Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling: Pet Day

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is National Pet Day was a few days ago… choose a book that features your favorite pet! I knew right away what my favorite pet is and that I must feature it — dragons… but what book best embodies my choice…? Well I had to sink deep and go back to my childhood when I first sought out any and all dragons books to be found. I don’t have a stellar memory when it comes to these books but I actually remember being fascinated with how Jakkin communicated with his dragon.


Dragon’s Blood by Jane Yolen

Add to GoodreadsDragons are trained to fight to the death, and two determined teens help free them in this spellbinding saga. Jakkin, a fifteen-year-old bond boy who works as a Keeper in a dragon nursery on the planet Austar IV, secretly trains a fighting pit dragon of his own in hopes of winning his freedom.

Dragons Blood original coversThe original cover published in 1984 is truly heinous and I’d have never picked it up when I was a child. It is too washed out and the dragon is ridiculous! The republished cover from 1996 is pretty bad too but at least it is reminiscent of the world and shows the bag that represents his bonding. This is the cover that I picked up from the library. The German cover is probably the best of the three as the dragon is prominent but it’s no where near our modern standards. All of these cover are pretty bad but the original is definitely the worst cover!

Dragons Blood 2004 cover

The only other cover is the one published again in 2004. This is the best cover as the publisher sought to update the feel while not compromising the sense of the world. The dragon is still pretty ugly on it but the composition of Jakkin to the dragon’s head works well as do the colors.


This is such a fun meme… it’s only my second Book Traveling Thursday post, but I’m loving it! Have you read this? What is your favorite pet?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

4 thoughts on “Book Traveling: Pet Day”

  1. Oh gosh. A dragon as a pet would be absolutely amazing. Just riding one blows my mind! I would have probably went with a pet tiger. Life would be so much better with a tiger by my side. 😀 Great pick though!!

    1. Since dragons don’t exist I’d say a big cat would be a great more realistic second choice… though I’d pick a serval since they are a bit more house cat than circus for my taste! Thanks for commenting!

Let's talk in the comments...

