Asian Fangirl, Hallayu Wave Fandom

Korean Names // A Mini-Lesson

Korean names are quite unique compared to the western world… when I first started to watch K-dramas the character names were fascinating to me! It took some time but I eventually figured out how they differ from Americans names. Today I’m here to explain the basics of Korean name usage…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

안녕하세요! An-nyong ha-se-yo!

There are some basics to understanding Korean names that once you know will make deciphering the unfamiliar names a breeze! I’ve been where you are now #dazed&confused so I know exactly how you feel… Here are the three essentials you need to know…

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Three Syllable Names…

Fierce Fangirl Friday: Lee Min-ho – Perspective of a Writer

Let’s use my favorite Korean star, 이민호 (Lee Min-ho), as my example… The first thing you see is that his name is 3 syllables. Most Korean names are three syllables which makes it pretty easy to see the different parts!

Korean Names

The first syllable is the last name… in our example, Lee Min-ho’s last name is 이 (Lee)! Last names are called 성 (seong) in Korean. There are a small handful of 2 syllable last names but these are extremely rare!

The next 2 syllables are the first name… So a close friend would call my favorite star 민호 (Min-ho)! First names are called 이름 (ireum) in Korean. While it is traditional for there to be 2 syllables for the first name some are breaking traditions to go with 1 syllable. You’ll see this on dramas sometimes… like on the show Hospital Ship the male lead character’s name is 곽현 (Kwak Hyeon).

Basically the first name goes last and the last name goes first!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

No Middle Names!

If you didn’t notice above… there is NO place for a middle name like we have in the West! There is a tradition to share one syllable with all siblings while the other syllable is unique to the individual. These generational name syllables are shared by all members of the same generation of an extended family in South Korea. While this is not followed by everyone it is still practiced in some Korean families.

For example on The Suspicious Housekeeper the children of the family all shared a generational name syllable!

Eun Han-kyul, eldest daughter
Eun Doo-kyul, second eldest son
Eun Se-kyul, third eldest son
Eun Hye-kyul, youngest daughter

And on Return of Superman, Lee Hwi-jae names his twin sons, Lee Seo-eon and Lee Seo-jun. This is because they are twins!

(You can learn more about this custom, called dollimja, at Ask a Korean!)

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

So MANY of the Same Last Names

If you happen to know a Korean-American it’s a 50/50 chance that their last name is Kim! That’s because last names weren’t used by regular people for a long time… Only the upper class and royalty could have last names. When last names first came into use many times they were chosen by the region they lived or by whichever clan was most popular. Since Kim was the name for the oldest and longest dynasty of Korea, their population naturally grew quite large.

Today, Kim is the most common last name in Korea, and makes up a little more than 20% of the population! That doesn’t sound like a huge percentage but it equals roughly 10 million Kims… Other last names that you will probably run into are Lee (15%) and Park (10%). Between the 3 last names they make up a little more than 45% of the population.

If you pay attention to Korean stars as well as characters names in dramas then you’ll see there are a ton of other last names in Korea… They just aren’t common!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Some Other Name Facts!

-While formal language is confined more to the work place it is still generally considered rude to address Koreans by their first names. This is especially true with elders or those a year older than you. If you are the same age it is acceptable to use a person’s first name.

-Among adults those of similar status can address each other by their full name, with the suffix 씨 (ssi) added. For everyone else there are replacements that are used in place of the first name. For example, if a person has an official rank you address them by their rank. On dramas you will see characters address their bosses by President or Manager, often with the honorific 님 (nim) added.

Korean women keep their last names after their marriage, but the children take the father’s last name. This is due to the traditions of the past where Korean women were conscious their last names were inherited from their parents and ancestors, and shouldn’t be changed.

 

Multi-color Watercolor Line


Lets Chat feather banner

Did you guess that “An-nyong ha-se-yo!” is basically hello in Korean?

Did you have any questions about Korean names?

Would you miss having a middle name if you were Korean?

Thanks for reading XOXO

Dani Signature

14 thoughts on “Korean Names // A Mini-Lesson”

  1. I actually knew all of this already! Yay me! I feel so smart. 😀 I think the whole idea of honorifics in Asia is brilliant. We really need to be more respectful to those we interact with. I think if English had more honorifics we might actually be more respectful!

    What do you know about honorifics in Korean? I’m sure there are tons more, right?

    1. YAY YOU! I can’t say I’m surprised because you are VERY well read Jackie but I love that my post made you feel smart! ♥️ I LOVE the idea of honorifics but NO WAY would it fly in America. You have to give respect to ALL older than you… think about it… one year older and you not only have to show respect but basically do WHATEVER they ask. As far as I can tell honorifics are more Japanese in nature… the ones I mentioned are wide used but the biggest thing is the use of titles… so oppa for older brothers or boyfriends. Job titles for bosses or Sajangnim or Seonsaengnim if it is someone above you with a ton of experience or skill in your area of expertise. Honor titles would have been a completely nother post and actually is a great PART 2 to this post Jackie ♥️

      1. I didn’t realize that there was a difference between titles and honorifics in this case– so I guess I didn’t know everything from this post! XD I would love to see a part II about honorifics, then– help me understand the difference!

  2. I’m not really into K-dramas/K-pop but a lot of my friends are! I never really thought about Korean names but this post was so interesting and insightful! I’m really glad you shared this with us because now I know that the name that stands in front is actually the last name! It’s so fascinating ❤

  3. I’m kind of proud of myself that I knew all the facts here. 😀 I basically can’t stop my smile… Love this post, Dani, I really hope you make more posts like this in the future. ❤

  4. I love this! And I’m so glad you mentioned that there’s no middle names. So many people get confuse and think the 3rd syllable (e.g. Ho) is the middle name or ask you to write the letter “H” as a middle initial ….

    1. OMG… really!? I am SOO sorry on everyone’s behalf who has been asked that. Really we are so ignorant of other cultures in America aren’t we?! I actually LOVE learning about people so I’m glad that there is more diversity in books. (Not that it will stop middle name confusion with Asian names…)

Let's talk in the comments...

