Memes and Tags, State of the ARC

State of the ARC: End of 2017

I have been meaning to participate in Evelina’s State of the ARC since it’s inception back in September! I am continually behind on these things, but like with tags I do catch up… Come check out the state of my ARC pile!


State of the ARC line

State of the ARC is a meme hosted by Evelina @ Avalinah’s Books used to track our ARC progress and motivate us ARC reading procrastinators. There is even a Goodreads support group, #ARCsAnonymous, geared towards pushing through our ARC piles!


November State of the ARC


I really badly wanted to conquer the chart! I finally was able to sit down and apply myself (GAH!!! Here’s me freaking out that I actually was able to make it all work!) … It took me an hour of fiddling with different charts and my “data” and finally I just simplified! Okay, enough chart drama… onto the ARC accounting…

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

ARC Accounting

Earlier this year I made a promise with myself NOT to over request… while I’ve gotten close I’ve managed to keep that promise… which pretty much amounts to me reading and reviewing a book BEFORE it’s publishing date. And boy do I GET super close to that date, lol!

You are probably scrolling back up to my chart puzzled then by the books “published to read” with the number 9 next to it…? Yes, those are books I agreed to review which were ALREADY published when I requested them! I’m not sure why I do that to myself… KNOWING that I do better WITH a due date… but there you go…(NO, I have not read or reviewed even one… *cries*)

As far as an ARC MOUNTAIN going that is mine… 9 seems like a small amount compared to Evelina’s 100 books (WOW! Is that number really right?!) or Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku’s 32 books “post publishing date” pile… but it is a MONTH’S worth of reading for me and makes me sick and queasy inside!

Evelina and her goodreads group can help me conquer my mountain though! She has all sorts of cool things going on and is proactive in helping everyone have fun while they attack their ARC piles… While I’m on the quiet side TOTALLY SILENT when it comes to group participation I admire her leadership!! So if you have an ARC problem then you will want to join her group on Goodreads.


ARCs I’m Super Excited To Read

These are just my TOP 3 of the 8 books that I was approved for…

33123849 34877733 35181314

Click on the covers to go to goodreads!


ARC Reviews I’d be Excited for YOU To Read

These are 4 of the 11 reviews posted last month!

31832334 34466691 33395234 34895950

Click on the covers to go to my reviews!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Goal for the End of 2017

While I really want to say I’m going to read ALL 9 of my books I also really want to read some hyped books… #bookbloggerproblems …SOOOOO I’m going to copy Jackie B who picked a VERY sensible 3 books and I’ll finish those by the end of the year!

30635582

Light Years
by Emily Ziff Griffin

Luisa has a rare condition that plagues her: whenever her emotions run high, her physical senses kick into overload, with waves of colour, sound, taste, and touch flooding her body. She’s hoping to learn how to control it when a deadly virus sweeps across the globe, killing thousands and sending her father into quarantine. A cryptic message draws her into the mystery of how to save her family and the world.

Dystopia with that twist of the rare condition… this premise just called my name!!


15791085The Falconer
by Elizabeth May

The first book in a series with book #3 published in 2017… Edinburgh, 1844. Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, has everything a girl could dream of: brains, charm, wealth, a title… but she ALL she wants is to slay the faery who destroyed her mother. A rare ability to sense the faery race, a knack for inventing tools and weapons and with the aid of a mysterious mentor she’ll do something about that faery problem…

Steampunk, faery race and a historical time period… sounds like a magical combination to me!


23351890

Escape from Witchwood Hollow
by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek

After 15-year-old Honoria moves to Arnn she awakens the local witch hoping that she can be reunited with her parents, lost in the horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers… Instead she discovers missing children and broken promises… To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.

This is a short book, only 178 pages and is published by Curiosity Quill Press who are rather good at picking fantasy!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line


Lets Chat feather banner

What are your #bookbloggerproblems?

What books are you super excited to read in 2018?!

Are you an ARC junkie?! Do you need help NOT requesting…? Then join #ARCsAnonymous on Goodreads!

Thanks for reading XOXO

Dani Signature

15 thoughts on “State of the ARC: End of 2017”

  1. Nice to see another one participating in that feature by Evelina! 😛 It does seem to help folks a lot in catching up to that crazy ARC TBR! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on those newly approved ARCs though! You got approved for Tess of the Road!!! That’s pretty cool! 😮 ❤ dragons

    1. I actually don’t have that many ARCs to read but I’ve been really trying NOT to request… I thought this would help me putting it into writing… You are very blessed to have Trang to share ARCs with, Lashaan! (Right?!) And I am looking forward to Tess of the Road…

  2. My Netgalley percentage is really good–but I still have a lot of ARCs piling up. I think I only have 1-2 past publication date (and some were already published when I was approved), but I feel like I’ve been slipping. I may need to do this post & evaluate. It really doesn’t help that I just keep requesting.

  3. Ohmygosh. I adore you. Thank you for both the pingback AND following in my footsteps! I definitely believe in sensible goals (though I have made VERY little progress on my ARC reading for this month… O_o There is still time!!!). I think you’ll really enjoy The Falconer! Fae and kick-ass heroines and hilarious banter and a fast-paced plot. That said, I am super interested to read your thoughts on May’s writing style…

    How did you make that AWESOME CHART?! I want to do that. I want a fancy chart like you and Evelina! But, alas, I am not great with data. Any and all tips are welcome!

    And oh yes, I have an ARC Problem (Proper Noun). In fact, I am trying to avoid any place I might be able to acquire an ARC right now. It’s so embarrassing how much I want to request ALL THE BOOKs but I cannot seem to read/review them. O_o I’m doing okay right now. But once I finish one of these books and go to post my review? Well, that’s when the danger enters.

    1. I swear I replied to some of these comments I found… I’m so puzzled, the feeling of dejavu is overwhelming!

      I did pick Falconer with you and your comments about the book in mind Jackie!!

      I used Infogram like Evelina but had to simplify because her chart was TOO HARD, lol. But it worked better for me this way… and I got experience making an infogram, which was fun. I admit that I recently requested things after being SOOO good NOT doing so but alas I needed to add a review, lol. So I totally get you!! Good luck Jackie and happy reading…

      1. Hahaha. I can completely relate to that “Wait… I thought I replied to this!” feeling. Sometimes, I read the comment in the reader and get distracted… Who knows. In fact, I often lose commenting in some places particularly when I get a billion comments in one day.

        Hahaha. That’s Evelina for you– it doesn’t surprise me that her charts are complicated. She’s pretty amazing at all of that stuff. The Infogram plugin doesn’t like my blog, but I’ve thought about just saving the images from graphs made on their website. *shrug*

        Isn’t that how it always is? We’re so good at holding back and then BAM! Suddenly we’ve completely reversed all our amazing work, Oops!

        I wish you all the best! You can do it!!!!

  4. You got an ARC of Heart of Iron?????? Oh wow, I’m totally not jealous, it’s not like it’s one of my most anticipated releases of next year XD ❤ I've actually been pretty good at getting through my NG ARCs recently, and I've only got 5 to read now and 3 of them don't come out until next year! 🙂 Although still have a fewwww physical ARCs to read that already came out ooooops XD Good luck to you and don't stress yourself out too much about reading all of these back to back! Take as much time as you need ❤

    1. I was so blessed to get Heart of Iron, I’m aware! I hope it’s good for both of us! ♥️ That is SOOO GOOD JACKIE! Keeping up with netgalley is hard when you have a bunch of new releases you want to read… GAH thanks for the advice… I need to take it too (keep that anxiety down!)

Let's talk in the comments...

