Top 5 Sci-Fi / Fantasy Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Samantha and Lainey. Feel free to join in! Check out the group Top 5 Wednesday on Goodreads for the weekly topics…

Top 5 Wednesday Header

This week’s topic is Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books. I’m split on Sci-Fi and Fantasy books/worlds so to be fair I picked 2 of each and the 5th is one I want to read!

#1 – Written in Red

Written in Red coverI love and adore this fantasy series by Anne Bishop! The story follows Meg, a blood prophet who can see the future when her skin is cut. The final book of the series just came out and I’ve read them all. She escapes her owner to fall under the protection of the others. This is shapeshifters, vampires and elementalists like you have never read before. The world building is strong but also intimate.

 

 

 

#2 – Ender’s Game

Enders Game CoverEnder’s journey through his childhood is the epitome of the training story that is so overtold in the young adult genre today. This book created that trope. You get sucked into this boy’s life as he is thrust into brutal training to defeat buggers, aliens out to wipe humans off their own planet. You fall not only for him but his whole team as they pass through battle room after battle room until they come up against their final unbeatable test.

 

 

 

#3 – Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone CoverOh Karou, the teeth collector, amnesiac and artist extraordinaire, how you inspire me. Set in Prague (my favorite city in Europe!) she meets her star crossed lover, angel Akiva, and learns of the life hidden from her by her father, Brimstone. This leads to a world where chimaera go up against angels in a never ending war. When her life goes up in smoke due to black hands seared into doorways she must reclaim her resurrectionist skills to take up the fight.

 

 

#4 – Earth Girl Series

Earth Girl CoverJarra is an ape, stuck on earth due to being born with an immune system that cannot survive on other planets. While everyone else is portaling around to other worlds she’s determined to excavate the ruins of the old cities on earth. The best sci-fi world building I’ve ever read with a view of archaeology in the distant future that makes me long to join their ranks. The twist about her parents ties everything together. The next two books get even better as Jarra goes up against an alien probe.

 

 

#5 – Want to Read: Cinder

Cinder coverThis book seems to make it on many book bloggers best of lists, memes and tags. A cyborg mechanic, a prince and fatal plague research… sign me up! (And in fact I had it on my tbr list, but it has officially moved to the top spot…)

 

 

 

Have you read any of these books? What makes a “best of” book to you? Any other series I’ve got to read ASAP?

Save

17 responses to “Top 5 Sci-Fi / Fantasy Books

  1. Ender’s Game series – love it.

    To be honest, I have not read any of the rest.

    Out of curiosity, what do you think of “James Tiptree”?

    • First, thanks for reading my top 5 list and following me!

      I’ve never heard of James Tiptree but looking him up I see he’s a hard science fiction writer. I have read diverse books from the 60s and 70s that I have come across. That kind of science fiction is odd and strange and tends to use characters cruelly to say something about society.

      With YA Sci-Fi now we can have characters who get what they want while sort of shining a light on society… I’m not sure why you asked me about him though…

    • From what I’ve read on your blog I believe it would be right up your alley. The love interest is also quite good as he supports Jarra and doesn’t “save” her.

  2. Definitely read Cinder, it’s honestly fantastic and I’m not even a big lover of sci-fi really

Answer a question or wow me with your whit...

