Boo's Picture Gallery, Book Reviews

Boo’s Picture Gallery: I’ll Hug You More

My 10-year old nephew and I read books together every week and he draws a picture from the pages that captures his fancy. As a budding bookworm, artist and a child with an autistic aphasia we bond through stories and art.

ill-love-you-more-cover

I’ll Hug You More

by Laura Duksta
Illustrated by Melissa Iwai
Published January 3rd 2017
by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

Add to Goodreads

A flip-sided book, turn around and the story keeps going… Animal parents and their children share all the times they say “I Love You” with a hug.


Boos Art from this Book graphic

ill-love-you-more-drawing


The illustrations make this a winner, hands down. Each time I’ve opened this digital book I’ve poured over the illustrations! They are quite compelling due to the art style and how the colors suck you in. I love how each parent and child is framed on the page and how the backgrounds or lack of them work with the colors. I can’t rave enough about the art in this book, I literally could use them for art in a child’s playroom.

I was a little befuddled at first by the flip-sided nature of the eBook, once I figured it out, I loved it! I adore how we start from all the ways a parent and child can spend extra time together then we flip it over and go through all the ways a parent serves their child as a way of saying I love you. It acts almost as a thank you from child to parent. So special! The words were repetitious but that is part of the charm, especially for children who are still building their vocabulary. It focuses the child on the differences and so the message reads loud and clear.

I have the unique perspective of experiencing picture books from my nephew’s point of view, the target audience. He adored this book! Which actually quite surprised me as it seems girly with the purples of the cover, but he didn’t think so at all. He grinned through the whole book and was delighted by all the hugging. We talked about what the different animals were and it was quite fun to talk about the platypus and the snake being loving to their children.

Each book we read together he picks a spread in the book and draws it. It was hard for him to pick as he loved quite a few of them. I wish we had the real book on hand as he loved the puffin parent and child drawing, it was too hard for him to draw having only half the page so he picked the octopus couple which he drew amazingly well. I’ve started to notice when illustrations are well framed my nephew is able to pickup on their layout easier… so well done!

Star Rating wordsRating Star orange3Rating Star 8Rating Star orange4Rating Star orange1Rating Star orange2

BOTTOM LINE: A must have for loving families!


Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

NetGalley delivers digital galleys, often called advance reading copies, or ARCs, to professional readers and helps promote new and upcoming titles. Professional readers–reviewers, media, journalists, bloggers, librarians, booksellers and educators–can join and use NetGalley at no cost.” Netgalley is a special section of my book discussions where I post reviews of the digital books I read through this service. It’s quite amazing the gems you can find. I’ve yet to regret reading a book, even if I don’t like it…

1 thought on “Boo’s Picture Gallery: I’ll Hug You More”

Let's talk in the comments...

