Discussions, Fantasy Chats & Lists

Favorite Magic Systems Fantastical

Fantasy is one of my all time favorite genres and I want to talk about it in a regular fashion… Chats and lists (lists, yo!) and all sorts of genre touching discussions! Fantasy Discussions FeaturedMagical realism is a hot topic in young adult books and at its core there is a magic system with which all the magic adheres… According the Wikipedia: “A magic system is a set of rules that magical effects follow in a fictional setting.” When I hit my goodreads shelves in preparation to talk about magic systems I found that many of the series I like didn’t really rely on a magic system so much as have paranormal events happen that fell into a general magic category.

My list of favorite magical systems ala this moment…


Adventurer’s Magic

Adventurer's Wanted Series

Adventurer’s Wanted Series by M.L. Forman

You must meet certain inner requirements in order to even interact with such magic. You won’t be missed because you aren’t really gone. No one else has seen the sign because only few are chosen. Instinct (those pesky inner traits) helps you to see what you need to do. This all works with your companion’s skills…


Blood Magic

October Daye Series

October Daye Series by Seanan McGuire

You inherit fae magic based upon which Firstborn bloodline you come. October is the daughter of Amandine who uses blood magic, specifically she can ride the blood. With this ability she can experience what happened to the dead by tasting their memories. The rider will feel their emotions and hear the thoughts of the dead.


Allomancy & Feruchemy

Mistborn series

Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson

Ability to enhance one’s abilities or store particular attributes inside themselves based on the metal they use. Some can only use one type of metal, a rare few can use all the types of metal, Vin is one of these few, she’s a mistborn.


Witches

A Wishcraft Mystery Series

A Wishcraft Mystery Series by Heather Blake

Darcy comes from a long line of witches that can grant wishes with a mere spell. Others in her world hail from other witch lines that enhance their trade. Florists, bakers and wedding planners are just a few that use a spell here and there.


Elements Magic

Elemental Series

Elemental Series by Brigid Kemmerer

Earth. Fire. Air. Water. To keep these elementalists in check they have elemental guides who police those with these gifts, if you don’t keep these in check and away from prying eyes they are stripped from you. But come on… Earth. Fire. Air. Water!!!


Celestial & Earthly Gods

Red Winter Series

Red Winter Trilogy by Annette Marie

Behind the scenes of our world are heavenly gods who descend into human hosts that are pure enough and have had their bodies changed through years of contact with their gods ki. Down on earth are the earthly gods who control the elements and manage the natural order.


What are your favorite magical systems? Which of their abilities do you desire? Do you have any suggestions of books featuring magical realism?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature


*I adapted this post from the group Hype or Like Friday on Goodreads where you can find the weekly topics and the book of the month… created by Jillian, Larkin, and Britt.

 

19 thoughts on “Favorite Magic Systems Fantastical”

  1. I love elemental magic so much, I have been lately getting in to a lot. I really loved Sherry Thomas’s series and I am yet to find more. And I think I love all types of magic systems, you can’t really limit yourself to one type now can you? Saying that I wonder if I have a favourite???

    1. Mistborn is like the epitome of magic systems. I highly recommend the Red Winter trilogy! I didn’t realize compiling is list that a lot of systems are… it happened due to puff ‘magic… ‘ when I read the definition of a magic system I had to cut some out…

      1. Absolutely!! Awesome!! hehehe yeah, I happen to be one of those people not to bothered with “puff magic” systems- but that is a perfect way to describe it and I can appreciate a good magic system!!

  2. I’m such a huge fan of elemental magic, and I want to implement a magic system in one of my fantasy novels. But the amount of work it takes the iron out all the kinks and details was a bit overwhelming.

    I’m a fellow writer new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    1. Yeah I’m blessed to write with a partner so you have double the ideas and also a sounding board and different opinions which all help to work out things like magic systems…

      As for advice for a book blogger… don’t take on too much too fast. I did that the first time and burnt up like hockey puck toast. The best way to get followers is to follow and comment on other people’s posts. It really is a community out there. Don’t be heartbroken when a post you’ve spent a lot of time on doesn’t get much feedback. It happens to everyone and you’ve got to keep moving. Do what you like. If it becomes too much a job you won’t be able to keep up the energy you need 🌈❤️🌟😁 I did not know I had that much advice inside me but I hope it helps! I’ll surely check out your blog!

  3. I really like reading books with unique magic systems. One of my favorite magic systems is in the Innkeeper Chronicles series by Illona Andrews and their Kate Daniels series.

    1. I’ve read the first two of their Kate Daniels series. I like them but I have to take breaks from urban fantasy sometimes. And I really like their On the Edge series. I’ll need to look up the innkeeper chronicles though… yay for unique magic systems… you know I didn’t even think of these series when writing this post! Thanks SOOOO much for sharing! 😁🌈

      1. I feel the same on Urban Fantasy I always have to take breaks between the books. I haven’t read the On The Edge series I’ll have to check it out!

Let's talk in the comments...

