Features, Keep it or Skip it?

Keep it or Skip it? Part 2

My TBR shelf is over a 1,000 books strong and I just added two more series today… I know, I know I have a problem. To help me I created a “must read soon” shelf on goodreads with the books I want to read by the end of this year. And another shelf “to read someday” which are low priority books. Now I need your help as I sort through my tbr shelf to find the must reads…

keep or skip splatter

Regularly I’m going to hit up my TBR shelf and pick off six books that have been there the longest and examine the pros and cons to keeping them or skipping them. My first aim is to cut my TBR shelf down by a third. My second aim is to sort those I keep into three piles: read soon, “keep” or someday. Did I make the right choice?


The Hunchback Assignments by Arthur Slade

The Hunchback Assignments mini-coverThe first in a middle grade series that combines Steampunk, spying, and a fantastic Victorian London. Modo is a hunchback saved from the freak show due to his ability to transform his appearance. He and Octavia, another Association agent uncover a plot by the Clockword Guild.

keep splatterI have been having lots of success lately with middle grade novels. Steampunk books that are good are rare so I’m keeping this one. I also love the fact there are lots of odd and quirky side characters in this (according to reviews I scanned)… Plus the first villain sounds intriguing with making orphans into clockwork people.


Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Leviathan mini-coverAnother steampunk set in World War I. Prince Alek, heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run in a battletorn war machine with a loyal crew of men. Deryn is disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. When their paths cross they go on an around-the-world adventure together.someday splatter

I’ve heard a lot about this book and I do enjoy reading books that have hype surrounding them to examine why they are so popular. I’m not in a rush though… This steampunk sounds a lot more adult and less fun. The plot sounds very non-specific so there is not much compelling me to pick it up…


The Gentlemen’s Alliance †, Vol. 1 by Arina Tanemura

The Gentlemen's Alliance mini-coverA shoujo manga where a prestigious family gives their daughter away for a 50 million yen business loan. Haine, now an Otomiya, is appointed to the student council of her exclusive Academy where she struggles in the face of the president, Shizumasa Togu, aka “the Emperor.”

read soon splatterI haven’t read this yet because my library hadn’t gotten it yet the last time I check several years ago… but now they have it!! So I put volumes 1 and 2 on hold… manga are easy to read so I hate to let them go if I can find them easily… And having your family SELL YOU must be traumatic…


 Paradise Kiss, Vol. 1 by Ai Yazawa

Paradise Kiss mini-coverA josei manga, Yukari, a hard working student, is kidnapped by a group of  fashion mavens called “Paradise Kiss.” Suddenly she’s a part of the fashion world, guided by George, art-snob extraordinaire who turns her from a bookworm into an exclusive clothing model.

skip splatterI’ve always wanted to read a josei manga which are written for an older audience woman just to see the difference between them and shoujo… I read a review and they kind of spilled the beans about the end so now I’m over it. If josei means unhappy ending then I don’t need that…


Bloody Kiss, Vol. 01 by Kazuko Furumiya

Bloody Kiss mini-coverA two volume shoujo manga, Kiyo inherits her grandmother’s house and the two vampires, Kuroboshi and his servant Alshu living there! In fact Kuroboshi wants to make Kiyo his bride, meaning that she will be the only human he sucks blood from.

skip splatterThis sounds super cute and if I had access to it then I’d gobble it up quickly since it is only two volumes. Alas my library doesn’t have it and really these small volumes series are very shallow and under developed. They are almost practice for their manga-ka to get experience and are unexpectedly popular which propels their next series.


Trinity Blood, Vol. 1 by Sunao Yoshida

Trinity Blood mini-coverBased on light novels with an anime series these shoujo manga are about a dark and distant future where a war rages between vampires and humans. Ester and Abel Nightroad sent from the Vatican form a holy alliance to battle Gyula, the leader of the vampires.someday splatter

I totally watched the anime series with my brother who loved it! (It was quite good…) I wanted to read the manga and compare the two as I love adaptions and seeing how with different people making creative choices changes the end product… but my library doesn’t have it… so my wonderful blog idea will have to go to the back burner until I find a copy…


Not a lot of books this time… that was how my tbr list sorted this time. Manga are fun and easy to read and make a great palette cleanser after an intense book. Please weigh in on how you feel about the books above… Did I cut a favorite of yours? Did I keep a stinker? Is there a book I must read ASAP? Let’s chat!

Dani Signature

27 thoughts on “Keep it or Skip it? Part 2”

  1. Alright..I wasn’t even reading the article but the graphical ‘skip’ etc are cool lol . How did you make them ?

  2. I was curious to see what you would do with Leviathan. I’ve seen it before, a long time ago, but didn’t add it to my TBR. That author did however write A LOT of huge series, and is currently writing the Zeroes series too. Have you tried anything by Scott Westerfeld?

    1. I read the Uglies series which I got really into but then the last book made ZERO sense. It really bummed me out. The Zeroes series looks really cool with abilities and having to work with two other writers things should, for sure, make more sense (I know working with someone else makes you more aware of when something you’ve written is lacking!) are you going to read the Zeroes with your love of comic books?

      1. I actually have the first book on my shelf (found it.. for free.. a year ago hahahah) I’m not sure if I’ll be reading it anytime soon though, I’ve seen mixed reviews for it and I sometimes have… really high expectations for YA novels or else I’ll just find them lackluster. There’s also the fact that I don’t like the cover.. at all.. it’s sequels are worse. Then again, who knows? 😀 I might find some sudden unexpected urge to try it out in the near future! Are you going to try it out? I’d definitely push it up on my list of books to read next if I see positive reviews from fellow blogging friends! 😀

      2. I actually added it to my TBR as it does sound cool… I do like reading male YA authors especially the obvious comic lovers. They tend to be creative about abilities (which I love!) and don’t write romance the same way as female authors. I have a HUGE list of books I want to read this year though so probably not unless like you I’m motivated to move it up the list for some reason… (And I saw what you were doing there at the end, lol!! 😁) I know for sure July is full… I’m not sure if I can read more than 8 books in a month. 😭

  3. I’ve haven’t heard of any of any of these books! But I agree with you on the topic of manga – after finishing a long book, I always like to read a few chapters of my favorite manga. Do you like Fairy Tail? Or Death Note? Classic manga, I know, but old is gold.

      1. The Fairy Tail anime is horrible, the manga is a bit cheesy at times but still really good. And while the first volume of Death Note is a bit slow, it gets much better with the introduction of L and more complex characters. You should try it if you get the chance! 🙂

      2. Thanks! I know sometimes with manga you’ve got to give it a few volumes but I couldn’t work up the enthusiasm before, but I love recommendations! Good to know about Fairy Tail anime… we tried it and didn’t much like it, I always wondered about the anime! ❤️🌟🌈

    1. I know right… there are actually quite a few of these TBR features around! I believe it’s Jackie who does a down the TBR hole post… when I first saw it I had to check it out as it sounded like an idea I had for my TBR list. I think I even checked out Lia’s blog and saw she had completed her project (what’s the right word for it?! 😐) I double checked today and yup it was as I remembered. I’ve also check out the TBR group on goodreads who does the same thing and several TBR memes over in the blogger community whose posts are older than Lia’s posts…

      I’m really great at giving credit to the people whose meme’s I use on my own site. (You can check out my features page and see all the ones I picked up from other people!! 👍🏻❤️) My current TBR post is an idea of a feature I had from when I first started blogging (back in 2014) then I got burnt out… It was one of the first features I wanted to start when I came back so it was TOTALLY COOL to see other people HAD STOLEN MY IDEA FIRST! 😂

      My current TBR feature is different from your friends… I actually have no hope of completing it first of all. Second my focus is on finding must read books, I was hoping this would become a community post where other bloggers would weigh in on books they recognize. I realize I’ve not read A LOT of the books that other book bloggers find awesome.

      So there you go! You be the judge 👍🏻🌟❤️

      PS. Scott Westerfeld is hit or miss to me, but there are so few steampunk! So why not someday?!

      1. I think Jackie does some Down the TBR Hole posts, but it’s originally by Lia. 😛 And agh, sorry if it came out that I was accusing you for stealing any ideas! I was just observing that a lot of book bloggers seem to have the thought of “analyzing” their TBR haha!

        PS Yeah, I couldn’t read Uglies, but I read Afterworlds and enjoyed it! WE DEFINITELY NEED MORE STEAMPUNK.

      2. No problem May! I didn’t think you were accusing me but I wanted to be clear about my idea. It’s such a bummer when there are mixups between people because someone won’t explain. I thought it better to lay out the providence behind my version of TBR! As a writer myself idea stealing makes me mad as a hornet… thanks so much for your comments! ❤️

    1. Thanks Danielle! I love this little feature and feel like I’m doing something productive for my goodreads… (I think?) Well it’s now 2 less so I’m staying even at least…? A thousand TBR is not really something to brag about…

Let's talk in the comments...

