Memes and Tags, This Week's Appreciation

This Week’s Appreciation #16

This Week’s Appreciation is a weekly meme I host on Saturday morning to share blogger news and love. For each post I’ve pulled three things from the blog posts that I read over the previous week. It’s a fun way to showcase blogs I follow and share their posts! Feel free to participate…

Books into Television Shows

From Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies who is an avid reader who loves to fangirl over books over on her blog. This week she shared 10 books made into Television shows… my favorite is The Expanse on the SyFy channel! Here is what it’s about: “Our hero is James Holden, who finds himself captain of a small rogue vessel after an untraceable attack on his home ship leaves him and his crew stranded in space. The anti-hero, of sorts, is Detective Miller, a Belter whose missing-persons case takes on intergalactic significance and brings him in league with Holden and his crew on board the Rocinante.” Planets and space… in a tv show! Check out her review of the first book too…

Show vs. Tell: A Lesson

From Maria @ Crafting Your Novel who blogs about her writing journey so you can learn from her mistakes… and this time she shares an important lesson about showing vs. telling with examples and some solid advice… “But what about the audience? Can they see it? And by seeing it…I had a damn revelation here…what’s really meant, is: Can your readers see who your protagonist is, as well as the world around them, and how they interact with it?” You’ve got to head over there to learn more…

Manga Needed as Anime

From DaBoogie @ The DaBoogie blog where he blogs about television, manga, and anime. He’s a new blogger but has been sharing up a storm… This time he shared 5 manga series that I’d never heard of that sound super good which would make super cool anime! Beastars caught my eye about… “a world inhabited by humanoid animals, the story is in a high school which serves to present us a society model of this world and the students are divided into two groups: carnivores and herbivores, with our main character being the big bad wolf itself Legosi! Which is rather a calm and shy fella but has his charms.” Sounds good, right? Check out his other choices…


That’s it for week #16’s edition of This Week’s Appreciation… Do you like to watch television shows developed from books? What is your favorite? Are you a writer book blogger? Do you follow any good writer advice blogs? Have you tried manga? Is it close or different from comics to you? Any new manga you’re loving?

Please check out these blogs, they are wonderful! XOXO

Dani Signature

17 thoughts on “This Week’s Appreciation #16”

  1. So many questions! Let’s see if I can answer them all…

    I don’t really watch television (Doctor Who is the exception), so I can’t say that I watch television based on books. However, I do plan on watching the Anne of Green Gables mini series, and I ADORE the BBC Pride and Prejudice mini series featuring Colin Firth. So, I probably would enjoy quite a few of them if I ever watched TV!

    I am not a writer book blogger. However, I do follow a few bloggers who also feature writing details! In particular, you, Dani, Nicola @ Thoughts of Fantasy, and Cait @ Paper Fury are the ones I read the most about writing from. There are some other bloggers who participate in NaNoWriMo and the such, so I don’t see as much from them. But I like reading posts about writing! I learn a lot about analyzing my reading from these.

    I really love manga, but I haven’t read much in years. I always ended up reading manga after getting into the series. So, Sailor Moon and Fushigi Yuugi are some favorites. I really should pick it up again… I’ll keep an eye out for new manga!

    Whew! How was that? Did I answer them all? 😉

    1. Oh no you didn’t! BUT YOU DID! rofl you are too funny Jackie! Love it! ❤ ❤ ❤

      Love Doctor Who!! David Tennant is my favorite!

      SOO good to know that you enjoy writing posts! I need to look up Nicola's blog! (Okay I just looked her up and how cool is she!!) And I love Cait!

      I'd love to hear what manga you find if you do!

      1. Hey, I try. 😀

        Tennant is my favorite, but I think Season 9 Peter Capaldi might be my favorite Doctor representation. Season 10 isn’t doing it for me, though (I haven’t seem then all yet! No spoilers!).

        I’ll definitely let you know about the manga I’m reading. Actually, this reminds me that I was reading through Lone Wolf and Cub in late 2015 early 2016. I sorta stopped, since the overarching story wasn’t happening quickly enough for me. After 8 volumes (there are 28 total volumes) I started to get a bit bored with the repetition. But I might pick it up again…

Let's talk in the comments...

