Memes and Tags, My Tags

The Candy Book Tag + A Mochi Rice Cake Sweet

I’ve seen this tag around and thought it very sweet but never thought I would be tagged for it!! I was so happy when Beth @ Reading Every Night chose me to do it next! Thank you so much! Her blog is very smart and all about books and I love it, check it out when you have time…


Apples Candy Banner

Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

3167229The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

This received a looooonnnnggg list of awards when it came out and many people rave about Patricl Ness books… I’m sure that they get a lot out of the stories and that those awards have great meaning… I however will never forget when I got to a certain place in the story and the character went totally against the person they had been up to that point. Their action had zero motivation to me! It felt contrived to be a shocking twist. I don’t enjoy books where the twists aren’t natural, arising from who the characters are and have been!


Milk Chocolate Candy Banner

This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

15787790The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

I didn’t want to pick a book that everyone has already read or one that I normally push out of extreme love… I wanted a little known book… and this book WOWED me! I still remember how it made me feel, uncertain what they were talking about because I was totally in Gene’s head experiencing what he was dealing with… The second and third books aren’t quite as good but the way this first one was written you are on the edge of your seat! It is the best example I’ve seen of taking what is a typical trope and totally turning it on its head in the best way!


Black Jelly Beans Candy Banner

Why do these exist??

17620859Burn Out by Kristi Helvig

With this book I’m talking stupid protagonists! This is from my review: “Tora was a major problem for me. She was majorly stupid and made stupid choices. #1 – If someone knocks and you suspect they are up to no good…DON’T OPEN THE DOOR! And definitely don’t leave safety!! #2 – Don’t tell enemies and people you don’t trust valuable information!! If you have to – LIE!! This is about weighing your choices and choosing the less horrible of the two.” I can’t abide stories where someone is so stupid and “that’s just the way they are!” NO! We have enough dumb decision making in the world I don’t need to read about it in fiction too…


Chocolate Kisses Candy Banner

Awww this novel had the best romance.

16068905Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and
15749186To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I picked two for this one because I just couldn’t choose! And actually WHY I LOVE them are remarkably similar. Both are thrust into situations where these girls have to grow up and learn to deal with new situations. They have to shed old ideas about themselves and what they want in order to move forward! And they both have the cutest, most perfect for them relationships with the boys in their lives…


Gummy Spiders Candy Banner

Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

31338593

Gardenia by Kelsey Sutton

I don’t really read horror and when I do it has a more creepy young adult vibe. While not explicitly “so scary I can’t leave my bed or house” I do highly recommend this book! There was this perfect blend of mystery, contemporary romance and coming of age. Ivy seeing the countdowns to people’s deaths was integral to her moving forward to solve the mystery plus it was fun + creepy!

My review is here!


Jumbo Lollipop Candy Banner

This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

68428The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

There are SOOOO MANY books I could have chosen to list here. A couple I’ve read recently… like Illuminae and Strange the Dreamer and some that I read a while ago like Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix or All the Light We Cannot See. These all top 500 pages easy.

I picked the first Mistborn book because I felt every one of those pages!! As a writer I could see places that could use a trim and a couple spots where there were two very similar scenes and one could have been lost very easily. It’s still a really great story and worth the read but its not perfect as is…


Cotton Candy Banner

Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

2073629Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher by Bruce Coville

I loved the Magic Shop series growing up – they really were perfect at getting the creative juices flowing so that you could see the magic around you in the present world. They weren’t sweeping you off the another world but occupying the hum drum life you were living now! What would you do if you had a dragon egg to hatch?!

Very similar to the magic the Percy Jackson series engenders in young kids today!


Mochi Rice Cake Candy Banner

Exotic and handmade. You didn’t think you’d like such diversity but it’s unexpectedly tasty!*

29875307Hundred Ghost Soup by Robert Chansky

I love me some Asian protagonist, world building or mythology and this has all three in spades!! Some may not consider it diverse since the world is set in China but it is certainly exotic and it still only has 14 reviews on Goodreads even though its been out almost a year… And it really is a 5 star read!! If I haven’t convinced you to read this yet then let me plug it a little more… there is a male protagonist and very little to no romance plus the storycraft is excellent. Jimo being an orphan informs each and every decision he makes through the course of the story and WOW!

My review is here!


My Tags…

You all are my sweet choices!! I tried to check and make sure you haven’t done this one but if you have then please leave a link in the comments. (Or if you don’t wanna do it, no problem!) I look forward to your answer!

Nel @ Reactionary Tales

Hannah @ Peanut Butter & Books

Namitha @ Teen Memoir

Avalinah @ Avalinah’s Books

Destiny @ Howling Libraries

Jackie @ Death by Tsundoku

Julianna @ Blots of Ink and Words

+ anyone else who would love to do this tag!


*I added mochi rice cake candy! No insult to the tag creator intended… I just wanted to include my favorite tasty sweet!

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

26 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag + A Mochi Rice Cake Sweet”

  1. (Ugh. I totally wrote a response a few days ago and apparently it never actually posted. Sometimes, I think WP hates me)

    Thank you for nominating me! I really struggle to do tags (mostly because I forget about them… O_o), but I definitely want to do this one! Do you mind if I use all the fun banners you created for each label? They are way nicer than ones I could have created.

    YES. I don’t get Patrick Ness. Or, well, the appeal of his works. Seriously. I read The Knife of Never Letting Go and I felt like the characters didn’t make sense and weren’t true to themselves, or they were just absolutely unrealistically bonkers. And then Manchee. Seriously. Why did I read that? I also read The Rest of Us Just Live Here and I detested how all women were portrayed IDENTICALLY. I just… Ugh. Stop. Go away.

    I never would have picked Fangirl for best romance, but I totally see why you did. I *adore* all of Rainbow Rowell’s books. Please write more, Rowell. I need more of your stories (particularly your characters!) in my life.

    I’ve never heard of Jeremy Thacher, Dragon Hatcher. I should totally check that book out! More for the TBR! So dangerous, these tags…

    1. Sure use my banners, I’d be honored! ♥️ I have to save links to my tags in drafts otherwise I forget too… THAT IS EXACTLY HOW I FELT ABOUT THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO! Actually I’ve almost exclusively hear good things about that book… I haven’t read Landline but I agree I need more Rainbow Rowell! Funnily she doesn’t have much of a social media presence cause I’d like a glimpse inside her head! I’ll look forward to all the books to add to my TBR from your tag ♥️

  2. Hi Dani! Thanks for the tag! I have done this post before here: https://reactionarytales.com/candy-books-tag/ but it did not have the mochi rice cake candy. If I had to choose one for that, I would say The Innkeeper Chronicles by Ilona Andrews because it’s diverse in that its a honest to goodness blend of vampires, werewolves, aliens, witches and magic that I’ve read. Most people can do two or three but never all in a great, engaging way. My second choice would probably be Mercy Thompson series because it has Native American culture mixed with vampires and werewolves and fae and is really well written.

    1. Both of those are great series, thanks for doing my mochi cakes. I love Ilona Andrews and the Mercy Thompson series is pretty good. I thought I did a search for this tag but I’ve been looking at tags and awards a lot lately do I probably just got confused! I’ll check it out…

  3. What a yummy tag!! It’s actually making me hungry :’)

    I’ve been eyeing Sanderson’s novels for a while, but they’re all so long it’s a bit intimidating, esp since I still have to finish so many other books. But Hundred Ghost Soup seems super fun!! I also love reading about Asian protagonists, plus I love finding out about underrated books that deserve all the hype.

    1. Hannah!! I highly recommend Hundred Ghost Soup… it’s SOOO Chinese! I want to read more Sanderson but I agree his books are intimidatingly long and so many of the hyped books I HAVEN’T read yet are on the longish side of 400+! Choices, choices ❤

      1. AHHH okay it’s definitely on my immediate TBR!! that title is very intriguing, too… I know it probably has some hidden meaning yet to be revealed in the book, but I just can’t stop thinking about a huge boiling pot filled with ghosts!!

  4. This looks like a very sweet tag (badum tsss.. :D) Thank you for tagging me! I will definitely enjoy it 🙂 haven’t read any of the books you mention though!

  5. Great picks for this tag Dani, I really loved reading all your answers though unfortunately I haven’t read many of the books you featured.
    Oh that’s a shame about The Knife of Never Letting Go. I read that book last year on holiday and I was very quickly addicted. I think I pretty much binge read the whole series because I just couldn’t get enough. I definitely agree about the romance between Cath and Levi in Fangirl, it’s one of my favourite contemporary reads and I loved those two characters so so much! 😀
    Again great picks. 🙂 ❤

    1. Thanks Beth for checking in on this tag! ❤

      i love book blogging because while we agree on a lot about certain books (FANGIRL! I love meeting other fangirls too ❤ <3) we can also disagree! I'm glad that you were able the enjoy The Knife of Never Letting Go!! SOOO many readers love Patrick Ness!

    1. I TOTALLY WILL ACCEPT YOUR NOMINATION!! Thank you ❤ My app is freezing due to an update and its not as easy getting to comments on my computer… (so sorry!) but I hope you'll do this tag too!! Aren't those books the cutest!! Love them so much, glad to hear from another fangirl!!

Let's talk in the comments...

