Author Guest Post, Blog Tour

Guest Post: How to World Build Like a Pro // Airwoman Blog Tour & Giveaway ($25 Gift Card / 3 Days Left)

I’m SOOOO excited this amazing author wrote me a quest post to share with you!! And its about one of my FAVORITE things as a fantasy lover… world building!!! Come check it out!

I LOVED the world building in Zara Quentin’s new book, Airwoman and asked her if she would share her world building process and she said… YES!!! WOOT! I’m so excited for my writer book blogger readers… It’s great to get an insider look at how a pro develops her world… Here’s Zara…!!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

My 3 Stages of World-Building

People often ask me how I came up with the different worlds that I created for the Airwoman series. I love rich fantasy settings and I love creating worlds that I’d like to visit myself. However, for me, it’s difficult to separate the process of world-building from the other parts of the story creation process—like creating characters and coming up with the plot of the story.

I don’t do a series of world-building exercises to create a world, then set my story in the place I’ve created. I consider my world-building to evolve organically through the process of getting to know the characters I’ve created and brainstorming the plot. My settings continue to grow and deepen, often as the story progresses.


Stage 1: Ideas Generation

Obviously, a lot of world-building happens in the idea-generation phase of story development. I’m a planner, so I spend a lot of time developing characters and plotting before I start writing the first draft. It probably goes without saying that many of my major world-building ideas will come to me at this stage process.

During the ideas generation, and planning phase for Airwoman, I started with the vision I had for Jade Gariq—a winged woman—then started asking questions about her: Why would a person have wings? Because they need to access something in the air. What? A portal to another world. Why? Because these winged people can move between worlds. Why? Because their Gods created them for that purpose. Why? Because they need to protect the worlds from something through the portals.

As you can see, during the process of asking questions about why a young woman might have wings, I came up with a multi-world universe, with portals leading to other worlds, with a winged people created to protect against something or someone through the portals.


Stage 2: The First Draft

While many of the big world-building ideas come to me during the brainstorming phase, much of the detail emerges during the drafting phase, because the story goes from what I describe as an ‘out-of-focus’ vision my head, then as it hits the paper (or the screen, to be exact) the story takes on a more concrete form. During this phase, I find myself asking other questions which help me to flesh out the details.

For example, how would the life of a winged person be different from a non-winged person? A winged person would be more likely to live in a place accessed by air or build their houses, towns and temples in places that are accessible by air, but perhaps not by land. Such places might be clifftops, treetops, or other high places. However, a winged person is likely to have a large wingspan, so a densely-forested area might not leave enough space for a winged person to take off or land. Thus, I decided that my winged people were more likely to live at the top of, or in, the cliffs.

During drafting, I imagine myself in the middle of the world, moving around it like one of my characters, to make it real for them. To bring the world to life, I use sights, sounds, feelings and smells from the character’s perspective. In Airwoman, one of the places this was a real challenge was when I was writing about Jade’s journey through the Betwixt—the place between worlds. I didn’t have a clear vision for the Betwixt until I got to the drafting phase, then I made myself put together several terrifying feelings—of feeling trapped, lost, blind, and unable to move—then make it more of an experience for the reader, rather than a normal place with landmarks and maps.


Stage 3: Revision

During the revision phase, my world building is refined. I find places in the manuscript where something I’ve written might be inconsistent with the world I’ve created or some of the world building might not make sense with the actions that characters take.

When revising Airwoman, one of the inconsistencies I found was that I had my main character, Jade, walking too much for a woman with wings. I decided that it would most likely be unusual for her to spend a lot of time getting from one place to another while walking. I had to decide whether to put her in the air more, or if it was necessary to the plot for her to walk, then I needed a reason for her to do so. This consistency helps the world-building because the reader can to sink deeper into the vicarious experience of the story.

Do you have any questions? Leave them in the comments and I’d be happy to answer them. (Such a great opportunity! Pick this author’s brain…)

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


32485892

Airwoman

Zara Quentin
Published October 25, 2016
by Zara Quentin
Pages: 316
Formats: Hardcover, eBook

Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon Australia | Kobo | Smashwords | B&N | iBooks | TBD

Add to Goodreads

A father murdered by magic. A daughter’s cosmic quest for clues could make her the next victim…

Jade Gariq dreams of a new calling. While she wishes she could join the elite force that protects her home world from interdimensional threats, she’s stuck working for the family business. But everything changes when her father is found dead with traces of magic on him… magic that should only belong to the mythical Dragon-Gods…

To uncover the mystery behind her father’s murder, Jade must follow the clues to an uncharted world. Beyond the portal, treacherous jungles, surprising betrayals, and a killer bent on tying up loose ends stand in her way of the truth. It’ll take every ounce of Jade’s cunning to solve her father’s death, but can she avoid his fate?

Airwoman is a high-flying YA fantasy novel set in a stunning new Dragonverse. If you like fascinating worlds, memorable characters, and a dash of romance, then you’ll love Zara Quentin’s action-packed adventure.

Buy Airwoman today to let your imagination take flight!


For a free preview of Airwoman, find it at: http://www.zaraquentin.com/

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

About Zara.

Zara Quentin is the author of Airwoman, the first book in the Airwoman series. She was raised in Adelaide, Australia, with one younger sister. Zara grew up with a strong sense of adventure, which she inherited from her parents, who took her and her sister on trips to the United States, Europe, and Asia.

She also inherited a love of reading from her mother. Throughout her childhood she explored fictional places through books, and in particular, through fantasy novels. She’d turn the black and white text on the page into the colourful worlds of her imagination.

After graduating from high school, Zara studied at the University of Adelaide and has lived in France, London, and Auckland, New Zealand. She is always determined to fit in as much travel as possible, spending time in Europe, the United States, southern Africa, Morocco, Peru, the Pacific and south-east Asia.

Zara now resides in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three children. She is currently working on the next instalment in the Airwoman series.

Find Zara. Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Don’t forget to enter the Giveaway…

2 winners will receive a $25 Gift Card to the book retailer of their choice from Amazon, B&N, or TBD. International.

C l  i c k   t h e   l o g o   b e l o w   t o   e n t e r !

Rafflecopter Logo


Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Rockstar Book Tours logo

Tour Schedule

Week One

10/30/2017- Mythical Books– Interview

10/30/2017- Blushing Bibliophile– Review


10/31/2017- Rabid Readers Book Blog– Excerpt

10/31/2017- To Be Read– Review


11/1/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

11/1/2017- jrsbookreviews- Review


11/2/2017- Maddie.TV– Interview

11/2/2017- My Creatively Random Life– Review


11/3/2017- Books,Dreams,Life– Excerpt


Week Two

11/6/2017- The Hermit Librarian– Guest Post

11/6/2017- J Heart Loves Books– Review


11/7/2017- YA and Wine– Interview

11/7/2017- Lori’s Little House of Reviews– Review


11/8/2017- Hooked To Books– Excerpt

11/8/2017- Two Chicks on Books Interview


11/9/2017- Spilling Words– Excerpt


11/10/2017- Daily Waffle Interview

11/10/2017- Perspective of a WriterGuest Post*

*GAH! I’m last on the tour… DO NOT FORGET to enter to GIVEAWAY!!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Lets Chat feather banner

How do you feel about flying dragon women? And inter-dimensional threats?!

Wasn’t Zara’s guest post on world building informative?!

(For our writer book bloggers…) What is YOUR world building process?

Thanks for reading XOXO

Dani Signature

33 thoughts on “Guest Post: How to World Build Like a Pro // Airwoman Blog Tour & Giveaway ($25 Gift Card / 3 Days Left)”

  1. Pretty awesome to hear other writers talk about their world-building and how they come up with their worlds. It’s definitely a process that would require constant changes and loads of scraping and developing. All those questions you ask and the focus on the main character as the starting point to the world-building is pretty nice too. Never thought of it like that! Thank you for sharing! 😀

  2. This is a super interesting guest post topic– thank you for asking Zara Quentin to write about this! It’s obvious that she had to put some thought into writing this. I’m always astounded when things like world building seem to come naturally to authors. What is your world building process like in 8 sentences or less, Dani? 😉

    Zara Quentin: Thank you so much for putting together this post! I am not a writer myself, but I am certainly intrigued by the writing process. I love the analogy of fine-tuning the focus on your world. It starts our super blurry and eventually becomes sharper and sharper. Is there anything you discovered about your world which you did not expect? Anything which looked different in brainstorming versus how it ended?

    1. Great questions Jackie! Zara was looking for some questions in the comments and I’m so thankful you asked her some (and such thoughtful ones as usual…) ♥️

      My world building process… well it started like Zara’s where you start with the premise and it comes together as you write… we research as we go and mesh it into what we have. The basics are thought out first and the details as we go. We also wrote a history of our planet since it is an established world, so we have history to draw on and since our kids are bright they have things to figure out.

      1. Interesting that we have a similar process Dani! I also wrote a creation story and some history/ mythology for my world. Not too detailed but enough that it gives a sense of purpose for the people and their religion. It also helps to tie the religion into the world and make it a crucial component bc sometimes that can be absent (or like an add-on) in fantasy worlds.

      2. D’aw. Thank you.

        Oh yeah! You have a co-author! How do you two combine your different ideas in such a way where you are both on the same page? Do you write together only? I love the idea of a history– that also provides a lot of material for the future too, I assume. 😉

    2. Hi Jackie, thanks for your question. For me, it’s like the world comes into sharper focus as I look at a particular part of it, especially during drafting. For example, I knew the Traveller Force would have a HQ building in Ingresston but it was during the drafting process that this became an ultra modern underground bunker to contrast with the ancient temple that it faces. It’s almost as though the thought was there and it floated to consciousness as I thought more deliberately about it. Does that make sense?

      1. It does make sense. Like gaining details and focus as you come through the haze and get closer to the image. It’s really interesting to me that you and Dani have similar world building techniques! Particularly since this is a newer technique to me– but I like how low pressure it seems to be. Writing on a deadline seems super stressful.

      2. I think writing should be fun first, but certainly when you commit to a deadline (or publication) it certainly adds to the stress. Hope this world building technique works for you Jackie! 🙂

      3. XD Not a blogger friend. Life partner. The man in my life. He’s a famrer and a Keeper.

        David is writing a high fantasy novel. It’s part of an extra-long collection of stories in his head. Honestly, I think he has a solid trilogy and a good second trilogy to add afterwards. But, he struggles to get in the right mind for his writing. It’s a challenge to put words on a page, as I’m sure you can relate to.

  3. Wow! I enjoyed reading her thought process :O I usually assumed that writers would need to have their entire world already built before starting a series, so this was definitely insightful for me! I’ll consider giving Airwoman a read at some point!

    1. Thanks so much Cam! There certainly is broad sketching of world-building done prior but I fill in the detail as I draft. I know this is a different process than many writers who have a world building bible before they even start drafting. Indians it hard to separate the detail of the world from the development of plot. For me, world-building affects plot, just like characters do. It’s hard to separate those components and think about them separately. 🙂

Let's talk in the comments...

