Q = Qui-Gon Jinn

Qui-Gon Jinn from Star Wars Episode I

My favorite human Jedi hands down is Qui-Gon Jinn. We meet him while on a mission to Naboo with his padawan, Obi-Won, to protect Queen Amidala. I love when Padmé questions Qui-Gon in the Queen’s name and he says the Queen doesn’t need to know, not knowing himself he’s talking to the queen. I also love the matter of fact why he dealt with the rather annoying Jar Jar Binks.

“Keep your concentration here and now, where it belongs.”

What I most loved about Qui-Gon though was the man’s character. I’m talking about the features and traits that form his individual nature as well as his ethical and moral qualities. You’ve got to love a man who deals with problems one at a time and doesn’t freak out or predestines an outcome for the negative. When his mind trick doesn’t work on Watto, he’s a little taken aback but quickly switches tactics. While his missions matter to him, ultimately I love that people matter more.

He tries to save Shmi Skywalker but when he can’t in the moment, he saves Anakin whom he can save. You are given to believe that his actions toward her in the future would have been different from Obi-Won’s actions (he tells Anakin to forget about her.) That’s what I most love about Qui-Gon. I feel like Anakin would have been a different man with Qui-Gon as his father figure than he became as Obi-Won as his brother figure. And that is the tragedy of Qui-Gon.

“Finding him was the will of the force, I have no doubt of that.”

Liam Neeson brought Qui-Gon to life; made his character believable. Another actor could have ruined Qui-Gon but Neeson has this earthly quality to his characters that can feel menacing (when he’s defending someone, think Taken) or grounded in wisdom like he would have been for Anakin. In an alternate world, Anakin would have been allowed to listen to his Force dream and been a changed man.

Here a fan talks at length about Qui-Gon Jinn’s fighting style and how it comes to bear on his character. It’s a fascinating watch if you’re willing to overlook the extreme fandom.

“Always remember, your focus determines your reality.”

I’m not here to debate whether Episode I, II and III are better or worse than everyone’s favorite Episode IV, V and VI. I will say I’m happy George Lucas made his pre-equals so we could meet a Jedi like Qui-Gon Jinn.

AtoZ Challenge Logo smallThis month I’m participating in a writing challenge to post everyday in April (except Sundays) called the A to Z Challenge. I’m exploring my love of characters, find the full list here. Read some of my other writing posts here. What characters do you love?

6 responses to “Q = Qui-Gon Jinn

  1. I defend Episode One to no end because of Qui-Gon Jinn. He is the best human Jedi. Maybe I guess the last great human Jedi, before it all falls apart. And maybe it does precisely because he dies, like you say… it all could have been so different…

  2. Pingback: April Showers, May-ny Fantabluous… | Perspective of a Writer·

  3. I always liked Qui-Gon, too. It was too bad that he only lasted one movie. Liam Neeson is one of my favorite actors; I love his voice portrayal of Aslan in the “Narnia” movies. And he’s pretty awesome in “Taken,” too!

    Stopping by from the A to Z 🙂

Answer a question or wow me with your whit...

