Fierce Fangirl Fridays, Memes and Tags

Fierce Fangirl Friday: Gong Yoo

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, I’m so excited!! Gong Yoo is one of the MOST consistently LOVED K-drama actors around… When he picks a show the world squeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaals!! This is a guy you ought to get to know… that’s all I’m saying…


Fierce Fangirl Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd! Whenever you have something, anything to fangirl about – like K-dramas or whatever you are feeling in the moment! – Fierce Fangirl Friday is your opportunity to do so! It doesn’t matter if it’s a recent obsession or something you’ve been loving for a while! You are free to do this weekly, bi-weekly, monthly or simply whenever you feel like you need to fangirl. 😀

All she asks is that you pingback to her (copy the link of any of her FFF posts and use it in your post)… That way she won’t miss anyone’s fangirling!!!


 Rating Star 20 Gong Yoo Rating Star 20

Gong Yoo gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

His smile is to die for??!

He is seriously a soulful actor who wins your heart. Each. And. Every. Time! His breakout role propelled him into the heights of stardom. And. It. Is. STILL. A. WINNER. Today!! I’ll let you bask in that smile a little longer… *giggle while I wait* Okay… that will have to last you as you don’t get to see that smile 24/7… his roles are gut wrenching and will rip your heart out… but you will come back for more…  #sorrynotsorry And you will have “plenty” of opportunities to give this fine actor a shot… in fact YOU MAY HAVE ALREADY WATCHED HIM?! (He was projected into such star status early in his career that he became mainly a movie actor… which is a big accomplishment in Korea!)

Filmography*

Click the movie or show titles to be taken to the reviews (if there is one)!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Choi Han-kyul in The First Shop of Coffee Prince (2007)

gong yoo coffee prince gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

This is my first EVER melodrama and boy is it a sucker punch! It is as relevant today as it was back in 2007!! Internationally this is just called Coffee Prince… and it centers on a chaebol of a Coffee empire. When he meets this kid who looks like a boy he decides to get out of his blind dates by having a pretend relationship with him… The thing is the boy is really a girl!

Coffee Prince - favorite scene

This show is WHY people LOVE to watch the K-drama trope of cross-dressing heroines! GAH!!! I just can’t stand it, just read it!! …There is a reason this drama is the FIRST REVIEW I ever put up for a K-drama on my blog!!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Han Gi-joon in Finding Mr. Destiny (Movie 2010)

gong yoo finding mr destiny gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

He makes the movie to be honest… which is an okay rom-com with any other actor in the lead role! I adored how he played her first love in the backflashes (I’m assuming because he was envisioning them himself.) The scenes in India were the best part of the movie – they really showed her idealized view of her memories. And it’s scenes like this one where he shines… bringing a geeky joy to everyday moments!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Kang In-ho in Silenced (Movie 2011) Need to See!

http://78.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ma3znxSNJ61r2i7yko1_1280.gif

This indie movie looks so makang but it’s actually based on real events that took place at Gwangju Inhwa School for the hearing-impaired, where young deaf students were the victims of repeated sexual assaults by faculty members over a period of five years. They actually abolished the statute of limitations for sex crimes against minors and the disabled due to this case!!

http://78.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ma3znxSNJ61r2i7yko2_r1_1280.gif

You don’t realize this by looking at him but Gong Yoo is very socially aware, soon after this (end of 2013) he was appointed as a special representative of UNICEF in Korea. He traveled for almost an entire year raising awareness about children.

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Seo Yoon-jae/Kang Kyung-joon in Big (2012)

gong yoo finding mr destiny gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Body swapping is always a fun premise and with Gong Yoo playing the titular swapper this was a Hong Sisters hit! He runs with these premises and you can see that he is clearly having the time of his life in this role and that translates to the small screen…

The Age of Shadows gong yoo gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Ji Dong-chul in The Suspect (Movie 2013) Need to See!

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a4/The_Suspect_%282013%29_poster.jpg

This has not been made available through the sources that I normally watch k-movies otherwise it would ALREADY have been watched! A North Korean spy who defects to South Korea… it is action packed and right up my alley… EVERY K-actor ought to do a role like this at least once in their life!

I can see where Gong Yoo’s skills as an actor, his subtle expressions and great command of his body movements would work so well in this part!

gong yoo The Suspect gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Ki-hong in A Man and a Woman (Movie 2016) Need to See!

This indie movie is about a man and a woman who cheat on their spouses. Not my kind of movie but it looks sooooo beautiful and yeah if you are the cheating kind then I can see you going for Gong Yoo! And his facial expressions would SLAY in this role… so I can see why he wanted this part…

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Seok-woo in Train to Busan (Movie 2016) Need to See Soon!

gong yoo Train to busan gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

YES, this is an award WINNER… At Cannes Film Festival in 2016 the movie won for Best Foreign Film and Best Horror/Thriller Film!! Such accolades!

PLUS I have a secret thing for zombie movies but my family HATES them and so yeah I haven’t seen this yet… but I WILL BECAUSE HOW COOL IS THAT PREMISE! Plus his co-stars are some really great secondary actors!!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Kim Woo-jin in The Age of Shadows (Movie 2016) Need to See!

Gong Yoo skillfully applies pressure as Kim Woo-jin to a man who could aide the resistance’s cause… Every k-actor eventually chooses a historical role and this is Gong Yoo’s… it was picked as Korea’s entry at the Academy Awards and while not selected it sure says a lot about the acting in this film!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Rating Star 20 Kim Shin in Guardian: The Lonely and Great God (2016-2017)

GAH! This drama has too many cute moments…. all captured in gifs…

Play it cool, ahjussi. Hahaha

I should just immediately direct you to my review… The Strange and Beautiful Goblin… if you still need a push to read it after these cute gifs showing the two leads then I direct you to the photo montage below…

Thần Chết Lee Dong Wook đã cướp vai nữ chính của Kim Go Eun như thế nào? - Ảnh 13.

It has first love, a magical goblin plus an unwelcome house guest who is a reaper and a fun BROMANCE that it to die for!! (And our reaper gets some romance too!!) When Gong Yoo picks a drama he picks a WINNER! … It sure helps that he has the best options thrown his way…

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


*There are earlier roles but they are his breakout years and you won’t be interested unless you become a fan… now you have something to look forward to… you’re welcome!


gong yoo finding mr destiny gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

You NEED to sample this actor’s work… It can be an indie movie, a mega star drama, or a blockbuster zombie free-for-all, but whatever you choose PREPARE to be WOWED!!! (I know I am! #sorrynotsorry)

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

20 thoughts on “Fierce Fangirl Friday: Gong Yoo”

  1. WOOOAAHHH!! I just watched the trailer of TtB and it’s deabak!!!!!! I saw World War Z a few days ago, it gives off a similar vibe which makes me more excited to watch it!!

  2. I adoooooore him so freaking much!! In fact, I’m planning to watch Coffee Prince next after finishing Chicago Typewriter. Omo!! I didn’t know he’s in Train to Busan movie, I recently found out about that and added it to watch list!! Definitely adding the rest to my list as well. Looove this post Dani! ❤

      1. It’s interesting but my attention is wavering though although I’m halfway through it…

      2. That’s sad… I’m never sure what to do when that happens to me… do I keep watching to the end or watch something else? I’m at episode 7 of the Package and while I’m enjoying it the show is inconsistent so I fell eh sometimes…

      3. Yeah, I can understand that. Sometimes when that happens, I watch something else, then pick it up again. It works for me sometimes, so I’m gonna do that and watch It’s Okay, That’s Love for now. Then after finishing Chicago Typewriter, I’ll start with Coffee Prince.
        I was watching Temperature of Love before starting CT and its seriously awesome, though only a few episodes are left,, so I’ll pick it up once it completely wraps up but I love that show though it’s downhill a bit for now but you should definitely give that a try.

  3. Oh wow! You aren’t kidding about that smile! *swoon*

    My favorite part of your Fangirl Friday posts is watching the actors and actresses age through your GIFs and other images. Gong Yoo certainly is becoming more handsome with age! I’m really impressed that he had 3 movies and a K-Drama in 2016! This gentleman must be in high demand!

    So, everything with “Need to see” means that *you* need to see this, yes? Not that we as readers should? If that’s the case– where would you recommend I start? I haven’t seen any K-media yet, but I’m building up a list from all your recommendations, for sure!

    1. You are such a sweetheart Jackie! ♥️ He has aged well… he’s as cool now (or better) than in Coffee Prince. YES! Need to see means me… so you know what I’m saying from experience and what are thoughts I’ve read from others.

      For Gong Yoo a movie is easy to see… so definitely Train to Busan… if you enjoy him then you’ll want to pick up Goblin if you’re feeling like fantasy or Coffee Prince if you enjoy the question of gender in love… 😉

  4. OMG DANI!!!!!! That first gif actually killed me, HE LOOKS SO ADORABLE AND HIS SMILE IS TO DIE FOR. And after hearing what some of these movies are about and seeing how handsome he looks in some of these gifs… I kind of want to watch these movies??? Which one is your favourite/would you recommend I should start with? ❤

Let's talk in the comments...

