Memes and Tags

Fill-Me-In Friday: First in a Series

Fill-Me-In Fridays is a brand new weekly meme created by Claudia @ A Daily Cloud. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Fill-me-in Fridays on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Fill Me In Fridays Banner

This week’s topic is because it’s almost Easter, pick the first books of series. I love reading series and the first book is the one that determines if I will continue or not so it is very important! I love that this meme has a question about covers too!

1. What was the last book you read that was a first of a series?

Cinder cover

I just finished Cinder! The premise is so neat and there was so much hype that I was excited to read it. I liked it as a fairy tale retelling but it didn’t live up to the creative ideas that it started from. I’ll continue with the series though because there is so much promise its bound to get better.

2. What is the next book you think you’ll read that is a first of a series?

Labyrinth Lost cover

I’m currently reading Labyrinth Lost! The premise is so good and its pretty shocking what Alex does… such is the folly of youth. It’s getting interesting now just after 50% but it took a lot to get to this point and I’m getting pretty sick of her whining about the power she has. If you’ve got it, use it!

3. What is the best book you’ve read that was the first of a series?

First in a Series covers

I couldn’t choose just one as I love all sorts of sub-genres so I picked three of my favorite firsts… Written in Red is the best urban fantasy I have ever read, it is like the mega retelling of Twilight! The world sucked me in and I love Meg. So funny that I mentioned vampires when I actually really dislike anything vampires… The Hunt was such a surprisingly good read and another sort of retelling in that it shakes up how you see vampires. I’m a mega fan of k-dramas so I fell in love with To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! Such a great diverse contemporary coming of age story… Lara Jean is such a girl…

4. What is the worst book you’ve read that was the first of a series?

A book has to be pretty bad for my not to finish it so I consider did-not-finish to be really bad, especially when I skim it and get even more incensed reading the ending. So I’d have to say The White Forest. The premise went from cool to bad to “flesh was withered and white, sprouting thick patches of hair” and “god-apes” – that did it for me!

5. What is the book you’ve read that was the first of a series with the best cover?

The Wrath & The Dawn cover

I’m suck a sucker for covers, it really will win me over at least to read if it has the right aura. I picked The Wrath & The Dawn as this week’s pick just because I loved that it said something about the culture which the book contained as well as being a knock out… but really hundreds of first books could hold this position!

I’m so freaked out that two of my top first books of a series are touching on vampires! I don’t have a great book memory from my childhood so there are bounds to be others I can’t remember…now I have goodreads to rely on, thank goodness!

Have you read any of these books? What are your favorite first of a series? Please leave the link to your post and I’ll check it out!
5 thoughts on “Fill-Me-In Friday: First in a Series”

  1. I can see a lot of love for retellings through this post! 😛 I have to agree that The Wrath and the Dawn has a very sexy cover; although reviews are soooo mix for it.

    1. The Wrath and the Dawn had mostly positive reviews when I read it but I can see why some people wouldn’t like it… it is predominately a romance with a side of supernatural. I liked the cultural aspects and the hate to love trope.

  2. Such a great post, I loved To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before too it was such a cute book, and The Wrath and the Dawn has an amazing cover, I might end up picking it up soon!

    1. If you enjoyed To All the Boys Ive Loved Before then I believe you’ll enjoy The Wrath and the Dawn too. When it is historical in nature there are twists and the focus is on the romance. Thanks for commenting!

Let's talk in the comments...

