Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling: Blue Cover Original

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is to choose a book that was originally a blue cover. There were several books that had a blue background and it would have been fun hunting down the alternate covers but I wanted an authentically blue cover. This week I was chatting with a reader from my blog about loving historical books and this WWII story came up…


All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Add to GoodreadsWinner of the Pulitzer Prize. Marie-Laure, a blind French girl leaves Paris with her father, abandoning the Museum of Natural History, where he worked as the master locksmith, carrying a one-of-a-kind gem or maybe it’s decoy. Werner, a German boy working by special assignment tracks war resisters across Europe using radios and a brutal team of dispatchers. They meet in Saint-Malo where the war comes to a head for both of them.

All the Light We Cannot See original cover

The original cover is quite sharp and modern. It gives you a sense of the overarching nature of the story found therein. The blue is on the warm spectrum and helps you to sense the symbolic light that the title references. It’s not a bad cover at all, but I think there is a better one…

All the Light We Cannot See WORST covers

The worst cover is very similar to the original cover but they made minor changes for the German edition. The city is from a different angle and the cover feels very austere. The blue is very cold and flat, not really adding to the atmosphere that the cover is giving the story. It just feels off to me in an uncomfortable way. The kindle cover was not much better though I like the idea of showing a situation from the book. It feels like the character is carefree which couldn’t be further from the case; it’s uncomfortable too.

All the Light We Cannot See BEST covers

The best covers to me are the Swedish cover with a Marie-Laure on the cover and the paperback with a Werner running. I love the idea of a cover for each character that gives a feel for what they went through. The original’s plain city is a fine cover but the people are more evocative of the emotions to be found in the story. There are no faces showing so that helps for those readers who dislike the contemporary trend of putting real people’s faces standing in for a characters own. All they really need is a more similar color story and they would be perfect!


Covers are such a fun bookish topic! Have you read this book? What is your favorite WWII book?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

14 thoughts on “Book Traveling: Blue Cover Original”

  1. I love this book but I did not really think about the covers but now that you mention it, I agree with you that the book covers with the characters are better. Though the book was not lacking in its overall depiction of the war , I remember the book more for its endearing characters. So, a cover with the characters would indeed be a more befitting description of the book. My favorite character is Werner so needless to say, the cover I like the most is the one with little Werner running through the streets 🙂 Thanks for the insight, great post!

  2. Hey great post 🙂 i absolutely loved all the love we cannot see but never really thought about the cover but now that you mentioned it i think i like the one with Werner running in the alley best. He is my favourite character in the book and the boy on the cover fits what i imagine him to be. I also agree with you that having a character on the cover as opposed to a scenery is better suited as i indeed remeber the book more for its individual character rather than a overall picture of th wartime.

  3. I also recently read The Book Thief which offered a very insightful look at WWII. Not since Diary of Anne Frank and The Endless Steppe did I feel this way. I haven’t heard many people talk about Endless Steppe. Have you read it?

    1. I’ve not read The Endless Steppe but reading about Siberia would be fascinating! How horrible is that for an 11 year old… I’ve not read The Book Thief either only seen the movie. I tried reading it and the language felt too heavy to me.

      1. That’s was also my experience the first time I tried reading the book thief. I
        It took me about 2 years to return to it but it gets better. You kinda have to just stick through the first few pages. I hope you try it again.
        I read The Endless Steppe when I was a kid in high school so would be nice to see how I find reading it as an adult.

  4. I haven’t read this one although it’s been on my TBR for ages. I started once and just didn’t make it far. I would love to do a buddy read of the book so I can discuss it as I am reading.
    I do agree about the beauty of the blue cover though. The one with the girl walking next to the wall is actually pretty poignant in showing her reliance on touching the wall but it is only obvious if you know about her disability.

    1. Yeah, I understood where they got the wall cover from but it didn’t have the right feel to me that tells you “whatever this cover is referencing it’s going to hit me right in the gut (or heart – your preference!)” Thanks for stopping by…I’d love to buddy read but I don’t think I can read this one again… I think it’s a good WWII story but that isn’t my favorite time in history… good luck!

  5. Wow. I do love that Swedish cover on the right. I’m so used to the vibrant blue one you showed us too. I haven’t read this book, but it’s been in my TBR for ages. It always seemed like a wonderful WWII story to check out! Nice pick. 😉

Let's talk in the comments...

