Memes and Tags, My Tags

The New Disney Princess Book Tag

The New Disney Princess Book Tag is my first time being tagged! The lovely book blogger over @ Caffeinated Bibliophile tagged me… Thank you so much! (Please check out her blog which is full of bookish love…)

The Princess Book Tag logo

RULES:

  • Mention where you saw the tag/thank whoever tagged you (me – Dani @ Perspective of a Writer!)
  • Tag Zuky’s and Mandy’s posts so they can check out the wonderful Princess fun throughout the blog world (Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews & Zuky @ Book Bum)
  • Play a game of tag at the end!

Snow White princessSnow White

This Book (like the Movie) Started It All
Favorite Debut Book From an Author

Entwined by Heather Dixon

A fairy tale retelling based on the 12 Dancing Princesses. The author felt like she was a dancer who really loves it and understood how it works its way into every aspect of your life. The Keeper was quite enchanting. I loved how there was this balance created between him being a creepy pervert and a magical gentleman who wanted to give these 12 princesses an opportunity to dance their grief away.


Cinderella princessCinderella

A Diamond in the Rough
Just Like Cinderella, You Either Didn’t Expect Much Out of This Character in the Beginning But they Turned Out to Be a Total Gem

Skylark by Meagan Spooner

Lark tends to make some really horrid decisions whenever it was most important for her to make a good one and sets herself back. Once she stopped being alone and found Oren Lark chose better. I loved and adored this boy and by the end was wanting Lark to throw caution to the wind and hare after this kid into the great unknown that is this future earth.


Aurora princessAurora

Sleeping Beauty
A Book That Makes You Sleepy or Just Could Not Hold Your Attention

The Serpent Sea by Martha Wells

This is the 2nd in an adult series about a kind of dragon. The first one was pretty good but the setup on this one was a lot of description (which was really well designed just like good fantasy) and the inciting incident didn’t make me care. It had happened so long ago and didn’t feel like an immediate problem. The worst thing was I literally felt sleepy… in fact a lot of adult fantasy make me feel this way…


Ariel princessAriel

Under the Sea
A Book With a Water/Ocean Setting

One Salt Sea by Seanan McGuire

This is one of the better books in the October Daye series. “Someone has kidnapped the sons of the Duchess Dianda Lorden, regent of the Undersea Duchy of Saltmist. To prevent a war between land and sea, Toby must not only find the missing boys, but also prove that the Queen of the Mists was not behind their abduction. “ The parts in the Duchy of Saltmist are just how you’d want a fae race who live in the ocean to be like… the descriptions are spot on and make you feel like you are there. If you love the idea of mermaid fae then this will be a winner for you!


Belle princessBelle

Beauty and the Books
Name a Book With the Best Bookworm/Book Lover

Library Wars: Love & War, Vol. 1-7 by Kiiro Yumi

This is not your typical book worm… Iku lives in a world where the government gets rid of books they deem unsuitable. She dreams of working for the Library Defense Force who are a military group that protect their libraries collections. For book lovers there are plenty of book related dilemmas and it’s hard not to root for Iku. There are instructors for her to emulate as she works to get hired and then is made a newbie employee! And boy does she have a temper that gets her into all kinds of trouble…


Jasmine princessJasmine

The Thief and the Princess
Name Book with an Unlikely Love Story (Either in Terms of Romance or a Book You Didn’t Expect to Love So Much)

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

This book could have fulfilled several different princess requirements but I really did not expect to like this, nor did I expect to give it 5 stars! This was due to the setup being a bunch of talking heads with only a few events. It’s not that I hated the first half of the book, just that dialogue was the supreme way the world building happened. Once we pass 50% the story events really pick up and the real story gets on its way. Nicholas, the love interest, is used to prejudice and laws keeping him from reaching his full potential as an African American sailor and his falling for Etta was totally unexpected as she came from the future!


Pocahontas princessPocahontas

The Real Life Princess
Name a Book that is Based on a Real Life Person You Want to Read/Have Read

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

“At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.” As a not entirely true story of this lady’s struggles it sounds so cool with a magical steed (what?!)… plus a friend of mine calls it “Wittiness overload.” (Thanks Nicay!) I really love when readers are falling left and right for a book’s characters!


Mulan princessMulan

The Princess that Saved Her Country
Name the Fiercest Heroine You Know

And I Darken by Kiersten White

(This may change as I started The Alchemists of Loom and Ari is quite fierce!) Lada is by far the fiercest female protagonists I’ve ever read! “She was contrary and vicious and the meanest child the nurse had ever cared for…In Lada she saw a spark, a passionate, fierce glimmer that refused to hide or be dimmed.” Lada drives the book with her anger and passion and brutality. She made me care little able the fact we wandered around aimlessly building up the personalities and the back history of our two main characters. I loved when she saved her brother: You are mine. This is not about a romance even though there is one, it’s about who is the strongest, bad assiest royalty out there…


Tiana princessTiana

The Princess With The Coolest And Most Diverse Crew
Name a diverse book whether it is a diverse set of characters (like Tiana’s group of Naveen, Louis, Ray, and more) or just diverse in general

Borderline by Mishell Baker

Millie due to a failed suicide attempt is a double amputee survivor and now she deals with prosthetics everyday. Not only that but she has borderline personality disorder which makes her emotions volatile and her behavior unpredictable. Talk about diversity… And her crew!! She lives in a dorm like situation with a bunch of rejects like herself that all work to patrol the fae that come over from their world to help the creative juices of humans. One is a little person, one was tortured in a box, another would sooner kill you than talk to you.


Rapunzel princessRapunzel

Let Your Longggggg Hair Down
Name the Longest Book You’ve Ever Read

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

This is just the books I’ve read since 2012 but still… 870 pages! Enough said!

 


Merida princessMerida

I Determine My Own Fate
A Book Where There is No Love Story/Interest or Isn’t Needed

The Cilantro In Apple Pie by Kimberley Nadine Knights

Rubie is admirable but what I liked was how well she worked with Gil… he is your classic rich white guy but in the best way possible. Instead of being a flat stereotype this guy was specifically himself and you won’t ever guess why he has problems with his dad. I loved his arc and how his friendship with Rubie helped him. Not their love affair, because if you are looking for romance it is few and far between. Their relationship starts really slow, almost mimicking the perfect romance, but clearly stopping at the friend line. Read my review here


Elsa and Anna princessesAnna & Elsa

Frozen Hearts
A Book in a Winter/Cold Setting

Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

This is set during winter time and she is always running out by herself… Leo is the proper young lady of an affluent 1870s family who lives with her married sister, Christabel. She’s also Mad Miss Mimic who when stressed randomly mimics another people’s voice flawlessly. It’s embarrassing and liberating… Leo was excellent from start, to growth, to finish, and the end was quite good. Another unexpected win and that cold wintery end! Perfect.


Moana princessMoana

How Far I’ll Go
A Character That Goes on a Journey

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

A road trip story, it seems very random but actually there is a method to the madness. I liked how Iz, Walt and Beck were worked into this journey and made the screwy quasi letter format make sense and gave the story structure. And if anything should wow in a road trip book it is the descriptions! Boy were they superior… even the rain hitting the ground was written specifically from Mim’s emotional POV. I loved that.

 


I tried to check and make sure you haven’t done this one but if you have then please leave a link in the comments. (Or if you don’t wanna do it, no problem!) I look forward to your answers… I tag…

Chelsea @ Spotlight on Stories

Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea

Sophie @ Blame Chocolate

Flavia @ Flavia the bibliophile

A Thousand Lives of Frankie Lovely

Imane @ Booksaccino

Mikaela @ The Well-Thumbed Reader

+ anyone else who would love to do this tag!

 

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

45 thoughts on “The New Disney Princess Book Tag”

  1. Great picks! By the way… I have yet to read any of the HP books (I’ve only seen the movies). I have all 7 books on my bookshelf though. I’ve been meaning to get to it whenever I felt like I had forgotten a good chunk of the story (from the movies). But man… whenever people remind me of how HUGE some of later books are, I wonder if I’ll ever really finish this series hahaha 😛

    1. My favorite HP is book 3 which is one of the smaller ones. I loved learning about Snape and Harry’s dad. (I won’t tell you more and give you a reason to read 😉) And I am cringing when I say I never read the last book, lol… my brother (the speed reader) read it and told me all about it. It is an amazing Alternate Britain series and I will forever admire it for what it has done for the book world!

  2. Thank you for tagging me! I love how well you put this together. The Disney graphic at the top looks so great. I admit that I have not read a single list on this book, but almost everyone is buried in my TBR 😉

    1. Sometimes I just like reading why the blogger likes or doesn’t enjoy a book! Thanks Danielle… the graphics were all from the two bloggers that created the tag (except for the princesses lines up which I got from Disney and added the missing newer princesses) 😁

  3. I haven’t seen this tag before– it’s really cute! I’m so glad that all the Princesses are represented, too– that makes me super happy.

    Dani. We don’t even remotely read the same books. Which makes me SUPER excited! This gives me a lot more fodder for my TBR list. Harry Potter is the only book on this list I’ve read. Can you believe that?! I can’t. Out of all the books on here which would you recommend for me to read first?

    1. Thanks Jackie! I thought this was a super cute tag too! I struggled as to who to tag since I had no idea who likes to do them or not!

      I’m glad you see me reading books you don’t know as a good thing… I’ve been hearing a lot how no one knows a single book I’ve listed 😭 Mad Miss Mimic came immediately to mind since I’ve been on your blog and seen a little of what you like. It’s a standalone (so far, I think?) The girl is really well written! There are a couple adult series in there too that were good.

      1. Thanks for the recommendation! It sounds right up my alley– I’ve added it to my TBR. 😀 I do love me a good well-written book. Sometimes, I feel like a crank through less-well-written books just because I love the characters. Oops!

  4. This tag is so awesome!
    Loved your answers 🙂 Also, if you enjoyed Library Wars, I’d suggest The Great Library trilogy! It’s not manga but it has a similar theme and is so, so good. I totally recommend it.
    Thank you for the recs and for tagging me! I’ll try to do it soon ❤

    1. The love triangle in And I Darken is very different, lol. And works well in the story. Lads though is actually almost a romance not needed character except she falls in love, lol, so it’s very different and because of that so compelling! ❤️

  5. What an adorable tag, I have heard some of these books. The only one I have read from your list is Passenger (which I thought was okay). I am yet again needing to check out the list. Thanks for the post! ❤

  6. Oh!! Such a fun tag! 😍 Thanks a lot for the nomination, I’ll get down to it as soon as I finish my exams.
    Loved reading your answers! I have never heard of Library Wars before but it definitely sounds like something I would love.

  7. Thanks for the tag! 🙂 I really enjoyed reading your answers and I’m totally with you on Lada being the fiercest heroine!

Let's talk in the comments...

