#ARCstravaganza, Memes and Tags

#ARCstravaganza // Rosemarked

BOOKSTAGRAM MONDAY IS HERE!! I’ve been having so much fun with this meme… I don’t try to do any tricky pictures, no traveling to the sea or hikes in the woods but I DO love to include the setting of the book… check this one out!

ARCstravaganza line

#ARCstravaganza is a weekly meme hosted by Flavia at Flavia the Bibliophile to give book bloggers a chance to show off the ARC/eARC beauties they received and spread the word about their most anticipated new releases! (Check out her page for more information.) Feel free to post your photos on your blog, Instagram, and Twitter with the #ARCstravaganza hashtag…


Rosemarked by Livia Blackburne

Rosemarked Bookstagram Pic

This ARC was a total whim! I liked the look of it and the blurb of it and so I requested it! It could be trash or it could be gold (I’m hoping for gold!) Looking at other reviews I could be in for a real treat as the writing is supposed to be really solid… Still I’m not getting my expectations up…

I haven’t even started the book yet… so I had nothing as far as my bookstagram picture was concerned… YUP, I TOTALLY MADE IT UP! I found what I imagined the world looked like before it was ravaged by an Empire… I found two funkos to represent our leads… one a soldier and one a healer… (I am not in the employ of Funko and these figures DO NOT truly represent what the characters look like!)

Still I LOVE how this bookstagram picture turned out and I’m SO EXCITED to start reading the ARC…


About Rosemarked

29346927A healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art—until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule—even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.


by Livia Blackburne
Published November 7th 2017
by Disney-Hyperion

Add to Goodreads


I understand this is billed as high fantasy but that it lacks magic? Do you feel fantasy stories HAVE TO HAVE magic? Or are they simply in a fantasy place?

Do you read ARCs or instagram? Are you going to read Rosemarked? My review coming at the end of the month!!

Dani Signature

Save

19 thoughts on “#ARCstravaganza // Rosemarked”

  1. Who are the two figures?

    I wanna read this book!

    I think magic tends to be a staple of fantasy, but then, what *is* magic? Two of my favourite quotes:

    ‘One man’s mumbo jumbo is another man’s religion and yet another’s science.’ (I believe this is from the Star Trek novel Memory Prime, said by Spock)

    ‘One man’s magic is another man’s engineering.’

  2. I have this book in my tbr and I would love to hear your thoughts on it. I love reading fantasy books that has magic but I also enjoy books that doesn’t have any magical elements in it. Personally, I think there should be both non-magical and magical fantasy books. It would be kinda refreshing to read about characters that doesn’t have any magical or super powers.

    1. Yeah I totally agree, Raven! I don’t want to give up my magic fantasy but a story set in a fantasy world with a fantastical element sounds fun… I’m at 25% and felt it was strong setup… the “fantasy” is in the girl’s knowledge of herblore to control memories… I’m cautiously loving it ♥️

      1. I’m thinking about it… maybe I’ll wait to know your opinion and read some other reviews before putting it on my wishlist, but I think that I would give it a go 🙂

  3. That’s a really great question- personally I’m a little disappointed if something is called fantasy and it lacks magic. To be honest, I might even like the book, but I’d struggle to call it fantasy- but that’s probably just me.

    1. No actually I’ve been seeing several readers talking about how fantasy = magic to them so you’re not alone… I know you read quite a bit of fantasy Orangutan so I’m happy to hear your opinion! ♥️ I always thought fantasy indicated a fantastical element to the world.

  4. Beautiful cover! I don’t think fantasy should have to have magic but to be classified as fantasy for me it has to have some kind of fantastical element like setting or a being that’s not human, etc.
    I read the few ARCs I actually get. I would love to read more but I don’t have enough time to be more active in my reading yet 😦

    1. THAT IS THE PERFECT DEFINITION NEL ♥️ Fantasy should have something fantastical about it… honestly ARCs are great for people (like me) who have trouble committing to books and need deadlines… but if you read what you love and know what you love… then I’m terribly envious of you 😉😘

      1. Hahaha I have trouble committing to just ONE book. When its a series, I’m usually motivated as long as life isn’t in the way 😉

  5. I want all the stories to have dragons. Wish that was possible. Magic is a great element, but it can get tricky at times. I don’t think magic is absolutely necessary for a book to me a fantasy.

Let's talk in the comments...

