All About Books, Memes and Tags

Top 10 Tuesday: Book Turnoffs

What makes you instantly NOT want to read a book?

Top 10 Tuesday Burning Book

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and Bookish asks us to share all of our book turn offs! You are attracted to the cover or the title or both, you read the blurb and… put down the book! What made you do it? Is it the setting, the genre, a trope? Was the title deceiving? (I really dislike picking up a book with dragon in the name only to learn it is about King Arthur!) This is my list…

#10 – High School

I totally understand why high school is a huge setting for YA fiction. It has a regular schedule and while it touches on the adult world it’s acceptable that you are still trying to figure stuff out. So I tolerate high school settings… but I love the idea that many of these really cool premises could easily be about college kids.

#9 – Patrick Ness Books

I’ve only tried two of his books but they had so many rave reviews that now I run the other way. Especially when someone says one of his books is highly anticipated I shudder. I want to love his books and get on that hype train I really do. After I read the first one I was furious that it even made it to print it was so bad. But I thought hey, this may be a fluke, people love and adore this guy’s writing, but the next one I tried I found riddled with the same problems as the first. Just no…

#8 – Serial Killers

I love me a good detective novel, not all the time but sometimes, especially if the detective is a little different from most people. I really detest serial killer murderers though. I don’t understand the allure of all the blood, guts and torture. If you’ve ever watch CSI or Criminal Minds then you know what I’m talking about…

#7 – Books in Verse

I know, I know I should have an open mind about poetry. I love the haiku poems we wrote in elementary school but I don’t want to read an entire story written in verse. We don’t talk like that in the real world and I don’t want to wrap my head around it…gimmicks like this don’t sit well with me.

#6 – Rampant Drugs, Sex and Alcohol

I get it characters need vices to be human and kids have sex all the time. I know, I know… I just don’t want to read about it. If it works well in a story and is tight, not all over the place then I can accept it especially if I can quickly move on in the story. Sometimes though it feels as if this stuff was shoved into the story to give it some dirt or grit, it’s too much angst for angst sake.

#5 – Heavy Language

I have almost dnfed more books for heavy language than anything else. It is really a deal breaker for me. When jut reading the words is tough it becomes exponentially harder to keep reading. Soon you are putting the book down for a tv show or even to go to sleep just to escape it. It’s one of the top reasons I love the YA genre. We can expect it to be supremely readable… and if its not then you know what shelf it ends up on!

#4 – Politics

I avoid adult fantasy because I get super sick of politics. While it seems like a really adult topic and as an adult I should like it I just don’t care. There is too much of it in the real world for me to settle down in my free time and wade through more. I like YA fiction for just that reason… if it is in a story it is generally very light.

#3 – Complain-y Protagonist

I love me my characters so when one gets all whiny and complain-y about their lot it makes me groan and roll my eyes. Who doesn’t have something to complain about happening to them? Everyone does! We get on with it. “Oh I just want to be a normal girl…” Hate it! In reviews many readers complain about mary sues and special snowflakes but I’ll take both any day as long as they don’t complain!!

#2 – Too Little World-Building

I love me some alternate worlds…take me to another place and let me loose to explore and learn about the world. I even love it when, like Harry Potter, a world is hidden within our own. Either way we’ve got to be given some world building. The best way is to make it a part of the plot and show us as the protagonist interacts with said world. When only 1 or 2 things are different from a regular old world that does not world-building make…

#1 – “…a lot in the head; not much happening” Narrative

Have you ever read a book where you are listening to the protagonist talk about their life for hundreds of pages? A conversation only ever appears like every 50 pages or so? It is so boring and tedious! Show me her life, stop with all the telling!

What turns you off a book? Please leave the link to your post and I’ll check it out!

Top Ten Tuesday Logo

Thanks for reading! XOXO, Dani

8 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Book Turnoffs”

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book in verse or poetry period (maybe when I was first reading/really young). It’s just not my thing. Also, I love mysteries, but most the time the whole serial killer trope gets CREEPY! And yes to “too much” of numbers 5&6. Most often, I’ve found it’s just for “shock value” rather than purposeful or helpful to further the story.

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week. I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you on a lot of these! I much prefer a college setting over high school! And I am a huge fan of world-building so I just really dislike when the characters don’t interact with the world enough and when I am left with a lot of questions after reading a book! Like please, introduce me to this new world you’ve created!!! Don’t just leave me hanging with vague descriptions! Loved your points! 😀

  3. I have kids in high school so yeah, not likely to read a book set there unless my kid recs it to me.

    Political motivations can drive a novel, but when the main focus is political, it’s a real turn off for me, too.

    I’m with you on the serial killers. I love mysteries and intense novels, but too much blood and guts makes me want to put the book aside.

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. It’s funny that you mention Patrick Ness. While I’ve yet to read anything by him, I just watched the first 2 episodes of “Class” which is the spinoff for Doctor Who that he is the head-writer for and I was thoroughly unimpressed. I thought the characters were flat and much of the plot was hard to believe, even for Doctor Who. It didn’t inspire a lot of confidence for me in his writing, that’s for sure.

    1. Hello Doctor Who fan! I’m not shocked to hear that about his Doctor Who episodes… if he were at least fun (like Doctor Who generally is) then his stories would work on some level to me but I’d agree flat and unbelievable characterizes is spot on! Thanks for stopping by Bentley!

Let's talk in the comments...

