L = Ludo

Ludo from Labyrinth

Rocks friends.

Gosh, I loved Labyrinth as a teenager. Who doesn’t have a little brother or sister that annoys them to no end at times? Only an only child, that’s who! A girl dealing with her father’s remarriage wishes her baby half-brother, Toby, away, not realizing it really could happen. The Goblin King Jareth has his minions steal Toby and if Sarah does not complete his Labyrinth in thirteen hours he too will be made into a goblin.

The funnest part of the movie is, of course, the different goblins Jim Henson created for the story. You see the plethora of baby goblins that Jareth has hanging around him and you know, without being told, he’s been successful many, many times. I actually adore each and every goblin in the film but Ludo can’t be matched.

Ludo is the “Gentle Giant” goblin of the labyrinth. He’s been caught in a trap and is lowing like a beast set on ripping people apart when Sarah investigates the sound. Several of Jareth’s army goblins are tormenting the massive beast and Sarah drives them off. She quickly realizes he’s harmless and actually wants to be friends. There are many great moments with the gentle giant, but my favorite is the unexpected ability to call the rocks to his aid.

Rocks friends. Sarah friend. So sweet.

Ludo from Labyrinth Upside down

Labyrinth is the best puppeteer movie I’ve ever seen. The goblins are so real they come to life. We don’t see this level of craftsmanship anymore. Ludo never wavers from Sarah and such solid friendship is also too, too rare.

AtoZ Challenge Logo smallThis month I’m participating in a writing challenge to post everyday in April (except Sundays) called the A to Z Challenge. I’m exploring my love of characters, find the full list here. Read some of my other writing posts here. What characters do you love?

4 responses to “L = Ludo

  1. Pingback: April Showers, May-ny Fantabluous… | Perspective of a Writer·

  2. I love Ludo and love Labyrinth. Great choice for L. I grew up watching this movie and it still holds a special place for me. When I was little the head trading Goblins were also particularly creepy. I also love the You Remind Me of the Babe song because it is hilarious in my opinion.

    • When does that song play in the movie?

      I actually love the soundtrack from Labyrinth and listened to it many times growing up.

      Thanks for stopping by, I so agree that it holds a special place for me too!

Answer a question or wow me with your whit...

