A Month in Summary, Discussions

Wrapping Up June’s Passing

What a month it has been! I can’t help but want to look back on my first planned posting schedule… it was hectic, overwhelming and exhilarating all at the same time. I’ve has so much support this month and am so grateful to everyone!! Come check out June with me and see what I have coming up in July…

Watercolor Dots A Month in Summary Logo

Books Read This Month

I managed 8 books again this month by the skin of my teeth though… two were over 500 pages so almost like 2 books at once but two books were under 300 pages so it all balanced out. It was an odd month though with a lot of middle grade (which I typically don’t read that often) and only 2 reviews were posted. 3 books were actually from my TBR list though (which I typically don’t read down that fast either!)

The Alchemists of Loom cover Illuminae cover Strange the Dreamer cover Slathbogs Gold cover - Adventurers Wanted #1

The Alchemists of Loom by Elisa Kova // 5 stars – review to come soon!
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff // 5 stars – review to come!
Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor // 3 stars – review to come soon!
Slathbog’s Gold by M.L. Forman // 5 stars – My brother’s favorite series!

The Dragon Orb cover Immortal Fire cover Tuesdays at the Castle cover Beatrice Zinker Upside Down Thinker cover
The Dragon Orb by Mike Shelton // 3 stars – reviewed here
Immortal Fire by Annette Marie // 5 stars – reviewed here
Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George // 5 stars
Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker by Shelley Johannes // 4 stars

Next month I have a ton of incoming ARCs… The Dragons of Nova being #1 on my list! Plus The Library of Fates which I’m reading now! I want to cram in between The Bone Season but I’ll have to see, if I don’t get into it I may move on quickly. Sometimes I’m a faster reader and sometimes I’m just not feeling it (a reading slump? idk…)


Memes and TagsMerida princess

This month I participated in my first tag which was soooo FUN! I have been tagged in another about the mid-year that I will post soon…

The New Disney Princess Book Tag

Top 10 Tuesday

Top 10 Tuesday: Manga Series To Start
Top 10 Tuesday: Great Potential Dads
Top 10 Tuesday: Book Series to Read ASAP

Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Side Ships, Random Style
Top 5 Favorite Anti-Heroes from YA
Top 5 Hate to Love Ships, K-drama Style

I also had tons of different book publicity centered on offered books and authors I was interested in. (Are these types of posts annoying? I had a few pile up on me at the end of the month… Personally I like hearing why authors chose that route in their story…)

I tried some new memes which were fun: Standalone Sunday (a review of a standalone book), #ARCstravagaza (loved this one! So fun and my first bookstagram attempt… I will be participating more!), If & Then Thursday (for some reason graphics were hard on this one…). I’m also going to read and review more diverse books and note them as “diverse reads” like with my Labyrinth Lost review.

Fantasy Discussions Featured

Fantasy Chats & Lists

Book Characters Duel, Let’s Fight
Favorite Magic Systems
Fantasy Cultural Wishlist

I love fantasy so I’m thinking about concentrating on some chats and lists posts that would all be centered on that genre… I did it this month and think it was fun, but I want to do more chats too…

Last but not least my Guest Post Author post detailing my first 6 months of experience!


Accomplishments (Go me!)

I wrote my first discussion post! It was totally inspired by May’s post and I feel like I’ve caught the discussion bug so I’m going to prepare at least another one next month. Thank you so much for everyone who commented… everyone’s perspective was so enlightening to me! If you missed it then please check it out and add your thoughts!!

I finished setting up my Features Page about mid-month which was so great! It really helps me more than visitors but I hope it makes my posts more accessible. I’ll keep updating it as I add new memes and original feature posts (of which I HAVE SOME IDEAS!!) I’m excited to write some posts that are geared toward my strengths!

On Thursday I made a lot of headway on my Reviews by Genre Page. I’m going to be adding a bunch of reviews and it’ll be handy (for me) to see what sorts of books I tend to read more than others. I thought it would be great for new visitors to check out if we share similar tastes and what I think. My take on other bloggers Reviews A to Z!! Check out the graphics (see I’m using my skills, lol!)

Kdramas Banner

NEXT UP… setting up my K-drama Page so that Hallayu Wave newbies can find information on how to take the plunge! I also want to do some drama reviews and highlight some of the eye candy that make dramas so fun… look forward to it!


What do you think about my second wrap up post? I added book covers and other graphics to make it fun! (Thanks everyone who suggested that, it is sooo much better to me!) Next month will be filled with reviews and some new original content posts (I think…hope… am determined to figure out and write by the end of the month!)

Dani Signature

16 thoughts on “Wrapping Up June’s Passing”

  1. I really need to read The Dragons of Nova, I really loved AOL.
    I agree this post is much BETTER and thank you for including images (LOVE THEM).
    I love how you broke it down, it makes so much easier to read!
    Great post partner! I am kind of sad June is over, I had so much fun being partners with you! I am still going to read your great posts! ❤

  2. Looking forward to your thoughts on Strange the Dreamer as well as Illuminae (I READ THIS ONE!!!!!!!) 😀 Aidan ❤ I definitely think the structure of this wrap-up just got 100000% better with all those visuals included! 😉 Wish you an awesome month of July, Dani! 😀

  3. Oh you had a lovely reading month, Dani!! I’m eager to read your reviews for Illuminae and Strange The Dreamer. I have read the first one and loved it despite all odds ahah ; I only heard fantastic things about Strange The Dreamer, so I can’t wait to hear what you thought of it 🙂 Hope you’ll have a lovely month! 🙂

  4. I love all the graphics you put in here! (BTW Your graphics are AMAZING AND I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.) I’m reading Illuminae (with Jackie) this month and I’m so excited! Good to hear you enjoyed it. And yay for writing your first discussion post! I’ll be looking for that discussion this month. 🙂 Yay for original features!

  5. You’ve had a wonderful reading month! I’m so happy to hear that you loved The Alchemists of Loom yaaaayyy!!!! And I’ll be reading Illuminae in July which I’m super excited for! I’m curious about the format of the book 😊

Let's talk in the comments...

