Book Blogger Hop, Discussions

Book Blogger Hop: Blog Organization

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop

Week five of my Book Blogger Hop adventure… I recently redesigned my blog and had to ponder this question when I chose a new theme so it’s fresh on my mind…

-Q-

How do you organize your blog in terms of what is in your side bar? Do you have categories and defined sections?

(submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

-A-

When I decided to redesign my blog I realized my theme at that time wasn’t working for me. Readers didn’t click through the different areas I had set up nor were they interested. I’m focused more on books this time so I didn’t need a lot of those areas. In my new theme there are three optional areas that are a big reason that I chose this one.

Really I focus on three different kinds of posts. Reviews of the books I read. Features of different sorts that recur each month or each week. Plus I love to share my fangirl love of k-dramas. So that is how I used these three sections. If you click on the Features box (or this link) you will see a banner for each of my regular posts and when you click the banner you will get a list of the most recent of that type of post! It’s really neat (and I worked on it a lot last week if you want to check it out!)

Blog front page
My last 10 posts are featured on my main page and it’s easy to click through the arrows to see what I’ve been writing about. Some weeks are filled with reviews and others with features. I’m still working on my Book Review page but it will be different sections setup exactly like my feature page. It’ll be so cool when I get it done!!

As for my widgets I try to make it easy to sign up to receive my blog posts. Since I use a static page instead of a blogroll for my home it made it easy to use the area at the bottom for these. I love twitter as my social media form of choice so that is in the center widget with a search and tag area to jump around my site. I also have a list of my most recent posts.

I’m actually thinking about ditching the recent post list since I have a blogroll now in my menu across the top… I could simplify this area at the bottom and make it simply my hello, twitter and follow information… It’s something to think about… *Please weigh in if you have opinions to share!! (*I’m trying to simplify and declutter my blog home page.)

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

14 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Blog Organization”

  1. Oh wow, I never really had any idea you had changed your blog design but I do admit that that your blog does look really good and it is getting easier to navigate.

    I personally love your recent post, I can see all the post you have published recently in one sweep and read them all.

    I am terrible with blog design idea’s but seeing you speaking about this makes me think I need to work on my own too. I just need to find the time too!

  2. I absolutely love your new blog redesign, I also had a blog redesign a year ago by another book blogger. And I try too keep my sidebars nice and neat, but I do need too tidy up a little bit more. Which I need too learn how to do that until than the sidebars has to stay the way it is for now. Have a great weekend, happy blog hopping. Here is my blog hop answer.

    http://katisbookaholicramblingreviews.blogspot.com/2017/06/book-blogger-hop-45.html#more

  3. I like your categories across the top and love the sub categories. Easy to find.

    Your design is different from most blogs, but I think folks will be able to find their way around.

    Looks good, Dani.

    Thanks for sharing.

    I hope this comment comes through, and Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

  4. This is a really interesting meme! I’m surprised I hadn’t heard of it before…

    I totally understand what you mean about how challenging it can be to find and appropriate layout. I’m glad you’re trying something new! That makes you braver than me, for sure. I like the way you have content chunked on the first page, but I really appreciate Blogroll. That’s personally how I like to find blog posts. I don’t want to do a ton of clicking.

    When you mention the recent post list, do you mean the scrolling headers at the top of the page? I also like that because it’s a one-click opportunity to find your most recent post. That said, it would be cool if I could click anywhere to find the post itself. Right now, I have to click on the title only. It’s a little thing, though. Overall, I love your layout. And your banners are ON POINT

    1. Thanks so much Jackie! I’m glad to hear that the blogroll is a good thing as I just added it! And it’s so nice to hear someone loves my banners! Yay, positive feedback is rare so you’ve made my day. ❤️

      I have the scrolling features plus I have a recent blog list at the bottom and the blogroll in the menu at the top (which you mentioned). I thought with a static page it’s a touch confusing where to find the posts so I provided several ways that are familiar. I wish I could do something about that clicking on the title only thing… 👍🏻🌟🌈

      1. D’aw. I’m glad! People need more positive feedback.

        Yeah– figuring out new themes is always a bit of a challenge. Don’t fret– it’s still really easy to navigate. I hope you find a version of this you like soon!

Let's talk in the comments...

