Memes and Tags, Top 5 Wednesday

Top 6 Favorite Middle Grade Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Samantha and Lainey. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Top 5 Wednesday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Top 5 Wednesday Banner

This week’s topic is Favorite Middle Grade Books. Originally titled “Children’s Books” I believe it was really intended, not for picture books, but middle grade as it was specified that Harry Potter and Percy Jackson be excluded from our lists… I chose to go along with the middle grade selection… (as I have a picture book feature with my nephew called Boo’s Picture Gallery.)


#6 – The Book of Three

The Book of Three coverBook 1 of The Chronicles of Prydain Series

Not your typical hero Taran is clumsy, impulsive, and kind of a dork but as he advances through each book of the series he matures into a heroic young adult. If you want your child to fall in love with Tolkien this is a great series to start with… My mom read these to us when we were little and so it is no surprise that when we were in middle school she graduated to reading Terry Brooks books to us!


#5 – Dealing with Dragons

Dealing with Dragons coverBook 1 of Enchanted Forest Chronicles Series

Cimorene is everything a princess is not supposed to be: headstrong, tomboyish, smart – and bored. She runs off to find the life she wants and ends up dealing with dragons. If your child is an animal lover this series will win them over swiftly… I was dying for books about dragons as a kid and found this lovely series that is not only about my favorite creature of all time but about a girl that I could see in myself!


#4 – Tuesdays at the Castle

Tuesdays at the Castle coverBook 1 of Castle Glower Series

All about a family who must defend their home from invaders after their father, mother and older brother are attacked on the road. Luckily Castle Glower is on their side and provides never-ending twists and turns to help Celie lead them on a merry chase… I read this recently and it is too cute. What I loved the most about it is how Celie worked with her older siblings and they worked with her doing the things each child did best to solve the problem. Family at its best!


#3 – Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle

Mrs Piggle Wiggle coverBook 1 of the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle Series

The incomparable Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle loves children good or bad and never scolds but has positive cures for Answer-Backers, Never-Want-to-Go-to-Bedders, and other boys and girls with strange habits. She’s strange and kind and really totally unexpected… As a girl I loved this series; it is perfect for children who are picked on. There is no bullying in the book but it shows children how there is more than one way to handle problems and that kindness does work. I consumed this series and my mom was more than happy to let me!


#2 – Slathbog’s Gold

Slathbogs Gold cover - Adventurers Wanted #1Book 1 of the Adventurers Wanted Series

The sign is small, tucked into the corner of Mr. Clutter’s bookshop window: “Adventurers Wanted. Apply Within.” No one but fifteen-year-old Alex Taylor, who has wished for a change in his life, even noticed it was there. Boys will be drawn into this irresistible world of adventure as Alex becomes the eighth man in a band seeking the lair of Slathbog the Red – an evil dragon with a legendary treasure… My brother loves this series it being his favorite for many years. He wore out his copy of the entire series reading it cover to cover over and over again!


#1 – Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos coverBook 1 of Theodosia Throckmorton Serie

Theodosia Throckmorton has her hands full at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in London as she is able to see all the black magic and ancient curses that still cling to the artifacts in the museum. Sneaking behind her father’s back, Theo uses old, nearly forgotten Egyptian magic to remove the curses and protect her father and the rest of the museum employees from the ancient, sinister forces lurking in the museum’s dark hallways… My mother and I read this series as adults and though very short series at 4 books it is perfect for young fans of ancient Egypt and dark curses.


Some of these I read when I was young and others I found recently but either way these are all books I’d read with my children or suggest to them… they are perfect for budding readers who need adventure and excitement… What are your favorite childhood middle grade books? Did you love to read when you were young? What inspired you?

Top 5 Wednesday Logo

Thanks for Reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

17 thoughts on “Top 6 Favorite Middle Grade Books”

  1. I actually don’t know any of these.. Except for #4 cause of your review hahaahh 😛 I think this is something I’m going to have to fix if I am to ever recommend books to kids in the future! 😮

  2. Interesting– I don’t know if I’d consider the Chronicles of Prydian a middle-grade series, but reflecting back on it The Book of Three might fall into that category… While the writing level did feel lower, there are some complicated and dark things happening in those books. I only read the first 2.5 novels (I got distracted) but you’ve reminded me that I need to continue reading that series!

    The only other book on this list I have heard of I also adore: The Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle series just slew me as a child. I would laugh until my stomach muscles ached. I’m so glad to see these listed here. I’ll have to look into the other books you’ve listed. MG books and I are great friends, but I feel like I’ve been neglecting them lately. Oops!

Let's talk in the comments...

