Uncategorized

I = Inigo

Inigo from Princess Bride

“Hello.
My name is Inigo Montoya.
You killed my father.
Prepare to die.”

Everyone knows those words. They are from the famed fencer, Inigo Montoya, a beloved character from the film, The Princess Bride. His father was killed by a six-fingered nobleman fencer who’d commissioned a sword from him. He’s also the man who scared his the 11-year-old’s cheeks when he went to defend his father.

Now a man, Inigo is on a quest to find this man and avenge his father. While The Princess Bride has many good moments, one of them is when he repeats this line over and over again to give himself strength to defeat his father’s murderer. An accent comes out really strongly then and I thought it was an excellent touch of character.

My dad loved and I mean loved The Princess Bride when in came out in 1987. So, of course, we had to have a recording of the movie. You do not know how many times I watched this sword fight. It is one of the significant contributions to my love of swords as the superior weapon (over guns).

When we meet Inigo he’s a henchman for the Sicilian criminal, Vizzini, hired to kill Buttercup. The Dread Pirate Roberts is in pursuit of them and soundly trounces Inigo but doesn’t kill him. He leaves him knocked out cold due to his appreciation for Inigo’s swordsmanship. Kids love that! (And obviously Dads do too!)

I loved the contrast of the three criminals as they watch the Dread Pirate Roberts follow them. The towering giant (as you can ascertain in the picture above) to the little dictator Vizzini to the romantic foreign figure that is Inigo. This little scene is also a showstopper in The Princess Bride as it’s so character driven yet is a sort of payoff for the string of scenes that follow as Westley defeats them to rescue Buttercup.

Ultimately, like Westley, I admired Inigo’s skill and have a soft spot in my heart for foreign heartthrobs.  Surely he’s fitting in the role of the next Dread Pirate Roberts.

AtoZ Challenge Logo smallThis month I’m participating in a writing challenge to post everyday in April (except Sundays) called the A to Z Challenge. I’m exploring my love of characters, find the full list here. Read some of my other writing posts here. What characters do you love?

3 thoughts on “I = Inigo”

Let's talk in the comments...

