Book Traveling Thursdays, Memes and Tags

Book Traveling: Spring Read!

Book Traveling Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog and Catia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much, where you pick a book based on the theme of the week and post the original cover, your country’s cover, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Book Traveling Thursday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Book Traveling Thursday line shipThis week’s topic is Spring! Choose a book you want to read this Spring. I felt like I should want to read a happy book in Spring and I am so looking forward to I Believe in a Thing Called Love… but there is only one cover for this book! So I picked my runner up which will probably have to be followed by my other pick since it is not a happy premise. But the title did remind me of spring…


Paper Butterflies by Lisa Heathfield

Add to Goodreads

June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one—and a secret one. She is trapped like a butterfly in a net. But then June meets Blister, a boy in the woods. In him she recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from her home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom… But at what price?

Paper Butterflies cover Paper Butterflies paperback cover

The original cover matches the dark tone of the book. Also it shows the character as one of diversity which is a major plus in my opinion. The other cover with a 2017 release date is underwhelming but I understand they wanted to try for a more upbeat tone. This is my least favorite cover as they are trying to hide the nature of the story. My favorite cover is the one for a Hungry translation:

Paper Butterflies Hungry cover

It’s beautiful and ethereal plus it still has the diverse character in the art. I think it combines the purposes of both of the other book covers into one knockout cover!

Personally I think the best cover would be a paper butterfly made up in dark colors like purples and browns pinned to the cover like butterflies collectors preserve their specimens. The purple and brown colors hint at the diverse nature of the book while the pinned paper butterfly captures the darker tone of the story.


This is my first Book Traveling Thursday post! I love the idea of a meme being about book covers, its fun! Have you read this book? What do you want to read this spring?

Thanks for reading, XOXO

Dani Signature

 

1 thought on “Book Traveling: Spring Read!”

  1. Oh my gosh I adored this book, I feel like nobody ever talks about it, it’s so unwell known and it’s amazing! Great post, can’t wait to see more of your Book Traveling Thursdays!

Let's talk in the comments...

