Awards, Memes and Tags

GAH! 2 Beloved Bloggers Nominate Me Again!

Classics loving, nut free nerd Holly @ Nut Free Nerd and the lovely sci-fi and fantasy opera lover Chelsea @ Spotlight on Stories nominated me for this award! THANK YOU BOTH!! These two rock star book bloggers are beloved for their passion for books and if you haven’t checked them out… then do so STAT! ❤

yay gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

“Liebster” is a German word meaning beloved or dearest. And The Liebster Award is to ‘be love’ bloggers, new and old! It’s a fun way to get your favorite bloggers to share things about the blogger behind the blog and promote them to your readers.

GAH!! It’s overwhelming that these two women feel this way about my blog!! HOLLY and CHELSEA THANK YOU for being a bright light in my blogging world!! ❤


plain heart line

Here are the rules should you choose to accept the award…

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you. (That’s me! Dani @ Perspective of a Writer ❤)
  • Answer the 11 questions.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers for the same award in the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family.
  • Ask them 11 questions that you are dying for the answers to!

Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Chelsea’s 11 questions are…


Why did you start your blog?

I actually wrote a post about this here… but the short of it is that I had been imagining different ways I could edit books to tighten their story, infuse it with a bit more creativity or challenge how it’s narrative should be arranged. I realized that this was a unique POV when it came to reviewing books.

Hello Typewriter Pink Purple LogoMy point is NOT to tell an author what to write or how to change but to learn through their mistakes how to improve my own writing. If everything I read is perfection then there’s no reason for writers to be reading all of the time… I feel like through weaknesses I can hone my instincts as a writer and improve the choices I make in my own narrative style.


How do you spread the word about your blog?

I read and comment on other blogger’s posts as well as participate in memes. Being a book blogger means participating in a community. In order for a community to know you are there you’ve got to be seen out and about. That means leaving comments on the posts you read. Memes give me an opportunity to have a list of bloggers that I can visit who I know are active and whom I can find common ground with due to the prompts!

Learn how my blog started and the advice I have to share after hitting a blogging slump…

If you are okay with a small group of like minded readers on your blog then just keep up with what you are doing. Sometimes we can’t spare the time from real life to participate as much as we’d like in the community. Visit those who visit you! It can be that simple. ❤


Which author (living or dead) would you most like to have met?

Rudyard Kipling… He is accused of being a terrible imperialist but I would be curious to meet him in person to judge for myself because I rather think his son’s death at what some would rightly say was his own hand had a profound affect on him. I tend to agree with T.S. Eliot about the author:

“An immense gift for using words, an amazing curiosity and power of observation with his mind and with all his senses, the mask of the entertainer, and beyond that a queer gift of second sight, of transmitting messages from elsewhere, a gift so disconcerting when we are made aware of it that thenceforth we are never sure when it is not present: all this makes Kipling a writer impossible wholly to understand and quite impossible to belittle.”


What’s your favourite beverage?

sipping gif - - Yahoo Image Search ResultsThis is incredibly boring but…tasteless water… hahhhhahahaha… #jokingNOTjoking There is a particular brand of water that has zero taste from minerals or aftertaste from chemicals and I LOVE it! It’s hard to find in my area and is expensive. Our water is very HARD so it tastes awful and is bad for my kidneys.


What’s one of your biggest pet peeves?

Laziness…! I’m an oldest, so yeah, I believe in things being done right and to the best of one’s abilities. I especially can’t stand to see it in myself, of course!

If you mean book pet peeves then I would say a long, meandering book that could have been edited down. (Is this really code for laziness again?! Maybe…?) When a book gets a tad boring and it also happens to be 400+ pages then that boring-ness tends to stem from lack of trimming and tightening in those spots!


What is the best book you had to read for school?

51210I remember Animal Farm, Of Mice and Men, The Good Earth and A Streetcar Named Desire… My teachers were quite liberal with me once they realized I’d read anything they gave me… So I read off beat books they weren’t allowed to teach, lol. Animal Farm developed in my a fascinating for symbolism… now I crave books like that with rich double meanings. Of Mice and Men was a beautiful and raw story of family… The Good Earth affected me because I was so saddened with what wealth had done to these two lives… The one that MOST affected me though was A Streetcar Named Desire… to this day that STELLA, STELLA rings in my ears in disgust…

stella stella gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

Out of school and on my own though it definitely has to be Kim by Rudyard Kipling. It lacks even a hint of romance and is all about a boy and an old monk! It’s incredibly dense and if you don’t have a proper copy with footnotes at the bottom of the page instead of the back YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO READ IT!


How do you organize your books on goodreads?

I have tons, and tons, and tons of shelves. I have special codes in front of the typical shelves that I like to think most readers have… genres, sub-genres, a slew of different to-read shelves as well as favorites like dragons, family, diversity, etc. I have my manga divided separately from my regular books as well as have rating shelves so I can see all my 5 star books, etc in one list. If you’d like to know more then feel free to check out my shelves on goodreads… and while you are there feel free to friend me so we can see each others reviews!!


What kind of music do you not like, and why?

Rap. I need a musicality to music that rap lacks. If I want to go see a lecture then I go see a lecture. If I want to hear poetry I go to a poetry reading… So yeah the same is true for music… with music I listen to I want musicality. I listen to a lot of k-pop now and actually South Korean artists use rap in a fascinating way that has a lot of musicality to it when mixed with other styles. While I still don’t enjoy straight rap I now enjoy songs with rap in it when it is like the South Koreans do it!


If you won an all-expenses paid trip to anywhere in the world, where would you go?

South Korea and Japan! Perhaps even a few locations in China too as there are the terra cotta warriors, the forbidden city and the Li River to see as well as the giant pandas!! In Seoul I’d love to go around and visit the different k-pop and drama studios and see different sights from dramas, lol… In Japan I would visit my grandmother’s birth city and get some genealogical records past 4 generations (which I already have)! Plus I’m very interested in Japanese gardens and forests and would be interested in visiting all sorts of both.

japanese gardens - - Yahoo Image Search Results


What’s your favourite holiday?

Hands down, Christmas! This is my mom’s favorite holiday and growing up she made it SUCH a fun time that every year I just want to jump in and make new memories that rival the old ones. It wasn’t so much about buying things as there were quite a few of us but about spreading the cheer and the goodwill to those around us… Trimming the tree was a MEGA deal in our house too and such fun for me now… I inherited ornaments from my mom that she collected for us and my grandparents. And right now I’m collecting woodland animals for a theme tree… YES, I LOVE Christmas and everything about it!!


Are you a morning person or a night owl?

night owl - - Yahoo Image Search ResultsTotally a night owl… I can do an all nighter and instead of getting terribly sleepy the next night I get a second wind as if I slept the previous night! And its horrible but my body seems to know when I need to get up early the next morning and it refuses to sleep! Does anyone else have this problem?!


Talking Spoilers Just a Line

Holly’s 11 questions are…


If you were to stop blogging, what would be the reason?

I’m going to try really hard NEVER to stop blogging… I will probably at some point cut my posts back to 2 or 3 a week instead of my current hectic and full schedule but that is a little ways off. When that happens though it means that my first book has sold and I will now be needing to go on book tours. It will also mean that I will have a deadline for book #2 and will no longer be able to write at my current pace… so yeah, hoping that happens soon!


What are some hobbies you have?

Korean dramas! You can go to my home page and see a graphic dedicated to them… I am learning to speak Korean as well so yeah, my time is full up with blogging, writing and Korea! I do also do a lot of cooking with my family and writing partner as well as art with my nephew.


Would you rather be dead or die? (Yes, there’s a difference.)

Dead. I believe in an afterlife so I’m more worried about the pain of death than what comes after.


Do you like mangoes???

YES, especially fresh ones!


What book would you not feel guilty about stomping on, tearing, and burning in a fire?

30249925I would have originally said Red Queen but a NEW BOOK recently slid into that spot… This Darkness Mineyou can read my review! I read it in one sitting it made me so SALTY that I truly would have stomped on it except I love my tablet, so no…


Multi-color Watercolor LineWhat blogs do you ALWAYS look forward to reading? (Or, if you’re afraid your dear readers might feel bad: What type of blogs do you tend to follow? ie. book blogs, lifestyle blogs, writing blogs, etc.)

Despite being a writer I don’t really read writing blogs… I love to follow book bloggers and k-drama bloggers. I do have a small group of bloggers that I check out regularly!

One I suggest highly is Jackie @ Death by Tsundoku.

I read all of her posts and she is a prolific commenter who it is a joy to chat with! She’s not just a nice and sweet person but she’s smart and curious.

Multi-color Watercolor Line


What’s one moment in your life you’d choose to play over and over again (aka re-experience over and over again?)

future gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

I’m more a future person than a past person so I’m always looking forward. When I dwell I get depressed so yeah I don’t really want to experience anything over and over again. Nothing I’ve achieved in the past satisfies my present so I have to keep moving forward to attain it.


You have the choice of reading a book you HATE, every single day, or reading one good book per year. Which do you choose?

One good book a year. Most books are not perfect so if I define “good” as perfect then I’ll be set to just keep reading like I do now!


What’s one food you will never get tired of eating??? (ONE food, people, ONE.)

Asian noodles…?! You can make them a million ways from all sorts of cultures so if I get tired of one way I’ll try another. I’m totally NOT a sweet tooth sort of person so it was always going to be a savory dish! I feel like if I chose fruit then I’d eventually become a diabetic and die from all the sugar… so yeah, Asian noodles.

asian noodles - - Yahoo Image Search Results


What would you do if someone walked up to you and gave you 100 bucks?

Honestly I would splurge and buy a dress I have been eyeing… I KNOW the proper response is to BUY BOOKS, but when you normally choose books over the dress, when a miracle happens sometimes you’ve just got to go with the dress!


How are you right now?

I’m better than I sometimes am on a Friday night, lol. It’s the end of the week and I spend the weekend out and about so its a busy time for me!


plain heart line

My 11 Questions…


  1. Name 6 types of characters you love most? (i.e. like genre but for characters, my examples: witty females, hot beta males, nerdy love interests, pirates, supportive best friends and orphans. If you can group them and love them, name them!)


  2. What favorite movie or television show do you wish would be turned into a YA series? Complete with properly aged protagonists, and YA tropes… Anything goes!


  3. Have you experienced a genre that you thought you hated but fell in love with? What book won you over?


  4. If you were captured by fairies and they turned you into any animal but you had to remain that animal for the rest of your life… which would it be (real or fictional animals are good…)?


  5. If you could teleport to any city in the world which would it be? If you had to make your way home on you own would it still be the same city?


  6. If a band were to be featured in a fictional story, which would you want it to be and why?


  7. Favorite book universe and why? (Is it the friends you would have, the world you would live in or the abilities/circumstances you would be in?)


  8. If your sibling turned into a dragon and insisted on staying by your side forever would you want it to retain your sibling’s personality? If not what would you want the dragon to be like?


  9. What book describes you best? (Is it a particular character, the cover or the story?)


  10. If you had a magic tin that refilled with any non-perishable food which would you want it to be filled with?


  11. If you wrote a book, what would it be about? (i.e. the premise, type of characters, world?)


plain heart lineMy 11 Nominations…

All of these bloggers should “be loved” in the spirit of this award! They are all niche bloggers brought together through their love of the written word… Please give them a look see ❤

Nancy and Kathleen @ Graphic Novelty²

Kathy @ Books & Munches

Sophie @ Sophie’s Corner

Haley @ Fangirl Fury

Rendz @ Reading with Rendz

Emma @ Reading Through the Night

Susy @ Susy’s Cozy World

Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads

Mary Mack @ Silver Button Books

Michelle @ Book Adventures

Bentley @ Book Bastion


I’d love to read your responses but please don’t feel pressured! It’s completely up to you if you want to respond or not… Nevertheless I wanted you to know your blog is “be loved!”

 

thank you gif - - Yahoo Image Search Results

XOXO

Dani Signature

15 thoughts on “GAH! 2 Beloved Bloggers Nominate Me Again!”

  1. Awww, thanks so much the tag! I’m totally a night owl, too. It makes it hard to get up for work in the mornings, but I just can’t help it! Why is everything just so much better at night, especially reading?! Haha!

  2. Great answers, Dani! I feel like I could eat noodles for the rest of my life too, they’re just so versatile. Oh and Christmas!!! I love it, but also Halloween. Would be hard to choose between the two hahaha
    Japan is definitely on my top 5 places to visit one day. Oh and great blogger advice! Those who never take the time to visit other blogs will never really get anywhere… Plus, where’s the fun in that?

  3. “Being a book blogger means participating in a community” yes yes yes yes YES, I so agree with that and it’s my favorite part of blogging, for sure. Commenting, starting a conversation with other bloggers and everything else around this, is the best. ❤
    Lovely answers, Dani! 🙂

    1. Thanks Marie! It’s so cornerstone to a blog… but I don’t think it’s something you realize when you FIRST start a blog… you originally just want to share what you think… and see if anyone answers. A community though is spending time away from your home blog too ♥️

Let's talk in the comments...

