Memes and Tags, This Week's Appreciation

This Week’s Appreciation #8

This Week’s Appreciation is a weekly meme I host on Saturday morning to share blogger news and love. For each post I’ve pulled three things from the blog posts that I read over the previous week. It’s a fun way to showcase blogs I follow and share their posts! Feel free to participate…

Critical Reading for Writer-Book Bloggers

A guest post over @ Reading Through the Nights (which I featured recently) so resonated with me I had to share it! The diversity fanatic Christine over @ The Story Salve shared her thoughts on why learning to read critically will make you a better reader and writer. I loved “Reason #3: Reading critically helps even non-writers gain appreciation for the craft.” A couple friends told me this wasn’t possible for non-writers… There are a lot of WRITER-BOOK BLOGGERS out there that NEED to read this post!

Recommendations for your Hogwart’s House

From Aimal @ Bookshelves and Paperbacks, a Pakistani book blogger who lives in New York. She took a Harry Potter topic that was written by hundreds of book bloggers last week and made it epic! And I mean truly EPIC!! (Yes I used all caps and I MEAN IT!) She covered all four houses and her graphics are to die for and the books even better… What are you waiting for, go check it out!

Healthy Relationships in YA Contemporary

From Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books, who has a contemporary feature going on where she lists YA contemporary recommendations based upon different types. This week it’s healthy relationships which I thought was an excellent topic! She has others in her series like the friendships edition (another favorite of mine). If you are one of those fantasy lovers (like me) who needs these kinds of recommendations then these will have options for whatever contemporary you’re looking to try next…


That’s it for week #8’s edition of This Week’s Appreciation… What are your thoughts on being a critical reader? What is your Hogwart’s House? (I am split almost evenly between the 4 houses!) Do you read contemporary YA books often? Is this a “new” genre for you? Please check out these blogs, they are wonderful!

Dani Signature

13 thoughts on “This Week’s Appreciation #8”

  1. Wow, these are very special bloggers and blog posts indeed. I just read two of them and I am stunned and amazed by their beauty of words.

    I have tried Pottermore, and my results came out as Gryffindor? But maybe I need to take it again???

    And YES I do love contemporaries, it is one of my favourite genres. I am glad you featured it!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing my guest post! It really means a lot and I’m glad people were able to get something out of it. I feel so honored to have my stuff next to Aimal and Marie because I look up to both of them so much! ❤

  3. OH thank you so much for featuring my blog post here, Dani, it means so much to me that you enjoyed it and wanted to put it alongside these two other fantastic blog posts ❤ ❤ Also, you're split between the 4 houses? Wow, that's pretty cool ahah 😀

      1. Haha, well…you could have written a post about ALL of the houses, but well, I guess that would have taken quite some time to put together 😛

Let's talk in the comments...

