Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling Thursday: Favorite 2017 Covers

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is to choose your favorite book of the year so far. It’s been a good book reading year so far even though I didn’t read much in January (I was a slow starter…) My favorite books so far in 2017 don’t have multiple covers so I chose two of my favorite covers so far in 2017. I really like modern covers that give a sense of the world involved (especially since I tend to read mostly fantasy)…


Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Add to GoodreadsLazlo Strange has been drawn to the mythic city of Weep since he felt the name of that lost city plucked from his brain. Good fortune brought him up from orphan to junior librarian where he could study all he wanted about his obsession. When a man called the Godslayer appears with a band of warriors he knows he must step forward or lose his dream forever. After a blue-skinned goddess invades his dreams everything changes for this strange dreamer…


Strange the Dreamer coverThe original cover was by far the better of the two covers. While I’m not sure if I really love the cover for the story I find the focus revolved around the goddess so the link of the moths and the blue side worked for me even if I can imagine other better covers. I am not a fan of the gold at all… it makes the story seem like there is an element of luxury that I don’t think is really present in the story (though perhaps gods and goddesses give you that same idea…) Still I find this cover has the same feel as Taylor’s writing and I love it.


Strange the Dreamer British coverNot that the British cover was the worst cover at all, so much as my least favorite of the two. The color is a better blue to me though perhaps not the typical godly blue of the culture referenced. I love the moth graphic but it really has nothing to do with the story, it is technical in nature rather than dreamy. And this cover is just so regular… not what I’d have chosen for a series I’m anticipating as the next mega-hit  from the author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone.


Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

Add to GoodreadsAlex comes from a family of brujas. When she learns she is an Encantrix she is NOT happy as she doesn’t want anything to do with her family’s magic. Determined not to fall in line with anyone’s wishes but her own she casts a spell to get rid of her power at her Deathday celebration. It curses her entire family to Los Lagos, a sort of limbo for the dead. To guide her is Nova, a brujo boy whose intentions are not pure and her best friend, Rishi who sees her as more than just a friend.


Labyrinth Lost coverThe original cover was compelling to me and is why I wanted to read the book so I want to say it is the best… While I generally go by my gut and the blurb (the cover being why I pick the book up) I admit this time cover love totally intrigued me… There is something about that makeup and the realism added to the idea of brujas that works so well. Still the bruja part of the story was not a major win to me so I was left disappointed by this cover. I wish the book measured up to my first impression so this is the worst cover(read my review if you missed it…)


Labyrinth Lost alternate coverThe better cover is the alternate re-release because I think it better reflects the story. The gate with the skulls is fantastical and fits with how you imagine the world to look (though I don’t fancy the pink color). This works better because the story is a journey story and this definitely nails that impression. I like that they kept the same type face because I liked it to begin with and found it suits the prickly nature of the world.

 


I know it was indulgent to pick two but I really fancied both of these covers… Which is your favorite cover? Do you like modern cover designs? Did you read either of these books?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

23 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Favorite 2017 Covers”

  1. Oooh- I didn’t realize there was a second cover for Labyrinth Lost — I totally agree that it’s a better cover. The original cover pops quite a bit more, but I’m drawn to the second cover.

    I haven’t read either of these books yet, but they are both on my TBR. so many books, so little time…

    1. Yeah now you know why I chose it for favorite 2017 book covers!! lol I hear you about too little time… I actually dnfed a book last night @ 50% (and I really dislike doing that) but it just wasn’t to my taste and it was the first time as a book blogger I thought, there are some books I just won’t read because they aren’t my style…. 😅

      1. Bingo. That’s important! I also DNF’d a book at 50% on my trip. I just didn’t care any longer. I love writing reviews for DNF books, too. When I do that I can get feedback from others who might have read it and they can help me know if I should keep going.

  2. I haven’t read these yet but I totally agree on your choices! There’s just something about them that the others seem to lack and I would definitely choose them at a bookstore if I saw them, which is saying something 🙂

  3. The moths actually had a big part in Strange the Dreamer lol. Sarai’s moths allowed her to enter dreams, after all! But I’m totally with you that the UK cover is my least favorite! Something about the blue and gold is so so pretty and everything is AESTHETIC AGH.

    1. MAAAAY! I hope you’re having fun (are you home now?)
      Yeah I loved the moths on the American cover because they were dreamy but the technical or graphic line drawing of the moth wasn’t in the story (it wasn’t a symbol used in the citadel or a decoration, etc). SORRY NOT VERY CLEAR OF ME! It was just a disconnect to me. It was like putting a ten headed dragon on the cover of a fantasy novel but the dragon in the story only has two heads. It doesn’t work. You’re right though aesthetic isn’t bad… (right? Or am I missing something…?)

  4. Ohh great choices, I so agree with you on both of these – I love the original cover a bit more for Strange The Dreamer, and the re-relase for Labyrinth Lost – I hadn’t seen that cover before and it is absolutely STUNNING!

    1. Oh I’m glad you enjoyed Labyrinth Lost… it’s on the cusp to me, one of those books that annoy you or that you are gaga for, but it’s great when you love a book… you should try Strange the Dreamer if you enjoy fantasy, it’s another cusp book to me ❤️ thanks for sharing!

Let's talk in the comments...

