A Lifetime of Writing Goals

Recently I heard a man talk about goals and how we need to make bigger goals because they are acts of faith. Another speaker spoke about how essential it is to write these goals down so that we will start to plan how to achieve them otherwise they are only wishes. And a quoted man from the day’s talks has said, “It is not enough to want to make the effort and to say we’ll make the effort. We must actually make the effort. It’s in the doing, not just the thinking, that we accomplish our goals. If we constantly put our goals off, we will never see them fulfilled.” So here I am to track and enlarge my goals, with the idea to take the steps needed to accomplishing them.

Moon Bridge - Writers Goals

I’ve always been an ambitious person who has many dreams I want to obtain. Even as a child in grade school I made my school projects bigger and better than what I was called on to do. This wasn’t helped by a mother who totally believed in me and taught me I could do anything that I set my mind to. This means effort.

This idea of effort is probably what lead me to writing. Writing challenges me. You can never become too proficient at writing. Writing never becomes easier. The end of a story leads you to another mountain to climb. While I excel at storytelling, a storyteller is by no means a qualified writer. Storytelling is the job of a dreamer; writing the career of a professional. Once way to challenge the storyteller inside all of us is to make goals.

As a writer, I’ve long been fascinated with many forms of storytelling. If you’ve taken even a cursory look at my blog you’ll see I favor a wide range of media for my story pleasures. As I’ve explored each media in more depth I’ve fallen in love with the strengths of each medium. They all have joys about them, ways of communicating to the audience that best showcases their story.

A book series is as much about the inner journey as the outer one. A movie compresses the journey; a television show elongates it. A manga is about the dialogue and visuals. K-dramas have a finite story length yet provides plenty of time to explore the characters in-depth. An animation must appeal to children with a message while not talking down to adults. A play is about the experiences coming together in the performances and the music.

As a consequence I have many ideas swirling in my brain for the various mediums. Stories best suited for specific strengths. Each medium will dictate a completely new look at the writing process. Some will mean partnerships with artists and masters of their medium. This may very well mean a lifetime of study. A lifetime of writing. The stories are there clamoring for me to gain the experiences I need to let them bloom and spread across the world.

Remember by recording your goals you are more likely to attain them, no matter how big… May every writer attain to their dreams with their very best efforts!

What are your writing goals? Is there any particular medium you’re aiming to conquer? Are you dreaming big? Do you have faith that you can accomplish what you set out to do?

Answer a question or wow me with your whit...

