Memes and Tags, Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Adult Books with Fae… Because it’s HARD to find YA ones!

This week’s topic is books featuring [paranormal creature of your choice]. So books featuring vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, demons, fae, zombies, etc. And I pick dun, dun, dun… FAE!! I recently read ACOTAR and loved it (go Rhysand!) … but I realized there weren’t many fae books to list with it!


Top 5 Wednesday Banner

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Samantha and Lainey. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Top 5 Wednesday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…


33973968#5

The Goblins of Bellwater
by Molly Ringle
New Adult

What fae? Goblins!

We literally get to experience what it means to turn into a goblin! Yeah, so cool… (Well not for the character but it was totally fun to read!) This is the closest to YA I could find on my fae read list…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

6294549#4

Rosemary and Rue
by Seanan McGuire
Urban Fantasy

What fae? Halfling MC!

This is a fully developed fae world with San Francisco sectioned off under different fae lords and ladies… Our halfling straddles both worlds after being turned into a fish for 14 years!! Yes!! It’s a bizarre history but it makes Toby, Toby…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

25692886#3

Borderline
by Mishell Baker
Urban Fantasy

What fae? Fae echoes in Hollywood

Fae come through portals to find their human soulmate. They will increase that human’s creativity by becoming their echo.  We also have a physically challenged MC who also has a bit of mental health history, so yeah…!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

29916668#2

Prelude to Mayhem
by Edward Aubry
Adult Fantasy

What fae? Tatiana & Oberon

This is a crazy post apocalyptic where were no apocalypse happens! One day everyone wakes up with all this tech junk from the future mixed up in large swathes of forest and magical creatures. Harrison meets a pixie…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

7823038#1

Grave Witch
by Kalayna Price
Urban Fantasy

What fae? Dark and Winter Fae

Really all kinds but we visit those two kingdoms first! The thing about this series is it just keeps getting better and better… the world is expanded and you learn a little more each case.

Multi-color Watercolor Line


Top 5 Wednesday Logo


Lets Chat feather banner

This was challenging for me to come up with this week…

If you have ANY YA FAE RECOMMENDATIONS then I welcome them!!!

Do you love fae? Do you read urban fantasy? How do you feel about reading adult books?

Thanks for Reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

30 thoughts on “Top 5 Adult Books with Fae… Because it’s HARD to find YA ones!”

  1. I love fae and yet don’t seem to read about them much? So these recommendations are much appreciated! Especially the October Daye series because I’ve been mulling that one anyway.

    A good YA fae series that I liked was the 13 series by Michelle Harrison. The protag skews a little younger but they have atmosphere, they’re kinda creepy and they have a great take on the Faerie realm. The third book is awesome, but all three are great. Oh and Charles Vess does great fae artwork if you like that kinda thing.

    http://gregsbookhaven.blogspot.com/

  2. I absolutely love fae novels! I highly recommend An Enchantment of Ravens By Margaret Rogerson, Rhapsodic By Laura Thalassa, Unhooked By Lisa Maxwell, City In Embers By Stacie Marie Brown, The winter People By Rebekka L. Purdy, The Falconer By Elizabeth May, The Iron King By Julie Kagawa, Crow’s Rest By Angelica R. Jackson, The faerie Ring By Kiki Hamilton, The Shadow Reader By Sandy Williams. I also recommend The Fae Chronicles By Amelia Hutchins. It’s an Adult Fae novel with lots of steamy scenes.
    It’s been a long time since I picked up an Urban Fantasy but I used to read a lot of them when they were pretty much popular.

    1. OMG RAVEN! Thanks so much for the recommendations! ♥️♥️♥️ I’ve read the Iron King but none of the others! And I totally want to read An Enchantment of Ravens! I’ll have to check out the others… yeah I don’t read much urban fantasy nowadays unless it’s got something really special about it.

  3. Borderline and Prelude to Mayhem sound really cool to me! It get a sort of angsty vibe from Borderline’s storyline, but I’m not sure how accurate that is 😂. Also, I love reading about future tech, and Prelude to Mayhem sounds like an interesting combination of tech and fae. Nice list 🙂.

  4. THANK YOU! I am ALWAYS on the look out for YA and Adult literature that involve the Fae! If you like Fae folklore, you should check out the Cainsville series by Kelley Armstrong. It’s a pretty good series, with fae and other mythical beings 🙂

  5. Only YA Fae books I can think of are Lightworld/Darkworld books by Jennifer Armintrout but maybe they’re actually NA? There’s also the Iron Fey books by Julie Kagawa. I’ve not read them but a friend of mine adored them and I know those are YA.

  6. I loved Grave Witch. I don’t remember how I stumbled on Kalayna Price, but at the time I thought: ohh, look at that cover, ohhh look at that title. What attracts me most about urban fantasy is the world building (v. say, in high fantasy, it’s hard for me in the beginning to associate with the setting/life/people). The characters are so down to earth, and not to mention, the male leads make me *squeal* personally, and this is just me, sometimes the language in uf speaks to me more than YA paranormal /uf books. Maybe it’s the content, graphic language, or the characters’ mindset?

    1. What a fascinating idea you propose, Reach! ♥️♥️♥️ I agree urban fantasy is easier to relate to as far as the WB is concerned… twists on our own world makes things feel fresh (and yeah the male leads are more squeal worthy!) I love YA too though because there is a little more freedom with the premises… I feel like I read UF for the protagonist and the world but I read YA for the circumstances… 🙂

      1. Hmm, that’s interesting, and I do agree with you. Now that I think about it, all my fave YA books are built around circumstances (both internal and external conflicts) v. in uf. UF is also about circumstances, but more so about the wb that directs the plot. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Great List! I’m haven’t had the best experience with fae books, but that’s why I’m always looking for good book recommendations 🙂 I personally really enjoyed The Call (Peadar O’Guilin), it’s YA and about a dystopian society where dark twisty fae take revenge on Ireland by kidnapping teens into their land who have to fight to survive.

  8. I read anything and everything. I’m impressed you found a new adult one. I thought NA was just college romances.

    Not sure I would recommend (It’s not a favourite) but Kagawa has the Iron Fey series. There are also Cassie Clare’s books, if you’re looking for YA.

    1. Thanks Ali! ♥️ I totally forgot the Kagawa books… as you say they aren’t my favorite (I only read the first one)! I’ll look at the Cassie Clare books for sure! I thought that about new adult for a long time too, but as the YA market is flooded I think they are starting to use the sub genres more and more.

Let's talk in the comments...

