Memes and Tags, My Tags

The Mid-Year Freakout Book Tag

I’ve seen this tag around lately and was so happy to be tagged by the lovely Destiny @ Howling Libraries. Thank you so much! Her blog is very down to earth and all about books and I love it, check it out when you have time…

Freakout and Lose Control poster

I was a little thrown not having rules that lay out the process, but I ‘m going to go with it and just freak out! I just barely got nominated in time for this to be counted as mid-year (and SOOO many have done it already) so if you haven’t and want to do this tag then you can, I TAG YOU! Please link back to this post so I can read your answers (I would love this!)


1. The best book you’ve read so far in 2017…

gardenia-cover

SOOOO MANNNYYY GOOOOD BOOOOKS! LOL! Almost all of these on this tag are 5 star reads for me (unless I noted my disappointment). I had a couple sleeper hits that didn’t find a place on the rest of the list that I thought I would mention…

The Problem with Forever coverGardenia by Kelsey Sutton

Review on why I love it here!


The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Review on why I love it here!


2. Your favorite sequel this year…

Dark Tempest cover

I have a confession to make… I don’t read many sequels *cringe* Sequels easily disappoint me and it makes me have commitment issues… *shrug* (#sorrynotsorry) Yes, my series graveyard is LARGE but i do have a running list of second books I’d like to get to… anyway I have read three sequels this year and one was 5 star (YAY! I have a winner…)

Dark Tempest
Red Winter Trilogy #2
by Annette Marie

Review on why I love it here!


3. A new release that you haven’t read but really want to…

Bad Romance cover

I sooo badly wanted to read this as an ARC as I could sense that I would love and adore this contemporary YA. I actually enjoy messy relationship stories* and the reviews from those who DID get an ARC have pretty much say I was right. I’m on a book ban so much wait (patiently, not so patiently) for my local library to get it in. (*not so secret vice)

Bad Romance
by Heather Demetrios
Published June 13th 2017
by Henry Holt and Co.

 


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year…

Daughter of the Burning City cover

I wrote a Top 10 Tuesday post about my most anticipated 3rd-4th quarter 2017 reads… but I was able to get some of them as ARCs so I am megaly looking forward to them…

One I was refused on is this one about: A darkly irresistible new fantasy set in the infamous Gomorrah Festival, a traveling carnival of debauchery that caters to the strangest of dreams and desires.

Daughter of the Burning City
by Amanda Foody
TBP July 25th 2017
by Harlequin Teen


5. Your biggest disappointment…

Strange the Dreamer cover

When expectations are high even though a book isn’t a total bomb in your eyes you are still terribly disappointed… This was true for me for a couple books this year. One book disappointment was Strange the Dreamer. I didn’t hate it but it could have been vastly improved with some edits. My review is coming soon…

Labyrinth Lost cover


Another book disappointment was Labyrinth Lost. Come on there were brujas, a fantasy world with other creatures and races plus a debt to pay and some potentially incredible relationships. All a disappointment on some level. Awww, I just really dislike it when I can’t root for a book that has such massive potential (diversity + culture is a win for me when done well *crying*)

Labyrinth Lost
Brooklyn Brujas #1
by Zoraida Córdova

Review my reasons here!


6. Biggest surprise of the year…

The Cilantro in Apple Pie cover

This book’s cover was totally puzzling to me. Other that the fact it feels very contemporary and friendship-y it has zero to do with this book. I actually chose to read despite the odd cover. It’s not horrid but in a world with such perfectly stunning covers this is a disappointment. The title is very cerebral which isn’t to say that it doesn’t fit but only it wasn’t banked on with a gorgeous cover to back it up. And tbh a terrible cover typically = subpar story… BUT that is NOT the case with this book!

The Cilantro In Apple Pie
by Kimberley Nadine Knights

Review on why I love it here!


7. Favorite new-to-you or debut author…

The Alchemists of Loom cover

I just finished my first book by Elise Kova, a YA fantasy author and I LOVED it!! I was really surprised by how much I got into it as the book felt almost like an adult book but sans flaws. I haven’t written my review yet, but it is another one that is coming soon… She has another YA fantasy series whose world is so popular she’s even written a spin-off prequel series! (This is definitely an author to watch (an I can’t wait to read the sequel later this month!)

The Alchemists of Loom
Loom Saga #1
by Elise Kova


8. Your new fictional crush…

strays-cover

There are too many to name and if you see a book with one of your crushes on my list then I’m probably also loving him (or her too!) I actually thought about putting Kady from Illuminae here but I realized there was another book I read this year with a cast that I was crushing on and wanting to know more… Lindsey took up a lot of the story space (which is as it should be) but by the end I was wanting the sequel and a lot of that had to do with Tyler, Harrison, Artie, Davis and B!

Strays
by Sadie Munroe

Review on why I love it here!


9. New favorite character…

Illuminae cover

Okay so I probably didn’t fool you but Kady still made the cut for me this year! I loved the characters in The Alchemists of Loom (see above) but this girl stole my heart and its probably because I didn’t really like her from the get go. I came to love her the more I read about her and her reasons and her determination to stay true to who she was. Then that ending… she grew up but didn’t change. Review to come, hopefully this month too…lol!

Illuminae
The Illuminae Files #1
by Amie Kaufman


10. A book that made you cry…

Prophet of the Badlands cover

I love dystopia series but they have been rather disappointing to me lately and I’ve focused on fantasy quite a bit this year. I did read the first of one series that just about ripped my heart out! The feels were incredible, especially at the end of the book. I fell in love with Althea the 12-year-old protagonist and her cause not to hurt anyone even those who deserve it. The happy ending wasn’t contrived at all but totally fit this little girl…

Prophet of the Badlands
The Awakened #1
by Matthew S. Cox

Review on why I love it here!


11. A book that made you happy…

Cinder cover

There was a series that I have been highly anticipating and which many in the book blogging community urged me to read… I finally have and while it wasn’t a perfect book it made me quite happy to read the rest of the series (which I look forward to greatly!) I’m going to be writing the review for it later in July and two Goodreads group I belong to, YA Book Bloggers and Forgotten YA Gems are going to talk about it this month (so excited for this!) If you want to participate head over to Goodreads to check them out.

Cinder
The Lunar Chronicles #1
by Marissa Meyer


12. Your favorite book to movie adaptation that you’ve seen this year…

Howl's Moving Castle poster

I’ve heard only good things about the book, Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones though I don’t remember reading it as a teenager. I love Studio Ghibli animations for the most part as I started watching them this year and I fell in love with this adaption in particular. I have no idea if it remains true to the story or not but I do want to read the book soon if I can squeeze it in!

Howl’s Moving Castle
Howl’s Moving Castle #1
by Diana Wynne Jones

Howl’s Moving Castle
directed by Hayao Miyazaki
animated by Studio Ghibli


Normal People Scare Me13. Favorite book post you’ve published this year…

Well I recently wrote my first discussion post about own voices… While I was anxiety riddled writing it I was also motivated to do so by another member of the lovely book community and her inspiring post! You can read it and leave your own thoughts here…


The Bone Witch cover

14. The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year…

I totally picked up this book due to it’s gorgeous cover… while I wasn’t as wowed by the protagonist I totally fell for the world the cover inspired.

The Bone Witch
The Bone Witch #1
by Rin Chupeco


15. What are some books that you need to read by the end of the year?

I totally wrote a post about series that I’ve got the read ASAP that has all my must reads that aren’t coming out this year… You can also click through to my anticipated 2017 3rd-4th quarter TBR. I’m also excited for some of the ARCs I have received:

Zero Repeat Forever cover The Last Namsara cover The Dragons of Nova cover Rebel Seoul cover


It was so fun to hit goodreads and evaluate the first 6-months of 2017! I didn’t expect some of these to end up where they are… plus I learned I have a ton of reviews to write and schedule!! I’ve got to get to work…

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

13 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Freakout Book Tag”

  1. I need to read the Problem with Forever! And I have heard mixed things about Strange the dreamer now- but I’m kind of glad about that cos I think then I won’t go in with such high expectations, only to have them dashed (I hope!)

    1. I love books about orphans so I adored Problem with Forever… but it is high school, some can take or leave that… I agree I read Strange the Dreamer because she’s creative but I was glad I wasn’t hyped over it! Thanks for sharing ❤️

  2. I so want to read Bad Romance as well! I also need to get around to Gentlemen’s Guide to Vice and Virtue (!!!), THUG (!!!), and a LOT more. *cries* Daughter of the Burning City is another anticipated release of mine as well! Along with Warcross and Wonder Woman. I was a little disappointed by Strange the Dreamer because INSTA-LOVE and AGH I need to read The Alchemists of Loom!

  3. Love your answers, Dani! I really want to read Bad Romance as well, especially after loving I’ll Meet You There by the author 🙂 And YAY for Cinder, it is such an amazing book, isn’t it? 🙂

  4. YEEEEESSSSS DANI. I’m so glad you liked The Alchemists of Loom! Elise Kova has said herself that this one is an adult series but it feels like a YA book aka it has some YA-crossover elements 🙂 I can’t wait to read your review on it!

    1. I read something to that affect too… I was confused because I was told it was YA and it’s labeled as such but she said it was adult too…? LOL, I’m just glad it didn’t read like most adult fantasy I’ve read. Thanks for clearing that up Jackie!

Let's talk in the comments...

