Boo's Picture Gallery, Book Reviews

Boo’s Picture Gallery: Daddy Long Legs

My 10-year old nephew and I read books together every week and he draws a picture from the pages that captures his fancy. As a budding bookworm, artist and a child with an autistic aphasia we bond through stories and art.

daddy-long-legs-cover

Daddy Long Legs

by Nadine Brun-Cosme
Illustrated by Aurélie Guillerey
Published May 2nd 2017
by Kids Can Press

Add to Goodreads

Matthew must go to kindergarten but when daddy’s old green car sputters and struggles he worries that daddy won’t make it back to him by the end of the day. Thus starts a what if game that ultimately reassures Matthew he can safely go to kindergarten.


Boos Art from this Book graphic

daddy-long-legs-drawing


I have the opportunity to read this book with the target audience, my nephew. We both quite loved the fantastical drawings in this book. I loved the bright poppy colors that will appeal to the youngest of children. My nephew loved that the black birds appeared in each spread and that all sorts of fantastical methods were used to get to Matthew. His favorite by far was the dragon which is what he chose to draw (he chooses an illustration from each book we read and draws his own interpretation).

“I will call the big green dragon who blows into the heater all winter. And in two flaps of his wings and three big leaps, I will be next to you!”

I obviously didn’t read the complete blurb stating that this is about separation anxiety and so I found it really fun to get to the reason why daddy was being so outrageous. It was so fun and infectious that my nephew and I totally enjoyed ourselves even without the undertone point of the story in the forefront of our brains. I really liked the end illustrations especially where it portrayed home as a safe place where Matthew will return to after a day at kindergarten.

Having worked with children the age of preschoolers this would be great for teachers having to deal with separation anxiety and once that is past would be great to revisit anytime as a way to develop creativity and imagination in the child. Very versatile and worth the investment in home or school!

Star Rating wordsRating Star 8Rating Star orange4Rating Star orange3Rating Star orange1Rating Star orange2

BOTTOM LINE: Fun way to reassure your children they can trust you to return…


Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

NetGalley delivers digital galleys, often called advance reading copies, or ARCs, to professional readers and helps promote new and upcoming titles. Professional readers–reviewers, media, journalists, bloggers, librarians, booksellers and educators–can join and use NetGalley at no cost.” Netgalley is a special section of my book discussions where I post reviews of the digital books I read through this service. It’s quite amazing the gems you can find. I’ve yet to regret reading a book, even if I don’t like it…

 

 

Let's talk in the comments...

