teaching the computer generation how to interact with others. Pigeon is contrasted to duck in the most ingenious ways… It’s never too early to teach socialization skills!

11556479 191117

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Age 4-8

10252698 18383325

Her Idea by Rilla Alexander
The Most Magnificent Thing by Ashley Spires
Tokyo Digs a Garden by Jon-Erik Lappano
Take Away the A by Michaël Escoffier

Why? These are all BIG IDEA books… they teach through art and in simple creative ways thought processes that EVERY child needs to develop early. In Her Idea, it teaches children to pursue completing what they start. In The Most Magnificent Thing, it shows how anger is not the answer and to look at your efforts with a forgiving eye and see what does work. I’d start with these idea development books. Then when those are grasped I’d move on to other big ideas… In Tokyo Digs a Garden, the importance of the environment is illustrated in a way that will open a dialogue between you and your child! And In Take Away the A, the wordplay teaches that language can be fun and also manipulated… it starts building those neural pathways a child needs!

25986802 21535485

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Age 9-10

5027092 1950132 233817

Adventurer’s Wanted Series by M.L. Forman
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle Series by Betty MacDonald
Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien

Why? This is a pivotal age so I’d gently suggest books that are adventures which fit the interests of my child but which illustrate good examples of what it means to be a person. Integral to these books would be the idea of choice and that we are beings to ACT and NOT be acted upon.

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Age 11 and Up

472392 216445 47587

Theodosia Throckmorton Series by R.L. LaFevers
Dragonback Series by Timothy Zahn
Dark Lord of Derkholm Duology by Diana Wynne Jones

Why? I’d want to expose my child to different interests… Theodosia is about Ancient Egypt, while Dragon and Thief is totally in outer space. Really I could have picked ANY Diana Wynne Jones book but she is certainly fantasy all the way. At this point I have done all I can to lay the right foundation… This is a time for a child to start choosing! These three are just a few of the books that I thought others may NOT think about for this age group… There are MANY more for a child to choose from!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Top Ten Tuesday Logo


Lets Chat feather banner

What books do you remember reading as a child? Was there a pivotal age or experience?

Why do you love to read? Did your parents foster the love?

Did you add any of these to your TBR? Feel free to follow me on Goodreads!

Thanks for reading! XOXO,

Dani Signature

29 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books for My Future Child”

  1. What I love about this is that I don’t recognize any of these books. Definitely nothing mainstream to my eyes and I know that you have wonderful recommendations too. Your recommendations will always be at the top of the list. As a kid, I remember going through a bunch of books, but I don’t remember any of the titles. Fantastic post, Dani! 🙂

  2. So many great titles on your list! My daughter and I love Mo Willems, we have all the Pigeon books and many Elephant and Piggie too. So simple, but such wonderful stories. The Most Magnificent Thing is another fantastic one that we enjoy reading again and again.

    1. Oooh I’m so excited to hear about your daughter! How old is she?! Does she like the pigeon or the duck better? I’m so happy she (and you) love the books so much… I’ll have to look at the elephant and piggie books now too! ♥️ Isn’t this the best topic?! I had so much fun with it, thanks for checking these out…

  3. Love how you broke it down into age groups. I have to agree about the pigeon books, we have read several of those in this house. They are amusing, have fun illustrations, but they always also have a positive lesson. Too many of the ones I’ve run across lately just don’t have a lesson that kids should be learning.

  4. Oh yes, I want my son to be introduced to Diana Wynne Jones too (though it will probably be at a later age then reccommended as I don’t think hers were translated to Dutch much ._.)

    1. Hi Annemieke! That would be interesting to find out! I’m always shocked when I do a Book Traveling Thursday at how often books are translated into other languages… German is perhaps the most prevalent as I’ve seen it the most often! I do hope you are able to share them with him someday. ♥️

  5. Great list and one that I’ll definitely come back to when I need picture book inspiration for my English classes 🙂 As for my love for books: I definitely owe it all to my mum who read us bedtime story after bedtime story when we were kids and always bought me all kinds of amazing books when I was younger. To this day, we still swap a lot of books and it’s one of my favourite things to share with her.

    1. GAH I so relate Nuria! ♥️ My Mom would read us bedtime stories EVERY night too… she even would respin adult fantasy books she read to us while we waited for things… like appointments or in the car. Even my brother who doesn’t like to read has a fondness for reading! Thanks!

Let's talk in the comments...

