Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling Thursday: A Wave of Yellow

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is to choose a book that has originally a yellow cover. For some reason these are my favorite cover topics!! So yellow was kind of hard though… but it was fun looking back at my read shelf to find this book… in fact I’ll post a review soon as I watched the movie and want to compare the two (so look forward to it!)


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Add to GoodreadsCassie and Zombie are two survivors of an alien invasion that came in 4 waves. Wave 1 was an electromagnetic pulse to knock out the power. Wave 2 was to wipe out coastal cities and drop population numbers so that Wave 3 a virus could decimate them. If that is not enough the surviving humans know that any human they come across could be a silencer (Wave 4), an alien that looks and acts like a survivor but whose objective is to wipe out their contemporaries. I definitely read this book because they were making a movie adaption (I love comparing the same story in two different mediums) and of course, I love post apocalyptic! Aliens feature in this genre a lot (if humans aren’t just killing each other) so as a result I’m an alien fan too…


The Fifth Wave cover

 

The original cover was quite compelling. After having read the book I think it is spot on. Most of the book happens in a forest and the golden light reflects the different age the aliens have ushered in. Of course this is not the future anyone wanted but it could mean a golden refining of the characters who survive.

The Fifth Wave movie coverThere is a movie cover as well as a tie in. I don’t really like the gray design though in the upper left there is a count down of the waves which is a nice touch. I did like how they kept the title the same for those who may have already purchased the book so won’t rebuy it.


The Fifth Wave Indonesian cover The Fifth Wave Lithuanian cover

The worst covers were the designs that tried to go away from the golden tone. Design wise the gold color was spot on for the series and drew you in. The red Indonesian cover is not badly designed but with regards to aliens feels like it is going to be about Mars. The blue Lithuanian cover feels old fashioned and not at all like it is going to be about a military installation so much as camping for survival (which strictly is true but deceives you about the story arc as a whole.)


The Fifth Wave Finnish coverThe Fifth Wave Croatian coverThe best cover to me was the original cover, as the golden color really sold itself, so I felt I should mention two others that use that design element to great affect: the Croatian and Finnish covers.

The Croatian cover comes closest to beating out the original cover with it’s simple but modern texture on the title. It just feels so now… The Finnish cover is the exact opposite with an old-fashion sci-fi feel to it that is compelling in its own way and again the typography is quite compelling.


The Fifth Wave Chinese cover I also quite liked the dark tone of this Chinese cover! With no electricity this is how the world, particularly the city would feel like. I feel the typography is excellent and would be even more compelling in person! I really liked the joint American letters and Chinese characters as a way to say that it came from the West right off…

All the best covers touched on some element of the story that really spun the blurb in a totally different way from each other. This time the covers may well reflect the different cultures that the publishers are trying to sell to!


There were so many great covers for this book! Who knew?! Which is your favorite cover? Are you attracted to the red or blue cover? Did you read this book? The series? Is it worth reading book 2?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

10 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: A Wave of Yellow”

  1. Wah, that Chinese cover is pretty sick. I however do prefer the original cover compared to the rest, but this feature always manages to surprise and remind me of the insane number of variations that exists out there!

    1. The Chinese would present the story as one with no hope using that cover, lol! The golden original just has it all… I don’t do the feature every week because I feel it would be tiresome but I do enjoy it! Thanks for appreciating it Lashaan! I do it because I love it but it’s great I have someone else checking in on it!

  2. I have not read any of these books or watched the movie tbh. I have been meaning to though and that makes me question how many yellow covers I have on my shelf? I don’t think I have to many tbqh

  3. Lovely post, Dani! I have read the first two books in this series, but not the finale yet – I heard that it was a bit disappointing, and I was already disappointed by the second installment…SO I’m really in no rush ahah.
    I really like that Chinese cover! 🙂

Let's talk in the comments...

