Memes and Tags, Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday: Yummy Foods in Books

Whenever I read a book where food comes up I cheer! I’m one of those people who love food scenes in movies too and I want to recreate those scenes in my own life… so I’m SUPER EXCITED to bring you food in books!

What yummy foods are in books?Top 10 Tuesday Banner

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and Bookish asks us to share our top ten yummy foods mentioned in books! (Does a character eat something you’d love? Or maybe the book takes place in a bakery/restaurant that makes yummy things? You could also talk about 10 of your favorite cookbooks if you don’t read foody books.) I went with some of the best book food memories that I had…

food gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Multi-color Watercolor Line


#10

The Scorpio Races
by Maggie Stiefvater

Food? November Cakes

from Fiction Food Cafe

I remember these because I always did love an author who includes real food and actually makes something “new” and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the scene where Puck and her brother share a cake! I found a blogger who feels the same way I did and actually MADE the cakes from the recipe the author created… Isn’t that the BEST!? She also remarks on a cool tea that an intimidating character in the book drank… Check out her site, she has a neat #Witchtober link up going on now!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#9

Harry Potter series
by JK Rowling

Food? Honeydukes Sweetshop Goods

Honeydukes

My favorite from the cart on Hogwarts Express was definitely the caldron cakes Harry shares with Ron on his very first trip. I found a couple recipes but they didn’t look like I remember… Still who can pass up lovely cakes!? Which is your favorite…?

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#8

The Wrath and the Dawn
by Renee Ahdieh

Food? Middle Eastern Food

I remember kebabs and lamb and flavorful rices… the descriptions make your stomach growl in hunger! GAH! Sooo good! I love food descriptions like these… they are an excellent way to world build with details that are little used!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#7

Daughter of Smoke and Bone
by Laini Taylor

Food? Tea and Custard Filled Pastries

From Erren’s Kitchen

GAH! Love this kind of scene in a book! What kind of tea would you have with this little beauty!?

“Sweet girl.” Yasri bustled out of the kitchen with a tea tray. Beside the teapot was a plate of the custard-filled pastries in the shape of horns that were her specialty. “You must be hungry,” she said in her parrot voice. With a sideward glance at Brimstone, she added, “It’s not healthy for a growing girl, always running off hither and thither at not a moment’s notice.” …
Brimstone spared her a glance, then said to Yasri, “And I suppose it’s healthy for a growing girl to live on pastry?”

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#6

The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

Food? Loaves of Bread

Peeta! And his lovely story about falling in love with a girl over bread… There is other food mentioned in this book but this is what comes to mind first!!! What a lovely memory it makes…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#5

The Ghost Bride
by Yangsze Choo

Food? Altar Food

I mentioned this book in another post about creepy settings… Li Lan astral projects herself and can’t get back into her body. She’s forced to go to the after life where what your family leaves for you on altars or burns for you is all you get to subsist on. YEAH, CRAZY!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#4

Ruined
by Amy Tintera

Food? Cultural Clues

My writing partner recently read this book and shared how different kingdoms were delineated through different aspects of their culture, like food! This king serves this major banquet but refuses to give any silverware because he was worried they would accidentally kill him! The warriors were horrified because they don’t eat in meetings… Scenes like this run through the book in a curious way!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#3

Warcross
by Marie Lu

Food? Noodles

I thought the restaurant was a really cute scene because they are in Tokyo having Italian food?! And Wikki!! The team drone that would learn her tastes and the rest of the teams so they would have to worry about food!! YES! “When it sees me staring, it sticks its belly out, pops open the glass door, and pulls out the soda tray for me.” Personally Wikki would be bringing me noodles from all over the city…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#2

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
by Jenny Han

Food? Cookies and other baking wonders

Lara Jean is a gifted baker and provides her family with all manner of sweet treats! It’s really quite touching to read about her making cookies with her sisters, spending quality time together in the kitchen…

Multi-color Watercolor Line

#1

Charmed Pie Shoppe Mysteries
by Ellery Adams

Food? Sweet and Savory Pies

Sweet and Savory Pies - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Another suggested by my writing partner… these cozy paranormal mysteries sound a treat of goodies… The author includes recipes in the book for the sweet and savory pies mentioned in the story! Isn’t that neat?! These aren’t your basic recipes… think Red Hot Apple Pie, made with cinnamon candies and Apple Ginger Crumb Pie made with a strudel topping! Plus lamb pie with mint, pine nuts and yogurt and meat pie with paprika and aioli… YUM!

Multi-color Watercolor Line

Top Ten Tuesday Logo


Lets Chat feather banner

Have you read any of these books?

Did you add any to your TBR on Goodreads?

Feel free to follow me there!

What food do you want to see featured in a book?

Any favorite food in books recommendations?!

Thanks for reading! XOXO,

Dani Signature

18 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Yummy Foods in Books”

  1. This is a great list! I wanted to participate in this TTT, but as you know, I don’t really associate food and books? It seems like quite a shame. I wonder why the food aspects of books never stick with me? I’ve read a ton of these books- but I haven’t read The Ghost Bride and I REALLY want to. It’s high on my TBR. What do you think of this? Which of the books you listed above really sticks out the most to you?

    I’d love to see a book which features food magic. Where baking and cooking can conjure spells and people call fall in love by eating cakes and pies… I’m sure that exists somewhere, right?

    1. The Secret Ingredient of Wishes is a magical realism (one of the few I’ve read) that has food magic or more specifically PIE MAGIC! You should look at that one Jackie ♥️

      I agree though… it’s HARD to remember food in books… I had to think long and look at quotes to see if the food I remembered vaguely was really in there, lol. I will always remember the Lara Jean series because it was the details of Lara Jean that made the books so incredible… her thoughts are very similar to most women’s internal monologue whether they’ll admit it or not so that wasn’t mind blowing… but the girl was a banker and loves retro fashion… in this way she sticks out like a sore thumb but in the BEST possible ways…

  2. And now I want to eat everything 😂 My favs are the November Cakes. I think that I would roll between them. Maybe even live with them. I really need to read Han’s books. I saw a lot of aesthetic with donout and pastels colors about that series *.*

  3. Oh I love your picks for this week Dani, and the pictures of food are making me so hungry as well! 😀
    Honeydukes from Harry Potter is a great pick. God if only we have a sweet shop like that in real life right? Until we do I’ll settle for going to Harry Potter world and buying the sweets there. Not the same but close enough I suppose. Also Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a great book for food inspiration. Those pastries look yummy. 🙂
    Again great picks for this week. 🙂 ❤

  4. Thank you, Dani, you were VERY successful at making me hungry with this post haha. I love your book choices, here! The Wrath and the Dawn made me so, so hungry when I read it, I loved the food descriptions ahah. And YES for the Lara Jean series. I love that baking and cookies and just her passion for baked good SHINES in this book… and makes me crave for cake ALL THE TIME ahah 🙂

Let's talk in the comments...

