Memes and Tags, This Week's Appreciation

This Week’s Appreciation #19

This week I was super inspired to share about book clubs, food in books, mental health and a new meme! You’re sure to be inspired too…

This Weeks Appreciation lineThis Week’s Appreciation is a weekly meme I host on Saturday morning to share blogger news and love. For each post I’ve pulled three (or more) things from the blog posts that I read over the previous week. It’s a fun way to showcase blogs I follow and share their posts!


Building Better Book Clubs

From Jackie @ Death by Tsundoku who is a really well read blogger who reviews all sorts of books and has thoughtful things to say about them that will spark many a conversation… She really inspired me this week with her in depth Book Club post. Seriously if you are thinking about forming a book club or joining one you NEED to read this post… Here is a small sample to give you a push to check it out:

“What do you hope to get out of this book club? This is important. The cornerstone of your book club and the direction you take things from here on out rests on the answer to this question. … Consider your goals. Write them all down. Yes. Every. Single. One.”


Any Foodies Dream

From Michelle @ Book Adventures where she shares all sorts of bookish fun (she’s coming on her 1 year book-iversary soon)!! I recently came upon a yummy post by her sharing all of her favorite bookish treats… A book tag challenged me to find a hunger inspiring book and IT. WAS. HARD. But here she lists FIVE!! I was blown away (yes I am easily impressed by greatness…) BEWARE reading the post as you will walk away from your computer hungry… (Okay I’ll give you a quick taste: “…Butterbeer, Acid Pops, Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans, Pumpkin Pasties and Chocolate Frogs…” Can you guess the book?)


Mental Health Recommendations

From Chrissi @ Chrissi Reads where she shares all sorts of bookish fun including Fairy Tale Friday… That isn’t what I want to share with you today… She is a long time participant of Top 10 Tuesday and she shared a dynamite list of mental health recommendations. THIS IS A FAVORITE genre of mine and I didn’t recognize A LOT of them… If you LOVED The Silver Linings Playbook then you’re sure to find others you’ll love as well!


New ARC Meme

From Evelina @ Avalinahs Books where she shares some really great reviews from all sorts of genres… She announced a new monthly meme she’s started, State of the ARC! (I love memes!) And I have tons of ARCS! She provides a linky too if you want to link up and share the state of your ARC pile… Check out the details on her first post…!


That’s it for week #19’s edition of This Week’s Appreciation… Do you have a book club? Is it online or in RL? Why do you participate? Do you get hungry reading about food in books? What is your favorite food from a book? Do you enjoy mental health centered stories? Which is your favorite? Do you participate in memes? Does an ARC one sound fun? Love to hear your thoughts!

Please check out these blogs, they are wonderful! XOXO

Dani Signature

16 thoughts on “This Week’s Appreciation #19”

  1. Ohmygosh! You flatter me! Thank you so much for calling out my post. I am also in awe of the amazing other bloggers I am in company with here. I am not worthy!!

    I, obviously, have a few book clubs I’m involved in. I have 5 I meet with people IRL and then two electronic I participate in. I am already planning a future post to spotlight my book clubs and explain what I love about each of them. 😀

    Honestly, I rarely think about food in books. I know that seems weird! People seem to always be talking about how hungry books make them, and yet I can’t seem to figure that out. I guess I thought about food more often when I read the Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy. But there is no single food which sticks out to me. You’re right about all the HP foods, though! I’m sure I’d adore a pumpkin pastie. I’ll have to pay closer attention to food in books.

    I do enjoy stories which feature characters struggle with mental health concerns. But I try to focus on the ones which are accurately represented and help the reader understand ways to cope with this, identify it in themselves or others, or provide recommendations for us to help people struggling with these mental health concerns. Wendy at What the Log is constantly highlighting mental health focused books. Her blog is my go-to for this sort of things.

    Oy. Let’s not talk about my ARC backlog. It’s BAD. Not as bad as Evelina’s…but enough to make me hurt. I don’t participate in many memes. Mostly Top Ten Tuesday, but I might pick this one up to keep me honest with my ARCs. I could use the support network, that’s for sure.

    1. You deserve it Jackie! ♥️ I complain and moan about 1 book club at times… I’m not sure how you can do 7! It boggles my mind… how do you have time to read anything else that month?!

      I LOVE food in books… lol, it’s kind of like when people share a meal in movies! So we incorporated food in our books, it’s a fun characterization technique with showing too!

      I’ll have to check out What the Log… while I do hope people portray mental health correctly the problem is that most people DO NOT have all the symptoms but in an effort to “be real” that is exactly what writers do… pile on the common symptoms. BUT the only way to use a fiction book to self diagnose IS to be UNREAL. “\_^.^_/” I read mental health NOT to do a doctors job but so that when I run into ANY unusual actions or thoughts I can be understanding and sympathetic. (SORRY! I’m a mental health advocate and CANNOT be silent about it… #nooffensemeantinthewritingofthiscomment)

      I hope you participate in the State of the Arc because reading how you conquered your ARC goals in August was fun! And I agree I need all the help I can get in working on the few books that I am behind reading! ♥️👍🏻🌟

      1. Haha. I often don’t, I will admit. It can be a challenge to get through so many books in a single month– hence the reason I had my TTT this past week. Sometimes, I select to just DNF a book and move on to stay on top of my book club reading. Or, if I know I won’t be able to make a book club that month, I will also DNF it. Hence the reason I have a giant collection of ARCs waiting for me at home… O_o

        I definitely need to focus more on food in books, then! When you write about food, does it represent more than just the meal itself? Or, can you point out some books which you think use food in a notable way?

        No offense taken in the writing of that comment! I love it. I totally agree that we should read about mental health concerns as a way to be informed. But it’s important to also ensure you are gaining realistic and varied representation. I totally agree with you than mental health is often written as all the symptoms at once. This is why we need to be well-read! 😀

        I also need help with ARCs. I’ve been sick the last few days, and I’m only catching back up on life now– so I might not get my stuff together for this month, but I’ll surely be participating in the future!

      2. I enjoy food in books whether it has a deeper meaning or not! Though if there is some symbolism then that is great! The bane of ARCS!! hahhhhhahaha. I’m starting to think DNFing is not a crime… but I have been in a reading slump so… *shrug*

      3. DNF’ing is amazing and liberating. I encourage you to try it more often. It takes a little while to get used to, however. But once you do— you realize that you never really cared enough about that book and it was great to let it go.

  2. I just recently joined a new book club in real life! I’m SO excited about this one. We’ve only had one meeting, just to introduce ourselves and get organized, but I love all of the people already! I can’t wait for our second meeting!! We seem like a group that reads books of all genres so I’m really looking forward to seeing what books everyone brings to the table.

    Oh my gosh, I get hungry reading about food in books ALL THE TIME. Thirsty too especially if the character is drinking tea or wine!

    I do enjoy mental health centered stories! I think it’s so important to get these topics discussed more often, especially in YA. I’ve read SO many books in the past few years that made me say “WOW! Where was this book when I needed it when I was a teenager?” Which is your favorite?

    I participate in a few memes, but I try not to over do it and bog down my blog with too many. My favorite is Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer. Evelina’s State of the ARC meme sounds SO fun! I need to request more ARC’s so I can participate! 🙂

    1. Book Clubs can be extremely fun! I hope this new one is fulfilling for you… I know from experience you can find some gems that you wouldn’t have read otherwise! ♥️ My most recent favorite mental health is Counting Wolves… an obscure one is Fall in One Day by Craig Terlson… but I LOVE the genre so there are many more.

      I do like Book Blogger Hop though sometimes it’s just a one word answer! I don’t do those. I like how low key it is though. The Flylef discussion looks fun! 😍🔥🌈

  3. Thanks so much for sharing, Dani! 🙂 I’m so glad you like the idea of State of the ARC. So far it seems I am mostly inspiring people by my incredible number of overdue ARCs, haha 😀 like, they thought THEY had many, then they found out how many I have xD xD xD
    Will you be joining next month? 🙂 I’m planning it for the end of September, but you can still join this one as well, if you want. I know that Di is going to post one tomorrow. Either way, thank you loads for sharing ❤

    1. You are most welcome Evelina! I figure the more bloggers who know about it the better ♥️ I think it’s a great idea and publishers should relish an added plug for their books! (I actually have a ton too, if they give me an already published book I’m terrible about getting to it in a timely manner…)

      I want to, I plan my posts so I’ll leave a day in the last week of Sept? I may still do for August’s linkup – I just LOVE the idea and hey it may galvanize me! I haven’t planned for Sept yet (yikes!! I’ve got to do that this weekend!!)

      1. Great 🙂 I’ll most likely be doing it on the 27th of September, if that helps you plan ahead. So exciting 🙂 I’m also glad I’m not the only one! Although I’m almost sure I have a lot more overdue books than most people do 😀

Let's talk in the comments...

