Book Reviews, Sci-Fi

Gork, the Irreverent Dragon: A Comedy

I do not like DNFing books especially one that I got as an ARC but it would have taken me months to read this and I just don’t have the time and I would have arrived at the same thoughts except way more frustrated. Recently I read another book bloggers wrap up post where she shared DNFing 4 or 5 books! And her point was really sound about why she did so… it got me thinking that if this isn’t my thing then I can just let it go… BUT there are some people who may love this book… read more to find out if you are one of them…

Gork The Teenage Dragon coverGork, the Teenage Dragon

by Gabe Hudson
Published July 11th 2017
by Knopf Publishing Group

Gork or Weak Sauce as his peers like to call him has one day to get a female dragon to agree to have his eggs or he becomes a slave…for life. Up against Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Robots he has to combat his gigantic heart, the insecurities he feels about his 2-inch horns and his occasional problem with fainting. Will he get the girl and conquer earth?

My opinion Splat LogoI admit that I looked at this book because of the cover. It is obviously a book aimed at the male persuasion with those colors but I wasn’t daunted by that… in fact, I welcomed it, I just forget that they are huge fans of this comedy fiction genre. It goes to show how the perfect cover (like this one) will tell you everything about it.

This is a list of reasons YOU may want to pick up this book…


Did someone say Dragons

#1 – Okay I am a huge lover of dragons… Yes I said dragons!

And there are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO many dragons in this!!

A whole world of dragons that are set on world domination (not quite what I was thinking…) and their first step to that is to find the right woman or man to rule in terror with (this was quite cute!) I loved how he incorporated lizard things like the threat display and the way lizards open their mouths and look like they are screaming when threatened. And we don’t just have leathery dragons but also robot dragons!


Dragon Personality

#2 – I love me a strong narrative POV!

Let me say right off that Gork has personality. MEGA personality!

“There’s a flurry of commotion as they explode into combat. Fribby and the muscular green tentacle are really doing a number on each other, and you’d think it was a demented fight to the death. And my heart is a little torn, because Fribby is my best friend, and ATHENOS II has been like a big sister to me. And she’s done considerable work to help my scaly green ass boost my WTP rank from ThrashBait up to Snacklicious.”

It is all about him and just like that self centered friend you love but only talks about the things she loves you have to take this guy in small doses. You cannot rush through or consume this kind of narrative. It is overwhelming and powerful. FOR ME, it was too powerful… when I read I really enjoy putting myself in the shoes of the character. I may not agree but I want to understand. That is not possible with Gork.

Now for those that love Saturday Night Live and to fall back into a world that makes fun of itself where nothing is sacred – THIS BOOK IS FOR THEM!!

Gork definitely has heart. That ending…wow! Couldn’t have been more satisfying… it is a nice end for this narrative and the dual nature of Gork. I can’t say that I didn’t see that pairing from the very beginning but it wasn’t any less happy for me!


Dragon Eyes Widening

#3 – I love the world with all the mad science and steampunk aspects merging machines with organic material!

I was hoping for a different villain… I wasn’t surprised by it but geeze man why does it always have to be family that keeps us back… Dr. Terrible sure is some crazy inventive dragon but he needs a lot of work on his bedside manner. I loved the evolution switching machine and all the craziness it is… but hands down ATHENOS Gork’s ship and Dr. Terrible’s creation is the best to me! I loved the twist on the robots take over trope! Fribby the robot dragon with the organic womb and Gork’s best friend who would help him out of all kinds of scraps and kept Gork from falling into line with his grandpa’s thinking (and being a jerk). She was just super great!

Dragon Flying I cant
Okay so confession time… I did not read every page of this book, so I will slot it under DNF but I read the first 31% and the last 10% and skimmed much of the middle. I feel like if I had read the book straight through I would have rated it one star because I would have been so frustrated by the taste issues that I wouldn’t have been able to rate it without prejudicing myself.

The hijinks are outrageous and just too extreme for my tastes. The digressions into side thoughts about his relationships with the characters involved or the events that have happened off screen were just taking me out of the story. If you like any thing that I suggested in the above list I believe you will LOVE this book!! I can APPRECIATE the techniques involved and I admit I should never have requested this book as a book centered on comedy for comedy’s sake is not for me nor will it ever be.

Star Rating wordsRating Star 5Rating Star 11Rating Star 4Rating Star 10

BOTTOM LINE: Not for me but could be for you if you LOVE comedy fantasy…


My thoughts as a writer Typewriter Pink Purple Logo

Narrative power is one of the biggest motivations I have when it comes to reading a book… I really thought I could read this, in fact when I first started I was pleasantly surprised at how great the narrative was. Just like a SNL skit it was so jammed full of powerful personality… the problem was it was set on making fun of it self. As a rather serious person I really love humor in the moment but this sort of comedy fiction is certainly an acquired taste!



Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

NetGalley delivers digital galleys, often called advance reading copies, or ARCs, to professional readers and helps promote new and upcoming titles. Professional readers–reviewers, media, journalists, bloggers, librarians, booksellers and educators–can join and use NetGalley at no cost.” Netgalley is a special section of my book discussions where I post reviews of the digital books I read through this service. It’s quite amazing the gems you can find. I’ve yet to regret reading a book, even if I don’t like it…

6 thoughts on “Gork, the Irreverent Dragon: A Comedy”

  1. With the way you were giving us reasons to read it, you almost made me believe you had actually read every page of this book hahaha I have to say that the cover doesn’t appeal to me hahah In fact, it makes me want to skip it more than anything. Sorry to hear that it wasn’t exactly your cup of tea, but maaaaan, what can we do when we see dragons besides grab them, hug them and love them forever right?!1!? 😀 😀

    1. lol… after I wrote this review I realized the cover should have turned me off and I NEVER should have requested it (and actually I kind of hate it now)… I have dragon blinders on… I know, make fun of me, lol! I guess if I’m going to have blinders on about something better to be dragons than something else! Thanks Lashaan! 😁😁

Let's talk in the comments...

