Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling Thursday: Summer in Space

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is to choose a book because Summer is here! In other words choose a book you want to read this Summer. I knew right away which book I wanted to feature here because I find the available covers so odd! In fact, I’d never read this book without a slew of recommendations because the covers don’t work for me…


The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Add to GoodreadsAmong a crew of wormhole builders, humanity is a minor species. A patched-up construction vessel hops from planet to planet, this is an everyday sort of ship, just trying to get from here to there.Nine of the most ordinary characters have a story to tell on their way to the job of a lifetime. Every voyage leaves there mark… I don’t normally read adult sci-fi books anymore as they tend to not focus on character so much as plot and themes. This ones sounds like its ALL about character and culture and world building!


The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet cover

The original cover was quite ugly… I don’t like the shit brown color nor the ugly space craft. It looks like an amateur designed it (unfortunately) and that reflects on the contents. I NEVER would have even read the synopsis on this book let alone picked it up.


The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet Czech cover The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet rerelease cover The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet rerelease ebook cover

The worst covers were ALL of them except the one that I liked below… The re-release was a more modern cover but I wouldn’t think it had anything to do with a space opera! Nor about characters from other planets and cultures. It is a great design and I love the use of the type but it has to fit the contents. The Czech cover is intriguing due to the odd spacecraft but is nevertheless ugly. Still I would have picked it up (even if I put it down again.) The reuse of the orginal cover’s art in the re-release of the ebook was a much better presentation… but why green?! Ugh. It is presented as a man’s book for sure (to me!)


The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet Romanian cover

The best cover to me was the Romanian one! I loved how it looks like portholes looking out on space so you know there is a ship but you don’t have to think about what an eyesore it is… Plus the colors are quite nice and hint as a multi-racial set of characters. The typography is not the best but I find alternate language covers don’t worry about type like they should.


Do you enjoy space operas? Have you read this book? How do you feel about adult sci-fi vs. YA sci-fi? What book do you want to read this summer? Is it’s cover pretty?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

17 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Summer in Space”

  1. Those covers are pretty horrible tbh, and I would never read any of them!
    That is a very interesting question, not sure if I would choose between adult sci-fi and YA?
    I really have no idea…let me come back to you on that one

  2. Ahhhh !! I’ve been wanting to read these book for a while but I never realized how ugly the covers were 😦

    (I totally agree with you though, the Romanian one is the only acceptable one 🙂 )

  3. Oh, such an awesome post idea. Yeah, the English covers are quite unfortunate for this one, although I did like the starry night one. But the brown one xD Jesus. I have to say, the Romanian cover really is good.

  4. Love this book, but I agree the original cover was pretty horrid, I read the one with the star-field on (the UK hardback). I hadn’t seen the Romanian cover before but I agree its the best of the bunch.

Let's talk in the comments...

