Memes and Tags

Book Blogger Hop: Books Clashing with Our Beliefs

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme with a prompt featuring a book related question that runs from Friday to Thursday, hosted by Billy @ Coffee Addicted Writer. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to your own blog. 

Book Blogger Hop (Final)

This is my first Book Blogger Hop! I’m so excited to participate and share my thoughts. Though I’m late to the party, this week’s prompt was quite compelling…

-Q-

Would you stop reading a book if an element of the plot strongly clashed with your personal beliefs, or would you continue reading until you finished the book?

(submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books)

-A-

When I read there is also my perspective on the story as a writer that is sitting in the back of my mind. So when you say “personal beliefs” many times it is really my writer’s instincts that clash with an element of the plot or a characterization.

I’m actually pretty sanguine about what an author’s taste might cause them to focus on: if I don’t like the premise the marketing blurb relays I won’t even try to read the book. So to say I go in open minded and wanting to like the book is the least of it.

But when the unpleasant happens it normally really happens in a big way. I can think of twice when I wanted to scream I was so passionately at odds with what the characters did. Their actions were not backed up with foreshadowing nor with any sort of motivations that were part of the story previous to the outrageous happening.

One book I dnfed after flipping through the last half of the book and realizing it does not get better. The other book I finished and wrote a comprehensive view of my thoughts. I do not think that a book will infect you if you finish it and it clashes with my views. In fact, it makes me more passionate about my beliefs and more certain of my point of view. When I disagree from a writer’s perspective it hones my instincts to use in my own work and I take it as a learning moment.

Dani Signature

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Books Clashing with Our Beliefs”

  1. I’ve read a lot of books that clash with my beliefs, in different ways. I can’t think of a time I’ve ever stopped reading because of this. Sometimes it’s difficult to see a character or narrator take a go at something you strongly believe in or do something you really think is wrong, but there are *real* people who disagree with me on big issues, too, and I think it can important to read about them.

Let's talk in the comments...

