Book Blogger Hop, Discussions

Book Blogger Hop: A Bookish Lunch

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop


Week four of my Book Blogger Hop adventure… I didn’t like last week’s question about bookshelves so I skipped it! I know blogger’s prerogative. I just couldn’t get up any enthusiasm for it. Be on the lookout for my own discussion…it’s been lingering with me and I’m almost ready to present!!  

-Q-

If you could have lunch with any living authors and/or book bloggers, who would you choose and why?

(submitted by Kitty @ Vicarious Bookworm)

-A-

These are my book bloggers… check them out, they rock it!

May @ Forever and Everly because she writes in ALL CAPS and I’m dying to meet her in person and because she loves mangoes. She is also a writer like me and *cries* it would be too awesome to be able to talk writer woes with her…

Jackie @ Too Much of a Booknerd because she lives in Germany where I LIVED for 4 years growing up. She also luuuvvvs romance as much as I do and understands my YA fiction love. AND she’s an English Major which I would love to hear all about…

These are my mega author guests… nobody would miss this luncheon!

Stephen King. As a writer who wants to become published you have to look to authors who impress you to get a sense of what it means to share yourself. A LOT of his writing advice makes sense and can be applied to yourself whatever kind of writer you are. While I’m not a fan of his genre I’ve read a couple of his books and can see why they capture so many hearts. His sense of pop culture and creating a world is insane and to speak to the man about it would be massive!

This author balances out Stephen King at the other end of the table so that we have two heavyweights who keep us talking (and not just goggling)…

J.K. Rowling. As a fan of the YA fiction genre I’ve got to go with the queen here. Besides Asia Britain is one of my favorite places on earth… I’d love to live in London if at all possible. So just talking to one of the most famous Brits ever would be incredible… I can pick her brain about ending a series so popular and how she handles the struggle to move on from her world. I’d also want to chat about the editing process and how she felt about having her work rushed to the presses. I’ve so admired how she’s taken on critics in the British media; she’s sure to be an author with opinions.

These are a couple of my favorite authors who I’d love to meet…

Anne Bishop. I’ve only read one of her series even though she was popular before it came along – The Others series. This is my favorite urban fantasy of all time and I recently read the last book with her characters Simon and Meg. To take what is common like vampires and werewolves and create something with the extreme creativity of The Others, that takes some mighty magic. And to get to gush about my favorite the Elementals to their creator has got to be akin to cake.

These authors are quite successful in their own right and mesh well with our mega-authors styles…

Rainbow Rowell. This contemporary YA author has some mega hits on her hands and seems to have nothing baring her way to the top. Fangirl and Eleanor & Park are two of my favorite contemporaries OF. ALL. TIME. She has this magic way of writing characters that feel like your average Joe or Mary Sue while being so uniquely themselves that you feel like they’ve got to be based on real people. With creativity in her arsenal it’ll be great to see her mix with these other creative authors.

I’m a simple soul, give me some of the best authors on earth and I’m happy… I’d meet with May and Jackie the night before so that we can fangirl about the coming lunch and totally concentrate on our author guests.

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

27 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: A Bookish Lunch”

  1. I’ve seen videos on Youtube of Stephen King at panels and man.. it would be sooo nice to be able to meet and talk with the guy. Have you read his non-fiction book about writing? I often see writers refer to it. 😀

  2. Those are some interesting points partner, and I need to see some of those bloggers and check those authors out (unfortunately I am yet to read their books, I know I am terrible).

    I cannot wait for your discussion, I am curious now 😀

  3. ooh so many awesome picks- I’d especially like to meet Rainbow Rowell- I just think she’d be a real laugh and so much fun to be around. Plus I think I have some actual questions for her, unlike a lot of authors who I’d just stare at slack jawed with awe 😉

  4. LOVE your post, Dani!! I’d be ECSTATIC if I could have lunch with J.K. Rowling, although I’d probably stammer and stutter and make a complete fool of myself, lol. Well, at first. Then I would settle down and try to have as normal a chat with her as possible. Of course, I mentioned her in my own BBH post.

    I don’t like Stephen King’s books, but I have to admit that, from what I’ve heard, he gives excellent writing advice. However, I would not be interested in meeting him. He even LOOKS scary! Lol.

    I’ve heard a bit about Anne Bishop, but now that you’ve mentioned she writes about vampires and werewolves, I would DEFINITELY enjoy having lunch with her!

    Rainbow Rowell is a VERY popular YA author. I wouldn’t mind meeting her, although I’m not that much into reading contemporary YA fiction.

    Thanks for sharing!! Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!! ❤ ❤ : ) : )

    1. Thanks Maria! I know JK probably made most people’s lists as her books are gateways to reading. I’m more interested in post Harry Potter but I do admit there are a few HP world questions I have…if you enjoy vampires and werewolves then I highly suggest her The Others series! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Ohhhhh my god! THIS IS SO SWEET! I’d totally want to have lunch with you and May and these super awesome authors as well! It’d be such a fun time! I feel so honoured to be mentioned among these wonderful people :’) thank you 💜

  6. What a great list! I would enjoy meeting all of the authors on your list. The Others is my favorite urban fantasy series too–I’m still behind though. I have two books left in the series to read. And J.K. Rowling and Stephen King seem like such great people. I really admire them. I have only read one Rowell book, which I loved. I am looking forward to reading more by her. Thank you for sharing! I hope you have a great weekend!

    1. You are in for a treat with the Others… I hesitate to say but the last book was not my favorite, I would read it and there are many good things about it but not the stuff of a final book to me. The second to last fits the bill! Thanks for sharing your thoughts! ❤️🌟🌈

  7. Agh, thanks for mentioning me! I’d love to meet SOOOO many bloggers, you included! And YAS JacKIEEEEEEEEEEE. ❤ She is amazing. JK Rowling is QUEEN and I honestly would die to meet her (and I would probably die WHILE that meeting???). And haha, I still need to pick up Rainbow's books!

  8. Welcome back to the Blog Hop this week….love your graphics at the top of the post. BEAUTIFUL!!

    What program did you use to make the changes?

    Great answer too. I would leave Stephen King at home for my lunch…LOL!!! He is too scary for me.

    J. K. Rowling would be good. I don’t know Anne Bishop or Rainbow Rowell.

    Thanks for sharing, and have a great weekend.

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

Let's talk in the comments...

