O = Olaf

Olaf from Frozen

“Hi everyone, I’m Olaf, and I like warm hugs!” 

A snippet of memory given life, this magical snowman embodies all of the sisters’ love and dreams. Elsa creates Olaf almost in passing as she sheds the restrictions put upon her by a loving if misguided parent. As soon as he’s formed he’s forgotten as she attempts to put all those childish hopes behind her.

When Anna runs into Olaf, she sees right away what he really is – hope. Wandering in a frozen world, moving forward only on the faith of the sister she knew as a child, Anna wasn’t certain about anything. Olaf’s spirit is infectious and filled with such pure joy. This spirit propels Anna through every difficulty. She taps into that childish wonder and delight and attempts to persuade her sister again and again.

“Oh, I love it. It’s so cute. It’s like a little baby unicorn.”
[touches his new carrot nose excitedly]

Olaf’s presence reminds us of what needs remembering, but he’s also such fun in the moment. As the buck toothed, nose-less snowman toddled up behind Christoff, Anna and Sven, the words sung by Anna to her sister through a door sprang to mind: “Do you wanna build a snowman?”

Each moment is infused with magic. We see Anna’s desire to preserve dreams, specifically Olaf’s dream of heat (though the practical Christoff wants to set him straight). When Sven snaps at the treat protruding from the magical snowman’s bone free head, Olaf sees it as a motion for friendship. Speared by an icicle he remarks, I’ve been impaled, as if such a new experience deserves such delight. Who wouldn’t want to preserve such an inspiring yet simple nature?

“Oh, I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved the idea of summer, and sun, and all things hot…”

It’s his ability to knock you on your butt with his wisdom that really endears Olaf to you. He jumps right in to save the shivering Anna, risking loss of life with no regret. In the bargain he learns of heat, fulfilling his own dream. Anna is too recent to love to really know it’s character. So it’s Olaf who has to point out to her that it’s actions that show love, not words…

Yes, yes, I wanna build a snowman. Such is the magic to be found in the wildly popular Disney animation, Frozen.

AtoZ Challenge Logo smallThis month I’m participating in a writing challenge to post everyday in April (except Sundays) called the A to Z Challenge. I’m exploring my love of characters, find the full list here. Read some of my other writing posts here. What characters do you love?

6 responses to “O = Olaf

  1. This is really great… Up until now I haven’t been able to figure out if Olaf was really a part of the narrative or just an addition for comic relief. I really wanted him to be an organic part of the movie, because coherent plots and themes are important to me, so now I’m happy. 🙂

    • Yup, he’s integral to the plot! His role his so beautiful too. If you haven’t seen Frozen I really suggest it, even if you hate musicals and animation it really is a must see. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Oh yes, I’ve seen it and love it! I was just having trouble reconciling the intense sisterhood princess peril plot with the “funny animal” thing going on with Olaf and Sven. I like funny animals, but I really don’t like comic relief characters for the most part. I like my comedy to be separate from my drama. (I know I’m weird that way.) I loved the script so much, so I just needed Olaf to have some kind of significant meaning in relation to the plot and major themes so I could maintain my abject devotion to the movie, if you know what I mean. 🙂

  2. Pingback: April Showers, May-ny Fantabluous… | Perspective of a Writer·

Answer a question or wow me with your whit...

