All About Books, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling Thursday: Favorite Contemporary

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursdays

This week’s topic is to choose a book that is your favorite contemporary read. Actually another book by Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl, is my absolute favorite contemporary book but the same cover was used for every edition. So this category had to go to my runner up…

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Add to GoodreadsOver the course of the school year Eleanor, a red haired girl in the wrong clothes with few friends and no besties and Park, a music loving fringe rider whose tastes in culture are outside the norm  fall in love. Being 16 years old they know that the likelihood of their first love being their last love is not likely… they try anyway.

Eleanor and Park Original covers
The original cover was done in several other colors depending on whether it was hardback, paperback or kindle. For my country’s cover I think it’s really good, I quite liked the clean layout that Rainbow Rowell books tend to get. It gives the story a modern feel and you know right away what this book is about while not really having any details. The  yellow is a little sick and my favorite is the blown up people on the collector’s edition rather than the smaller ones on the normal releases.

Eleanor and Park Worst covers

The worst covers were (from left to right) the Italian, Indonesian, Greek, and Danish covers. I think the real people were not the right direction for this cover… it actually makes the books feel dated. The other two are too general and the blue color is too heavy for the kind of escapist love affair this was for them. I didn’t think the Hungarian, Serbian, and Swedish covers (on the second row) were bad but they missed the mark of what the story was about. Still I think they reflected the cultures to which the books were directed and so they were successful on a certain level. I threw in the Ukrainian cover because it was so cute and different even though it really was a miss too. It was too happy and cartoonish when the story isn’t to be laughed at. For another contemporary romance it would work perfectly!

Eleanor and Park best covers

The best cover to me was the original cover but I also really loved the Dutch cover and the Vietnamese cover. They both captured the spirit of Eleanor and Park and what their story was about. The spirit of the Dutch cover mirrors the original cover really well and also tells you what the story is about. I just really love the colorful nature of the Vietnamese cover and the story is a romance… its not as spot on as the other two but I still love it, lol!

Covers are such a fun bookish topic! Have you read this book? What is your favorite contemporary book? Please leave the link to your post and I’ll check it out!
2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Favorite Contemporary”

  1. Wow at all those different editions. So many that I have never seen before. Got to agree that real people on cover doesn’t feel right. Actually, I just.. never like that. Also totally agree with you favourite of the bunch.

    1. I find covers so fun… if I worked in the publishing industry I would fight for the very best cover designs… I loved this choice because I had so many covers to choose from… isn’t it fascinating what is esthetically pleasing is so different depending on where you are from? I wouldn’t have thought that to be honest…

Let's talk in the comments...

