Awards, Memes and Tags

One Lovely Blog Award

Yay! I was nominated for my second award by Nancy and Kathleen the two lovely bloggers at Graphic Novelty² where they share their passion for graphic novels. I love dropping by and taking a look at their latest reviews.

The One Lovely Blog Award² is a great way to share a little something, something about you with your readers! Thanks so much for the award, please check out their blog!!

One Lovely Blog Award logo

Here are the rules should you choose to accept the award…

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog
  • Add the One Lovely Blog Award to your post
  • Share seven things about yourself
  • Pass this on to as many people as you like (max 15)
  • Include this set of rules
  • Inform your nominees

Now about me…

I’m learning Korean! You probably noticed the k-drama category on my home page… K-dramas are television shows that run in South Korea and they are so popular around the world that they stream them over the internet. You start out learning to read their Hangul (characters) and then move on to vocalizing them. Then you quiz, quiz, quiz yourself on vocab.

I’m a quarter Japanese! My nephew is a quarter Caribbean, a quarter Japanese and half a mix of white races. Neither of us look Japanese and he looks just like a little African American boy, lol. We both so identify with our Asian roots though! We read books together every week and you’ll start seeing reviews with his drawings…

I love fashion! I’m not quite a fashionista but I love jewelry and dressing up in classic but flattering styles. I have drawers full of necklaces and bracelets that coordinate with different outfits. Skirts and dresses are my favorite with lots of color, patterns and textures.

Besides K-dramas I love and adore manga, which is a Japanese graphic novel. I have read them quite extensively in all the different genres. My favorite is shojo which are developed for female readers though I also love quite a few shonen series like Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan, Tegami Bachi: Letter Bee and Psyren.

My favorite music is K-pop! (I know not that surprising…lol.) I’m totally in love with Big Bang and G-Dragon but I also love 2PM, Super Junior, CNBlue, VIXX, Block B, C-Clown, B1A4 and a slew of OSTs from different dramas. My favorite songs right now are Monster by Big Bang and GO CRAZY! (미친거 아니야?) by 2PM.

I’m writing a book! It’s about dragons and a ship of young adults that crash land on their planet. It focuses on a specific group from the ship and has multiple point of views. The plot has survival and exploration elements and the world is post apocalyptic fantasy with sci-fi undertones.

I love photography but am absolutely horrible at it! I took two photography classes in college and my professor despaired of me! Rolls and rolls of photographs that he didn’t feel were even worth developing (I did nevertheless! LOL). *Hides face in shame* I keep trying though… maybe practice will make perfect someday.

I nominate…

May @ Forever and Everly

Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea

Holly @ Nut Free Nerd

Aneesa @ Book Lover

Orang-utan @ The Orangutan Librarian

Lashaan @ Bookidote

I took a page out of Nancy and Kathleen’s book and chose the past couple commenters who I’d love to learn more about! Don’t feel pressured to accept if awards aren’t your thing or if you’ve done this one a thousand times already. You guys are lovely!

Dani Signature

Save

20 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award”

  1. This is sooo cool, and wow I had no idea you were writing a book. Can’t wait to read it.
    Haha..I love photography too..and it frustrates me most of the time especially if the pictures do not come as I visioned them. So annoying.

    Great post and thank you for the nomination! 🙂

  2. I once studied Korean as well 🙂 (Japanese too). I got pretty far in, like intermediate, but then it just didn’t stick with me, didn’t end up making a break like I did with Japanese. I can still speak Japanese (if I reviewed, I guess), but it would be harder with Korean. Both languages were so much fun though 🙂

    I used to like Korean court dramas! Unfortunately, when I was a teen, we didn’t have the internet yet, so I watched it on this Korean channel which we strangely had (which was very unlikely, given that I live in Eastern Europe.) So I could never finish a series cause they’d either stop showing it or I had to go somewhere, or it was weird times… gah! But I had started watching quite a few old age court dramas and loved them 🙂 all those costumes and traditions!

    1. It’s so cool to hear about your language journey! Japanese is so different from Korean sound wise you must be incredible to have known both at one time!

      I enjoy the court dramas too but now they have fusion dramas where they are set in historical times but have modern ideas in them… they are super fun! Lucky we can stream now… I would have totally fallen for them as a teenager if we had access!
      Thanks for sharing! ❤️🌟🌈

      1. Actually, nope, Japanese is very similar to Korean compared to other languages. They’re the most related out of all those (as much as it can be, cause all the related languages to Japanese have been dead for a long time). If you know your kanji, it’s easy, because about 40% of the words in both Japanese and Korean come from kanji, which means, systematically they will be the same. The same syllables that correspond to the same kanji will make up the same words. Teacher – sensei/sonseng(nim). Senpai/Sonbae. See? Same kanji for the first syllable. If you know the system, you save your memory from learning an extra 40% words 🙂 and there are LOADS of similarities with grammar as well, those two languages have a very similar grammar structure (which is backwards to Western languages in the same ways)

        Fusion dramas? Wow, that sounds interesting :0

      2. Wow! That’s fascinating! Japanese always sounds so hard to me… while Korean sounds beautiful and smooth… no wonder k-pop bands always go to Japan next… cause the language is easier to learn…?! Thank you so much for explaining that ❤️🌟🌈 it makes a lot of sense!

      3. Many Koreans learn Japanese at school, it’s like French or Spanish for English speakers 🙂
        And I think they go there just because it’s so close 😀
        I think Korean sounds so familiar to you because you listen and sing along! That’s one of the biggest things when learning a language 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for tagging me Dani! 😛 Love how you embrace them Asian roots and promote so much of their entertainment. I got so many friends who lived and breathed k-pop, anime and mangas and what not since high school. Lots of fun things to discover out there! 😀

  4. Thank you so much for nominating me, Dani! And oh, I didn’t know you were a quarter Japanese! My parents are both Thai, so it’s cool to meet other Asian bloggers. 😉 And ooh, I’d love to hear more about your novel, or anything about your writing! 🙂

    1. You are VERY welcome May! I saw you were a writer you on your May post and was quite excited too 😁 We’ve got to stick together, us wannabe authors! I’ve kept it on the down low on my blog, it’s my break from my book, lol. I look forward to sharing…

  5. That’s so cool that you’re learning Korean! Languages with different symbols always intimidate me because they seem difficult to learn, but it would be amazing to know them. Thanks so much for nominating me! ❤

Let's talk in the comments...

