Book Blogger Hop, Memes and Tags

Book Blogger Hop: Reading Movie Tie-ins

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop (Final)

Week seven of my Book Blogger Hop adventure… I took a break from this meme for most of July as I wanted to write more original posts. For the most part I was successful but I missed the little chats that this meme brings to the table! It really is fun and I can talk about things I probably wouldn’t normally reference this way! 

-Q-

Do you read tie-in novels to movies or television series? If so, which ones?

(submitted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer)

-A-

Okay I jut read a post about doing research before you post and so figured I’d grab the definition of tie-in. Wow… not quite what I expected and I don’t know if this is what the question asker intended but I’m going to answer based on this definition…


“A tie-in work is a work of fiction or other product based on a media property such as a film, video game, television series, board game, web site, role-playing game or literary property.

Tie-ins are authorized by the owners of the original property, and are a form of cross-promotion used primarily to generate additional income from that property and to promote its visibility.”

–According to Wikipedia

So… No. If the novel came AFTER the movie or television show in question I do not read them. I feel like a movie is rather shallow and I’m not going to be getting the same story (or anything) in a book based on it. *shrug* It may be a really great novel, I know of a few friends who RAVE about the Star Wars novels and they were based on a movie. I feel like in this case the world has become bigger than the original work so if you are into Star Wars then you probably want to check those novels out!

Every form of media has a specific purpose and the type of story that suits it are different. For the same reason I wouldn’t read the novel of a movie, I wouldn’t read a novel of a television show. A show should be so rich with characters and plot that there is no hope of following them in a book… In other words the book would / should be massive! When I’ve watched a television show based on a book there has been necessary additions in order to flesh it out! It’s all a matter of form. (Sorry this is a subject I LOVE AND ADORE… I will rattle on only a little more… please keep reading…)

If a movie or television show was great then that will probably be enough for me. No tie-in needed! It’s like a detective mystery show… I don’t search out the books the show was based on… I just move on to the next detective show!


Before I looked up tie-in I was going to answer: yes! I love watching movies and television shows based on books (i.e. the books came before the movie)…Adaptions are a favorite of mine… I love to see what the screenwriter thought were the best visuals from the book and how the relationships and plot endured through the screenwriting process. There is also the ego of the director and how he wants to change the story to make it his…

(In fact I have a new feature: From Book to Screen where I talk about them… you can read my first post about the YA adaption The 5th Wave by clicking the banner below or the link. #ShamelessSelfPromotion #sorrynotsorry)

Adaptions Featured

There are many YA movie adaptions now and they haven’t been doing too well (I don’t have stats to back this up just a general consensus from reviewing movies based on YA books and reading other reviews [sorry the previous research totally sapped me of the energy to do more…] *cries*). YA books are for a primarily female audience while YA movies are for a primarily male audience (well movies in general are so if you don’t get positive word of mouth to the women the movie will be watched mostly by men!) All I’m saying is that whether it’s a tie-in or adaption there needs to be a focus on story and world-building to capture the audience! #writersperspectiveinterruption

(Probably not the answer that was looked for but adaptions have been on my mind!)

Dani Signature

16 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Reading Movie Tie-ins”

  1. Great post! I’m right there with you, actually. I first thought this was asking if you looked movie adaptations of books, and I was like, “Woo, adaptations!” lol because I love watching them even though so many of them are disappointing – I guess I’m a glutton for punishment. When it comes to books based on movies and such, though, it’s REALLY rare that I’ll pick one up. I can’t remember the last time I did!

  2. I LOVE that you defined this 🙂 There is clearly a bit of confusion this week. I personally have read a few tie ins that I know of, but I’m sure I’ve read a bunch more without realizing it.

  3. I’ve only read a few tie-ins. Generally they aren’t the greatest, but if I loved a film/TV show I sometimes try to collect merchandise connected to it, including tie-in books. It’s rare though.

  4. Most of the tie-ins I’m aware of are science fiction related (Star Wars, Star Trek, Doctor Who) which makes sense as there’s so many directions you can go with that genre to flesh out the world and the characters. I’m not sure how well tie ins work for mysteries or fiction but I’d give one a try if it appealed to me!

    1. As far as I understand tie-ins come AFTER the movie or show so since mystery shows are typically based on a book character I don’t even know why there would be a tie-in…? So yeah I think you nailed it… tie-ins make more sense for sci-fi… 👍🏻

  5. Thanks for that definition! I had no idea that was even a thing but I guess it makes sense when it comes to comics just not regular movies.

  6. I used to read junior novelizations when I was younger, mostly of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies (and looking back on it, they weren’t very good). So I used to, but I don’t anymore.
    As for book-to-movie/TV adaptations, it really depends. I think The Hunger Games films were done marvelously; they followed the books for the most part and the changes they did make made sense. Percy Jackson on the other hand… Ugh. I try to pretend they don’t exist.

Let's talk in the comments...

