Memes and Tags

Book Traveling Thursday: Genre I Don’t Read but Love

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursdays

This week’s topic is to choose a book that is from a genre that you don’t read that often but loved anyway. While I don’t mind a mystery plot in a story I’m not really a fan of straight up mysteries. I definitely dislike serial killer murderers so it has to be really good for me to pick those up. I do have a series I love…

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Add to GoodreadsFlavia de Luce, at the tender age of 11 years old, is a passionate chemist with aspirations toward poisons. Rambling around her mother’s grand estate, Buckshaw, in the summer of 1950 she is both appalled and delighted to run into murder. “I wish I could say I was afraid, but I wasn’t. Quite the contrary. This was by far the most interesting thing that had ever happened to me in my entire life.”

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie original coverThe original cover was smartly done with a simplistic colored background and clean, modern style with a subtle vintage vibe brought in by the image that references the story’s plot. It is a unique combination that perfectly suits the Flavia de Luce stories. For any country, not just my own, I think it is the perfect cover and the designs of each of the sequels covers make the series totally identifiable amongst a wall of books which is what you want for a mystery with a following.

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Worst coversThe worst covers were misses for various reasons of suiting the story. The Dutch cover tries to use Flavia but is too nondescript. The Finish cover is totally modern but this isn’t set in present day. The German cover is too dark and makes the story more creepy than it is. And there is nothing wrong with this alternate English cover except it makes it seem the book was written in the 80s when the premise is more modern than that. It sounds contradictory but looking at each cover one element from the original cover’s assets is missing from these. When book marketers get it right, they really get it right!

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie Norweigian and Russian coversThe best cover to me was the original cover but I also quite loved these two cover, the first from Norway and the other from Russia. I feel like the one from Norway totally suits the people who love Norwegian mysteries. There is this sense of the macabre that is right up Flavia’s alley. The Russian cover is just too cute and has a similar vintage vibe except matched to the Russian culture. Both worthy efforts for their country’s sake.

Do you love adult mysteries? Have you read this book? What is your favorite book with a mystery? Should a mystery with an 11 year old detective be considered adult? Please leave the link to your post and I’ll check it out!

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Genre I Don’t Read but Love”

  1. I’m not a huge fan of straight-up mysteries either, although I have read some that I liked. Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart was one I enjoyed, and I was surprised to learn afterwards that it’s based on real people, so it’s more of a historical fiction/mystery book. In general, I’m more interested in mysteries set in a historical period rather than contemporary mysteries. I’ve read the first two Flavia de Luce stories and really enjoyed them, I keep meaning to return to the series.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion. I agree historical mystery is way better than contemporary mystery for me… I didn’t see Flavia that way but it’s true. Also British mystery is good sometimes. Actually Flavia gets better the more you read, especially the later ones.

Let's talk in the comments...

