Book Blogger Hop, Discussions

Book Blogger Hop: Book that Changed Me

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop (Final)

Week six of my Book Blogger Hop adventure… I wrote my first discussion post about #ownvoices, please check it out if you missed it, I would welcome your feedback! This meme really helped me to hone talking about one subject and keeping it centered on topic… in the following months I probably will not participate every week, but I so appreciate all the bloggers that participate and I will drop in one your blog when I can!

-Q-

Name a book that changed your life.

(submitted by Kristin @ Lukten av Trykksverte)

-A-

The Deathlands series by James Axler.

Deathlands - Sunchild coverYou probably don’t even know this series nor have you ever heard about it before. Browsing at Barnes & Noble one day I came across a paperback that sounded intriguing to me and I sat down and consumed it right there in the store! Wow! This group of characters totally won me over and I was eager to read more after Sunchild… Set in future America I loved the description of a ravaged Seattle with mega-dangerous plants. The plot kept me on the edge of my seat and ended in a compelling way.

Read when I first graduated from high school I was NOT an adventure lover nor did serials (this was book #56) appeal to me. And even though this story arc ended it was clear there were many more adventures I had missed out on. As I found more books in the series I was startled and amazed at how consistent each book was so that no fact was ever wrong about our companions and their weapons. It was the first time I started to think about the facts in a book and what it means to be a writer.

As I work on my own series many of my loves (that come from the Deathlands series) have been plowed into my writing. Adventure, traveling, a core group each with their own trials along the way, battles and defending oneself, survival in a dangerous world. As well as inspiring a love for sci-fi details, a post apocalyptic setting and fantastical creatures and monsters. The group is made up of an older man from the past, the leader’s young son, an albino youth, a bi-racial couple, an alpha male and fierce female! While I’m careful to only be inspired by these adventures it’s amazing how these tropes have so powerfully affected what I love about a story. Really the only thing they are missing is dragons!!

Dani Signature

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Book that Changed Me”

  1. Holy moly…. There’s SOOO many books in this series. I almost fell out of my chair when I looked up the list!! It definitely sounds like a fun series though, and I’d definitely keep an eye out for this series. Books that change people’s live one way or another will always intrigue me hahah 😀

    1. Funnily I’ve read A LOT of that long list… I love the ones written by the guy who took over for the real Axler (or rather the guy who died) he wrote them for a long time before leaving the series for another one. When it became random other authors the story went odd places, the best place to pick them up is used book stores! 👍🏻🌈 No hurry as they really are fluffy action fun…

  2. So this book had everything in there? HOW CAN YOU MISS DRAGONS???? THEY ARE THE BEST!!!!

    Your right I have never heard of this series but I am not sure if this is really my type tbh! But I am glad you enjoyed it so much! 🙂

Let's talk in the comments...

