Book Blogger Hop, Discussions

Book Blogger Hop: Parting with Books is such Sweet Sorrow

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop


This is only my second Book Blogger Hop… but it’s been fun so far to weigh in on the prompts! I’m excited to keep participating and sharing my thoughts.

-Q-

What do you do with books you no longer want? Do you donate them? Do you take them to a half-price bookstore? Does a friend or family member benefit?

(submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

-A-

Isn’t it so hard to part with books? It’s not just parting with a story and characters that you loved and went through such ecstatic ups and downs but it is letting go of doing so again. Many times out memories are richer than our original experiences and the same is true for the stories in books.

I’m not one for re-reading a book, not because some books aren’t worth it but because there are so many other worlds and stories to dive into, so while parting with books is sorrowful it’s also a little sweet as I anticipate the next story which will fill that book shaped hole…

I still have those books which I just can’t part with but I have had to thin my bookcases in the past. What we did was take those recent releases to half-price books. They rip you off but the books go to good homes. The ones they sneer at we donate to goodwill and other organizations.

I do let my book club have a pass at anything they may want to try out. My family, much to my dismay, do not share my taste in books except at the absolute fringe areas so mainly they are uninterested.

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

4 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Parting with Books is such Sweet Sorrow”

  1. Hey!

    Nice blog (: I just started mine up and was looking for a few relative friends in the book world! I have a Booktube channel too. Also, There is a giveaway currently going on and I will be posting more as soon as I finish editing a few videos.

    Thanks and I hope you like my blog! :*

  2. Oh boy… I can’t imagine the day I’d have to make room for more books. I have this “collector’s” personality and building up my own “library” is one of the perks of being the bookworm I am. I find it crazy how people are able to just.. give away the books they read, although there’s PLENTY of good reasons to do so (especially depending on your lifestyle). I just love “having” the book for myself and knowing that I COULD reread them if I wanted to, or have them to stay pretty on a bookshelf. I guess there will come a time where I’ll just get rid of all the.. less than 3-4 stars books so that my personal library remains a goldmine! 😀

    1. I totally have a collector’s personality too but brutally excised that from my personality… okay I’ll be honest, I didn’t totally get rid of my collections. I have my picture book collection and my Deathlands series, lol. There are some books too good to get rid of, but I now like to collect digitally so I can just always have my library with me. I guess it’s practicality vs. sentimentality. So I did brutality part with a lot of books but I get the bookshelves love, up until this cull I loved my bookshelves and would create “secret” rooms from closets or niches to store them all! Thanks for stopping by!

Let's talk in the comments...

