Features, Keep it or Skip it?

Keep it or Skip it? Why all the dystopia?!

Did you buy into the MEGA dystopia craze about 5 years ago? Do you still enjoy the genre? How about mental illness, revenge and historical mysteries? Come weigh in…

keep or skip splatter

Regularly I hit up my TBR shelf and pick off six books that have been there the longest and examine the pros and cons to keeping them or skipping them. My first aim is to cut my TBR shelf down by a third. My second aim is to sort those I keep into three piles: read soon, “keep” or someday. Did I make the right choice?

Multi-color Watercolor Line

The Breakaway by Michelle D. Argyle

19002983A girl is kidnapped and it takes her parents two days to realize… NOT that she wants to escape as her loved one is an abusive boyfriend. For the first time she’s part of a family and decides to gamble on a kidnapper falling in love with her…someday splatter

I admit I have quite a fascination with Stockholm Syndrome and have read quite a few books on this subject in the past… what intrigues me about this one is that it’s a series that follows the girl into the aftermath of her kidnapping experience… So yeah, maybe someday…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Starters by Lissa Price

15797745Callie lost her parents during the Spore Wars and now must rest out her body to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. She does this for the survival of her brother Tyler and their friend Michael… until the chip malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter… a renter who intended on doing more than party…

skip splatterThis dystopia sci-fi sounds right up my alley! Looking at the series it seems to be a duology and not many readers liked how it ended… While I’m somewhat intrigued I’ve got to cut somewhere and it sounds like it could go all sorts of icky places…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

12996183It was like a nightmare, but the next morning, it was all still true: Chris was dead. His girlfriend Adriane, Nora’s best friend, was catatonic. And Max, Nora’s sweet, smart, soft-spoken Prince Charming, was gone. He was also—according to the police, according to her parents, according to everyone—a murderer. Desperate to prove his innocence, Nora follows to the ancient streets of Prague, where it is said that he who controls the Lumen Dei controls the world…someday splatter

Historical mystery set in Prague… I like the sound of that… I did read a review which gave me pause as I’m not particularly a fan of “long sentences, a little too much of the stuff that we don’t really care about like translations” so yeah I’m on the fence with this one but the setting sounds super cool and a strong aspect of the story…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

13406425“KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend. LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it. MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him.” They can’t act of their revenge alone but together will show Jar Island that revenge is a dish best enjoyed together.
keep splatter

Yup, this is written by Jenny Han and I totally love her Lara Jean books and I’ve heard so many great things about this series so I’m hoping to love it! I’m not sure about the motivations these girls have… it may go totally high school trope hell on me… but surely it’ll be fun along the way?!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Feed by Mira Grant

7094569“The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives—the dark conspiracy behind the infected.”skip splatter

Yeah I heard this was a must read for all zombie lovers… not I’m NOT so in love with zombies and I heard from another reader that it is science heavy and NOT survival heavy so this is an easy one for me!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

The Weepers: The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker

9554790A teenage girl leaves a sealed bunker after years in hiding, only to find Los Angeles devastated and haunted by humans infected with a mutated rabies virus

skip splatterThis fraction of a review I read says it all… “But in such a grave situation … the survivors still managed to have enough guns and bullets left to protect themselves; they still had enough gas to start their cars; and they still had enough water supply to run a shower and they had an almost perfectly reliable electrical supply, whenever they felt like it.” What’s the point of the book then?!


Lets Chat feather banner

Did I cut a favorite of yours? Did I keep a stinker?

Is there a book I must read ASAP?

Are you a fan of Jenny Han? Have you read Burn for Burn?

How about historical mystery stand-alone books? Intrigued?

Are dystopia a turn off nowadays?

Dani Signature

17 thoughts on “Keep it or Skip it? Why all the dystopia?!”

  1. I don’t recognize any of these books but you got me curious about The Breakaway and The Book of Blood and Shadow, especially! I haven’t read anything by Jenny Han yet so I don’t feel as tempted but we’ll see 🙂
    I did buy into the dystopia craze! I still own quite a few books of the genre… And many more sitting on my TBR hahaha Some I will definitely read, others not so much.
    Great post, Dani! I think you made really good choices here.

    1. Thanks Sophie! ♥️ I do love dystopia and you’ve made me curious… Which books did you buy from the genre but not read yet? I don’t know why but I love TBR posts… I do hope you give Jenny Han a chance when you feel like contemporary though Lara Jean is not to everyone’s taste, I quite enjoyed her first 2…

  2. I haven’t heard of these books but they do sound pretty interesting! I love dystopian books and I still enjoy reading them. It’s my second favorite genre! I have lots of dystopian books in my tbr pile and I’m very excited to read them soon.

  3. Ooo, nice job! I totally bought into the dystopian thing a few years ago as well. I think it’s trickling out now though; it’s so overdone and they all start to sound the same. The classics will always be fabulous though.
    I did read a dystopia that was published this year fairly recently- All Rights Reserved? I thought the author did a pretty good job with that. Again, dystopia is overdone, but he came up with such an interesting, unique premise (once you turn 15, every word you say and every gesture you make costs you money), so I’m hoping the sequel continues to take it in a good direction! 🙂

  4. Oh I’m glad you’re keeping the Burn for Burn series! I really enjoyed it, it was such a fun series to read, even if it has its flaws – especially the ending didn’t quite satisfy me. I hope you’ll love it 🙂

      1. I definitely need to hit up your lists… I’m sorting my to read into genre specific lists for the new year and a readathon I’m planning! So once that’s done I will need to check which essential contemporaries I’m missing! So I’ll definitely take you up on that Marie! ♥️

  5. Interesting choices! Many of these I’ve never even heard of. When it comes to me though, dystopia is definitely not a turn off, it’s still one of my favourite genres! Although I would love to read more books about mental illness, since that subject is just so interesting.

Let's talk in the comments...

