Memes and Tags

Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

I was recently nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by the sweet and wonderful Aditi @ Readers Rule, a super cool blog where she reviews books. It’s great to get her insight into the books she reads; I recommend everyone go check it out!

Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

Aditi’s Questions

What do you think is the best social media strategy for getting more visitors to a blog?

Personally I enjoy twitter for social media. I also have a google+ account and a Facebook account as a book blogger. Social media is definitely the way I communicate what is happening on my blog but I find participating in memes and reading /commenting on other book blogs is the best way to get readers on your blog. It allows you to be sincere and show what you have to offer as far as your point of view. On twitter I make sure to include the author’s twitter name if the review is 4-5 stars. And if I enjoy another book blogger’s post I’ll share it on my own feed. Many other book bloggers who enjoy photography are on Instagram. That seems like fun and I may try that sometime in the future.

How much time do you spend blogging?

A lot of my free time is spent reading which is foundational as a book blogger. I actually spend 2-3 hours most week nights writing posts or reviews and at least 5-10+ hours a week reading and commenting on other book blogs.

Do you have any specific goals for the rest of this year?

I plan to work on the 4 reading challenges I chose for the year as well as do all the memes that sound good or to which I relate. I’d like to create a book tag that would help me to create a list of books that I ought to read that I missed the last couple years. Also I’m thinking of an idea for a cute meme that would spread book blogger love… I’m also a total fan of k-dramas and want to write some intensive posts on that soon!

What do you find the most frustrating aspect of blogging?

Getting the words on the page to express how I really feel… I believe if I can learn to do that well others will be more inclined to read what I think and share their own thoughts which I enjoy learning.

What inspired you to start your blog? How do you motivate yourself to keep the blog up and running?

I needed an outlet to express my thoughts about story… I actually took a break from blogging for a year and a half. About 6 months ago I returned and started really slow with just reviews as I didn’t want to burn out again. I’ve learned not to stress so much and do what I can in the time allotted. If real life gets in the way I skip the meme I didn’t get to and keep going. I don’t worry if I don’t have a post up each day. (I actually had a three post day about a week ago but that was way unusual due to 2 scheduled posts written a couple weeks earlier…) Also I read not to check out your visitor stats everyday. So I stick to replying to comments which are way more satisfying anyway!

Can you name some of your favourite bloggers and explain why they are your favourites?

At this point I’m just getting to know the current crop of book bloggers and don’t feel equipped to call anyone a particular favorite… but I do love reading the posts from the bloggers I chose to pass this award onto listed below…

What was the most challenging moment in your blogging journey so far?

Deciding to take a sabbatical for an unknown length of time. When I decided to take a break it was because I had become so overwhelmed that my day job was starting to suffer. I had to go back to basics and just enjoy reading. I had to let go of American television for the most part. I didn’t watch movies for a year. After a year and a half I decided to come back and post reviews only. I still had my love of writing and storycraft but it became more about writing my thoughts than trying to be successful as a blogger.

Where would you like to be in blogging five years from now?

I would like to still be blogging but also happily writing for my day job with a balanced joyful home life.

What do you think are some of your strengths that really helped you in blogging?

I’m really strong in storycraft plus I’m open minded. I feel like the author should be allowed to write the story they envision even if their tastes conflict with my own. So my purpose is to touch on poor storycraft if there is some while expressing my opinions. I feel like that way the potential reader can judge for themselves while getting the lowdown on the writing. Because of this I can relate to many book bloggers opinions even if we don’t have exactly the same tastes.

How do you cheer up yourself when you are feeling really low?

I watch a k-drama! There is something about two people living and loving that lifts my spirits. I also try not to dwell. I read in a book once that we do crazy things when our countenance falls, things that are not in our nature. So when I’m done with my show many times I find myself with a lot better perspective than I started!

Do you plan on writing a book? (Howโ€™s it going?)

I am writing a book with a writing friend. She writes the description and lays out the scenes and I write the dialogue and edit the scenes. We talk everything out along the way. It’s a long journey for us as we have created a world, its history and have started the first book. Originally it was going to be a long fantasy a la Tolkien or the like but we have since edited the story into smaller sections. We are currently re-writing what will be book one now.

My Questions

1. If you had to chose a dystopian world to be sent to, which would it be and why?

2. What are your favorite blog posts to write and why?

3. Under what circumstances would you DNF a book?

4. What types of characters do you love most? (i.e. like genre but for characters, examples: strong female, hot love interest, nerds, pirates, if you can group them and love them, name them!)

5. If you could teleport to any city in the world which would it be? If you had to make your way home on you own would it still be the same city?

6. If you wrote a book, what would it be about? (i.e. the premise, type of characters, world?)

7. If a band were to be featured in a fictional story, which would you want it to be and why?

8. What book describes you best? (Is it a particular character, the cover or the story?)

9. Favorite book universe and why? (Is it the friends you would have, the world you would live in or the abilities/circumstances you would be in?)

10. What is your favorite book pet? Real pet? Ultimate pet?

11. If you’d humor me and look at this post I wrote about Korean dramas… which banner looks like it has a story you would be interested in reading/watching?

I Nominate

As I understand it, the Sunshine Blogger Award is for blogs that are positive, creative, and inspirational. Plus I added my own twist and picked quirky, fun and different bloggers!

Flavia @ Flavia the bibliophile
Bentley @ Book โ˜… Bastion
Lashaan & Trang @ Bookidote
Imane @ Booksaccino
Karen @ Run Wright
Amanda @ The Literary Counsellor
Joshua Gabriel @ Highlitbooks
Kari @ Moon Magister Reviews
Beth @ Reading Every Night
I Should Read That
Jenn, Eden and Caitlynn @ Thrice Read

I’d love to read your responses but please don’t feel pressured! It’s completely up to you if you want to respond or not…

XOXO, Dani

Sunshine Blogger Award logo

11 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award”

  1. Thanks so much for the nominations. I’m looking forwards to answering the questions you’ve come up with. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Also I loved reading your answers to your questions. It’s always great learning more about other bloggers on WordPress and as most of your questions were blog related I learnt a lot. I hope in five years time you’re where you want to be in terms of blogging and life! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Your answers were amazing! After reading the greatest challenge faced by you in your blogging career, I am greatly inspired by you. I think you are doing a great job as a blogger, and open mindedness is one of the qualities which everyone tries to achieve but still cannot. I think it might be one of the strongest quality of a blogger because so many people read your reviews and everyone is living somewhere different and has got different life stories. The more open you are, the more people can relate to you! I think you are doing a great job! All the best for your book and thanks for doing this tag! โค

  3. This was very insightful! Glad to hear your taking everything in slowly after your return from your blogging sabbatical. It is ALWAYS a pleasure to hear from you and answering comments is DEFINITELY one of the best things about blogging/posting. Thank you again for the nomination! ๐Ÿ˜€

Let's talk in the comments...

