Discussions, Reading Challenges

Reading Challenges 2017 // 2nd Quarter Update

Reading Challenges…yay…!? Well the 2nd quarter is done and I wanted to see how I did so far this year… it’s been wild, fun and I’m appreciative of all the books that I am able to read! BUT I have not concentrated on these as I probably should if I wanted to truly accomplish them. Still I picked some fun challenges so check out how I’m doing…


Backlist Reader Challenge graphic

The Backlist Reader Challenge 2017 is a year-long challenge for all those older books that have been piling up on your TBR pile and list — not just the ones you own, but the ones you’ve been wanting to read for a while now. Check out all the info here…

My goal is to read 24 books from my tbr list on Goodreads and many should crossover to the Library Love challenge… This should be totally doable as I have so many books to catch up on that I want to read this year!

The Glass Republic (read January)… reviewed
Crocodile on the Sandbank audiobook (read January)… reviewed
Cinder (read April)…review coming!
Illuminae (read June)…review coming!

This was harder than I thought! I read a lot of books at the beginning of the year that I added in 2016 but they were published that same year (and the requirements say published BEFORE 2016…) I have a growing list of books to start this year that were definitely published pre-2016 and have a couple planned for this month!


Library Love Challenge graphic

The Library Love Challenge 2017 is a year-long challenge to show support for your local library as well as save you bundles of money by loving the books at your library. Check out all the info here…

My goal is to read 36 books from my library (which is actually too many, lol, what was I thinking!) At 3 books a month and having been knee deep in ARCs the last 6 months I’m not likely to meet that goal but I may get close…

Crocodile on the Sandbank audiobook (read January)… reviewed
Rebecca audiobook (read February)… reviewed
The Girl Who Drank the Moon (read March)…review coming!
Borderline (read March)…review coming!
The Problem with Forever (read April)…reviewed
Cinder (read April)…review coming!
Labyrinth Lost (read April)…reviewed
Gilded (read May)…review coming!
Tuesday at the Castle (read June)…review coming!
Strange the Dreamer (read June)…review coming!
Illuminae (read June)…review coming!

I may be able to read another 12 books from the library by the end of the year… I actually can cheat though and count many of the picture books that I read with my nephew Boo, shhhh, I won’t tell if you don’t!


Dystopia Reading Challenge 2017

The Dystopia Reading Challenge Bingo 2017 is a year-long challenge to read books in the dystopia genre. (Which is my favorite after the fantasy genre!) Check out all the info here…

My goal is to read 11-15 dystopian books to earn the Revolutionist badge. Which I have almost reached! Now to fill out the bingo card… no bingo yet but I did put down a chip for each book!!

June 2017 Dystopia Bingo Card

Non-US Author (British)… Dragon’s Green (read May)…reviewed
Great villain… Black Dawn (read May)… reviewed
One Word Title… Subversion (read April)… reviewed
2017 Release… Enslavement (read April)… reviewed
Retelling… Cinder (read April)… review coming!
Non-YA… Daughter of Ash (read April)… reviewed
Magic Powers… Prophet of the Badlands (read April)… reviewed
Kick-Ann Rebel… Island of Exiles (read February)…reviewed

I think bingo is totally do-able as is 3-5 more dystopian books! I may actually accomplish this challenge!! And most of the books have been posted which is so good…


New to Me Challenge graphic

The New to Me Reading Challenge 2017 is a year-long challenge for all about pushing your boundaries and trying something new! An author, a series, a subgenre, etc. Check out all the info here…

My goal was to read 50 books that are in some way new to me. I did them as firsts because all firsts are new to you… not sure if that fits exactly but I’m going with it because it’s orderly and I like it! I felt this was very do-able, lets get to the list…

First Trinidad & Topago hailed Protagonist… The Cilantro in Apple Pie
First Royal Siblings… Black Dawn
First Korean Mythology… Gilded
First Kamigakari “goddess” Protagonist… Red Winter
First Historical set in 1970s Canada… Fall in One Day
First Mexican Mythology…Labyrinth Lost
First time reading book #3 First… Remember Me Forever
First Logging Camp Setting… Subversion
First Slow Burn Romance… Enslavement
First Crippled Protagonist… Diadem of Death

First Cyborg Protagonist… Cinder
First Naked Protagonist… Daughter of Ash
First Athletes AND Nerds in One… Don’t Kiss the Messenger
First Adoption… The Problem with Forever
First No Feet Protagonist… Borderline
First Paper Witch… The Girl Who Drank the Moon
First Solved Cold Case… ASP of Ascension
First Bullying by Sister… NemeSIS
First Yokai Fusion… Aisuru
First Spy… Proof of Lies

First serial killer… Gardenia
First classic on audiobook… Rebecca
First book club suggestion… Jonathan Livingston Seagull
First re-read as an audiobook… Crocodile on the Sandbank
First dossier of hacked documents… Illuminae
First dragons as a race… The Alchemists of Loom
First librarian protagonist… Strange the Dreamer
First cartographer protagonist… Tuesdays at the Castle
First time reading book #2 First… The Glass Republic
Present & Future of Protagonist told at the same time… The Bone Witch

As you can see, VERY do-able! Here are my first 30 of the 50 and I haven’t talked about the typical debut authors or first time reading them (which is almost all of them so this method was a LOT more fun!) I’m sure to find 20 more unique to me aspects…


Not the best, especially reading from my backlist but the more fun challenges are well under way. Also I WAY overestimated how many library books I could read…oops. I love seeing what other book lovers are reading and how they feel about their latest reads… please feel free to friend me on Goodreads!

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

9 thoughts on “Reading Challenges 2017 // 2nd Quarter Update”

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of challenges that you’re taking part in this year – collectively you seem to be doing really well. I should participate in the Backlist TBR challenge next year, since I have so many books I’ve had on my shelf from 2013-2014 that I should’ve gotten to much sooner, ha. Good luck with them all in the second half of the year. Hope you achieve your goals. ❤

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

  2. Oh darn it, this reminds me I also participated in challenges which I am yet to complete. I better start working on that!!! *panics*
    Please excuse me, I loved it. You have done well, so great job partner!

  3. Gosh, you took part on so many challenges! That would’ve been so much pressure if I was in your shoes, for sure. 😛 Hopefully the second half of the year will grant you completion of all these challenges! 😀

Let's talk in the comments...

