Memes and Tags, This Week's Appreciation

This Week’s Appreciation #11

This Week’s Appreciation is a weekly meme I host on Saturday morning to share blogger news and love. For each post I’ve pulled three things from the blog posts that I read over the previous week. It’s a fun way to showcase blogs I follow and share their posts! Feel free to participate…

Become a YA Contemporary Lover

From Krysti @ YAandWine who is a very popular YA book blogger, nevertheless I had to showcase this post that I absolutely adored about becoming a YA contemporary lover (NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, what about FANTASY!? #kiddingnotkidding)… she includes all sorts of books that won her over and it is truly the mega-list of contemporary… I only know of one other book blogger who LOVES YA contemporary this much… so check out this post if you are jonezing for something different…

Urban Fantasy Top Reads – Age 14 to 25

From Nel @ ReactionaryTales where she blogs about all sorts of things… this week she collaborated with James to write a Top Reads Genre list. Each age in the range gets a book assigned and it is quite cute! I loved this age range and urban fantasy are so good! I noticed quite a few authors or books that I’ve read in the past. Check it out… you may or may not be surprised by what she included…

Discussion on Censorship

From Charlotte @ Engrossed in a Good Book who reads all sorts of books, shares her thoughts about encouraging reading in childhood. At the end of her post she talks about whether a child can self censor and she relates how she felt they could. Then she recounts a story about Neil Gaiman and his daughter, which both proves and disproves her point. It was a wonderful discussion and well worth your time weighing in…


That’s it for week #11’s edition of This Week’s Appreciation… I was feeling undercast the entire week and have been dragging myself about… I really hope this next week I can bounce back… Are you a contemporary YA lover? Or is YA Fantasy your go to genre? Or are you totally mysteries? Have you read an urban fantasy? What is your definition of urban fantasy? Did your parents censor your books growing up? Please check out these blogs, they are wonderful!

Dani Signature

30 thoughts on “This Week’s Appreciation #11”

  1. OH THAT BLOG POST ABOUT CONTEMPORARY. I’m running to it right now because I think I might have missed that and ahhh I love my contemporaries ❤ Thank you for sharing! ❤

  2. Hey! Thanks for the shout out. I’m glad you enjoyed the post considering James let me totally wing it. I definitely appreciate it and I love that you do appreciation posts weekly! That is such an awesome idea 😊

  3. I love these posts. It’s a great way to share some blogger love! Perhaps I’ll steal this idea… 😉

    I find that my feelings on YA contemporary novels are very polarized. I either ADORE them or I DNF them. It’s weird. I don’t gravitate towards them in particular, I still love my magical realism. 😀 I think Nel’s definition of urban fantasy is accurate, but I don’t agree with all the books on her list. For example, Poison Study is certainly not set in our contemporary times– it’s more Napoleanic. [shrugs] But it’s still a good list. As far as childhood censorship is concerned, I think that it’s appropriate for a parent or guardian to provide censoring based on what they know and expect of their child’s development. However, censorship shouldn’t come from outside sources (libraries, schools, religious organizations) and shouldn’t limit the child’s experiences in life.

    1. I’d love to read what you come up with! 💡
      I agree with not agreeing all her choices were urban fantasy. In creating my genre lists on my blog I found that the definitions are pretty loose. Like the difference between paranormal and supernatural… so I kind of just roll with whatever a reader thinks…
      Yeah I can see that in regards to censorship… a child can always read whatever they want as an adult, so it is not the same thing as an institutional censorship. Also parents are responsible for a child and their actions until they are an adult so it makes sense to me they should have the right to limit you. Though I think some youth may disagree, thinking that the ages of 10-18 are the end of the world to them now, lol.

      1. I have never made genre lists for that specific reason. I can never figure them out! I stress out far too much about labels, apparently. But your fusion genre idea… that’s super cool.

        Oh, the youths of the world will certainly disagree with me on that one, but you’re right: read it as an adult. My parents censored my reading until around 15. I totally approve of that- it worked well for me.

  4. Thanks for the appreciation, I might join you in this next week on my weekly update post. Censorship is such a difficult subject and I try to be analytical, it doesn’t always work out.

      1. I wrote it for purely selfish reasons, I have an 8 year old daughter who reads and I needed to figure out a policy for myself before age is capable of picking up game is thrones

Let's talk in the comments...

