All About Books

Blog Tour: Remember Me Forever Review

Remember Me Forever Blog Tour Banner
Today is my turn to weigh in on book #3 of the Lovely Vicious series from Entangled Teen: Remember Me Forever!! I’m so excited to share my thoughts with you… if you’d like to read about what other bloggers think, click the banner above to find the blog tour details…
.
Isis Blake in the third book of the Lovely Vicious series is off to college. Jack Hunter has blown town and his goodbye…a plane ticket! Isis bravely leaves for Ohio State University and determines to be happy even if she has to lie to convince herself. When Nameless, her darkest secret shows up she is shaken to the core, only more so by the fact Jack Hunter appears right behind him. Can she keep it together and save her college life?
.

Remember Me Forever cover

Remember Me Forever
Lovely Vicious, #3
by Sara Wolf
Publisher: Entangled Teen

Add to GoodreadsGoogle Play | BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

.

Note: I have not read book 1, Love Me Never, or book 2, Forget Me Always, of this series. As a result the start was really shaky to me. I thought seriously about DNFing this book after the talk with her grandmother about suicide. Her thoughts on how suicide is right if a person wants it and no one being to blame but the suicider felt wrong. Bullies can be to blame when a person suicides (not in this case) as well as chemical imbalances which are an irregularity of the body, not a choice! It is better to live, life gets better especially when you are at rock bottom. I understand her grandmother didn’t want her to beat herself up but this kind of thinking doesn’t get people with thoughts of suicide the help they need!

This wasn’t my only problem with the first 25% of the book… Here were my thoughts at 17%: “This is so hard to read…this girl doesn’t feel real…I definitely can’t envision some guy dominating her… she’s just too much and on top of all the telling I’m choking on this story… I do like Jack and despite all of his telling his story and the hacker job is intriguing! I think I can keep reading due to him but these kids read like 25 year olds not teenagers…” Finally at 23% I felt like the story started for real… she sees Nameless and freaked out. The story definitely got a lot better once the recapping was over… she still felt high as a kite but it got good once she found some friends!

So I took off 1 star for the really rough start. I know that this is partially due to it being a 3rd book but I felt like a lot of it was unnecessary. This story stood well on it’s own laurels. This beginning did not help me to understand the later story and most of it is revealed again naturally in the course of events.

The other thing I got sick of was the portrayal of drinking, partying, sex and drugs in the story… So you are unhappy?! So what? Not every teenager who feels this way handles their feelings in such a juvenile manner. *Sigh* If any of these are turn offs to you I suggest not reading the book, its not in one spot where you can skip it, it’s spread judiciously through the entire book…

I loved the dual POVS! Jack contrasted Isis nicely and if he had only broken up her rants more in the middle their narratives would have worked perfectly. I felt like besides the beginning the writing was so, so good!

Here is Jack talking about Isis, it is restrained and yet emotional:
“She is fire and rage, all claws extended, her hair swirling around her in the gentle summer night wind and her cinnamon eyes ablaze with light from the hall. She shines in the velvet darkness, a little thinner than I remember, and a little sadder, but burning all the same. Always burning. I warm myself on her fury, embracing the searing hot-sweet feel of her wrath and all the vibrant life behind it.”
Here is Isis on overdrive, all pop culture and crazy twisting thoughts that reflect Isis in the most perfectly iconic way possible:
“Just look at Hollywood—there’s drama around every corner. And kale. Hollywood really loves kale. And like, babies. God forbid science ever makes a baby out of kale within five hundred miles of Los Angeles, because then it will be war, with Gucci guns and heavily armed limo drivers and I would put all my betting money on Vin Diesel and the Rock, who would obviously team up and become the ultimate kale-baby rescue team, with me as their outfit coordinator–slash–witty sidekick.”
I loved all the characters that Isis had rooting for her: Kayla and Wren, Yvette and Donna, Kieran and Charlie. They weren’t perfect relationships but they were real…

There are so many great details in this book…
-a lesbian relationship and friendship
-the best long distance best friends forever relationship
-cute nicknames for people you don’t like: Hemorrhoid with redemption at the end
-pranks on nasty professors
-a wonderful forgiving woman as an example to all
-an incredible handling of a delicate invasive situation
-sex with the conversation frank and cute and just how you’d hope your first time is
-a dash of spy danger and espionage

There you have it… a taste of all the good stuff! By the end I had forgotten the terrible beginning and was really rooting for Isis and Jack. I wanted them to be happy and actually the epilogue is spot on for them to me! If not for that start I would totally give this book 4 stars…Isis has been through so much and to come out the other side with her attitude and defense mechanisms is pretty incredible!

BOTTOM LINE: Isis is a character worth knowing and a must read for teenage girls…    3 stars.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway…

Rafflecopter Logo

Ultimate College Survival Kit, including:

  • *Ouch! BandAids. 24 Assorted adhesive bandages with absorbent pads.
  • A durable, sleek, modern laundry backpack. Machine washable with a secure locking drawstring closure.
  • 3M Command Adhesive Poster Strips to hang posters and Dormify prints on your wall with no hassle. Pack of 12 strips.
  • 3M Command Adhesive Medium Hooks for hanging hand towels, jewelry or more. Pack of 2 hooks.
  • A 1oz bottle of Eco-Me’s Dish Soap perfect for those dirty dishes that (unfortunately) won’t clean themselves
  • A 1oz bottle of Eco-Me’s All Purpose Spray Cleaner. 100% natural for any and all household cleaning
  • A 1oz bottle of Eco-Me’s Scrub Cleaner perfect for kitchen and bath cleaning.
  • A 1oz bottle of Eco-Me’s Gentle Laundry Soap.
  • Namast’ay in Bed Eye Mask, perfect for sleeping in late.
  • An aluminum head massager to relax your body when you massage your head with the soft-tipped stainless-steel tips. 10″ Tall.
  • A set of ear plugs. Plug in and tune out
  • Weekly Calendar Message Board to help you plan out your schedule.
  • Holy Moly It’s Raining Poncho
  • A Ping Pong ball, in case of emergency.
  • Bring your bath essentials to the shower in style with the Mint Spa Basket Shower Caddy. Waterproof – made with durable plastic with sleek chrome handle (9.25 x 7 x 5 inches)

Author bio banner

Sara Wolf is a twenty-something author who adores baking, screaming at her cats, and screaming at herself while she types hilarious things. When she was a kid, she was too busy eating dirt to write her first terrible book. Twenty years later, she picked up a keyboard and started mashing her fists on it and created the monster known as the Lovely Vicious series. She lives in San Diego with two cats, a crippling-yet-refreshing sense of self-doubt, and not enough fruit tarts ever.

author-sara-wolf

Website • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

Thanks to Chapter-by-Chapter and Entangled Teen for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Chapter-by-Chapter-blog-tour-button

Save

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Remember Me Forever Review”

  1. Ohh, so many sensitive subjects in this book. I’m glad to hear you were able to enjoy it, even if you haven’t read the first two books. I’d have a really tough time reading a book that was in the middle of series.. Do you plan on visiting those books now? :O

    1. You know it was really odd when I agreed to read this one I had the feeling I would be fine not reading the others… which is not like me, I normally need to read from the beginning. This time my gut instinct was right, I think I’m good with just this book (don’t tell the publisher!) I do really recommend them as the way Isis spoke and thought was really very fascinating and there were many subjects covered that I applaud. For anyone who loves a very “makang” or soap opera type of story this is perfect for them…

Let's talk in the comments...

